Vehicle Registration

New Hampshire

The registration of a motor vehicle shall expire at midnight on the last day of the month in which the first anniversary of the registrant’s birth following the date of issue is observed.

20-Day Registration: Any resident who intends to purchase a vehicle in another state, from another person, or who is unable to register a vehicle because of limited hours of operation of the town clerk in the town where the person resides, may apply to the DMV for a registration to drive the vehicle on the roads of the state for a maximum period of 20 days. The resident shall appear in person at the DMV to obtain such registration and shall sign under penalty of perjury a statement that the vehicle meets all New Hampshire inspection requirements, and in the case of a person seeking an extension of his registration, that he was unable to register the vehicle because of the limited hours of the town clerk, before the 20-day registration may be issued. This type of registration is valid for 20 days. Only one 20-day registration shall be issued during any one calendar year for a vehicle.

In-Transit Registration: The owner of any vehicle intended to be driven upon the roads of the state only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to another jurisdiction where it is to be registered may apply to the DMV for the issuance of an in-transit registration for such vehicle. The application shall be made on a form furnished by the DMV. If satisfied that the vehicle is to be driven as provided in this section, the DMV shall assign to such vehicle a distinctive number and deliver to the applicant an in-transit registration valid for a period of 20 days from the date of issuance. The registration shall specify the terms and conditions under which the vehicle may be driven upon the roads, and no such vehicle shall be operated in violation of such terms and conditions.  An in-transit registration is only issued for private sale purchases from a NH resident and is only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to its intended destination.


New Hampshire

In addition to normal safety checks, 1996 and newer gasoline-powered and newer diesel-powered vehicles (8500 lbs. GVWR and less) must have a test of an on-board diagnostics system meeting the Federal EPA OBD II standards as part of the inspection process. This test checks whether or not the monitors are working properly and if they are detecting any problems. Visit the New Hampshire OBD and Safety Testing Program for more information.


New Hampshire

Any vehicle registered by the DMV shall be inspected once a year, during the month of the owner’s birth date. Inspection is to be conducted within ten (10) days of the initial registration. After the initial inspection, registered vehicles must be re-inspected every year, no later than ten (10) days after the end of the owner’s birth month.

All trucks exceeding 18,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight and all school buses exceeding 10,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight, public and private, shall be inspected semi-annually. Newly registered vehicles shall be inspected within 10 days from date of registration.

An inspection sticker shall be valid for the same duration as the vehicle’s registration, which shall not exceed 16 months.

OBD is utilized as part of the state emissions inspection process.


New Hampshire

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $25.00

Registration Fee: *By weight.

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $25.00

Registration Fee: $15.00

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $8.00 per plate.

Registration Fee: $15.00

Driver’s License Fee: $10.00

Title Fee: $25.00

Special Plates: Varies

*0-3000 lbs. $31.20, 3001-5000 lbs. $43.20, 5001-8000 lbs. $55.20, 8001-73,280 lbs. $ .96 per hundred lbs. gross weight


New Hampshire

Motor vehicle registration is a 2-step process. A registration permit must first be obtained from the town or city where the registrant resides. Then, the permit must be taken to a DMV office or municipal agent to complete the state portion of the registration.

The application for the registration of a motor vehicle shall contain: the applicant’s name, mailing address, residential address, birth date, and signature.

The application of any person under the age of 18 to register a vehicle shall be signed by 1 of his parents or a guardian, or in the event there is no parent or guardian, by another responsible adult. This does not apply to a person under the age of 18 years who is emancipated by marriage or who has presented proof of insurance coverage at the time of the application. The person signing may request cancellation by filing written request.

Upon transfer of ownership of any vehicle, its registration shall expire.

No certificate of registration shall be issued to any person under 16 years of age.

There is no grace period for late registration.

Only 3 20-day registrations shall be issued on the same vehicle within a 12-month period.


New Jersey

Every vehicle driven primarily in New Jersey, whether owned by a resident or non-resident, is required to be registered.

Applications for vehicle registration must be made to the MVC designated agent in the county of residence.

Applications for vehicle registration must contain the name, street address of the residence or business of the owner, mailing address, age of the owner, description of the vehicle that includes the manufacturer and vehicle identification or manufacturer’s number, name of the vehicle’s insurer, and if the vehicle is leased, the name and street address of the lessor.

Registration may be denied without presentation of a certificate of ownership.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Every registration shall expire and the registration certificate become void on the registrant’s numerical calendar day of birth in the 12th month following the month in which the certificate was issued; except that the registration shall expire on the last day of the 12th month following the calendar month in which the certificate was issued if the numerical calendar day of the registrant’s birth does not correspond to a numerical calendar day in that month or if the vehicle is leased.


New Jersey

Non-residents must obtain New Jersey Driver’s license and registration within 60 days after residence established, unless expiration of out-of-state license comes first, and provided compliance has been made with the license laws of the state of previous residence.

The owner of a vehicle registered in a foreign country has 30 days to register the vehicle in New Jersey.


New Jersey

Registrations shall expire every 12 months. New dealer purchased vehicles shall be issued a 4-year registration and thereafter will expire every 12 months.

Renewal of motorcycle registrations will take place on a date set by the director of the MVC, but in no case shall that expiration date be earlier than April 30 nor later than October 31.

Renewal application forms for passenger automobiles will be sent to the last address of owners on record with the MVC.

Application for renewal of a passenger automobile or motorcycle registration may be directly made to any agent of the MVC.

Temporary registration may be issued for a 30-day period to any person purchasing an automobile in New Jersey while en route to another state. Renewal is not permitted.


New Jersey

Most motor vehicles registered in New Jersey are required to have emissions inspections. Visit the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for more information.

Vehicles to have emissions inspections on a biennial basis include: 1) gasoline and bi-fueled vehicles plated as passenger, not-for-profit, governmental, commuter van, farmer or farm truck, 5 years and older, excluding buses; and 2) diesel-powered, passenger motor vehicles plated as passenger, not-for-profit, governmental, commuter van, farmer or farm truck model year 1997 and newer with a GVWR 8,500 lbs. or less, 5 years and older, excluding buses.

New cars and trucks, and used non-commercial vehicles, are inspected 5 years from the date of purchase and every 2 years after the initial inspection.

OBD is utilized as part of the state emissions inspection process.

An approval certificate will be issued once a vehicle successfully passes all required emissions tests.


New Jersey

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement.


New Jersey

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $60.00

Registration Fee: $35.50-$84.00

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $60.00 without lien

Registration Fee: $65.00

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $6.00-$11.00

Registration Fee: $5.00

Driver’s License Fee: $11.00

Title Fee: $60.00

Special Plates: $15.00–$50.00 for new; $0.00–$10.00 for renewal.


New Mexico

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $3.00

Registration Fee: $27.00 – $62.00 (1 yr) and $54.00 – $124.00 (2 yr)

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $3.00

Registration Fee: $15.00 (1 year) $30.00 (2 year)

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $9.50

Registration Fee: $3.50

Driver’s License Fee: $18.00

Title Fee: $15.00

Special Plates: $3.00–$40.00


New Mexico

Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer is subject to registration.

Applications are made to the MVD and shall be upon the appropriate forms furnished by the MVD.

The application shall bear the signature of the owner, the name and address of the owner, a description of the motor vehicle, an odometer reading, and a statement of all liens or encumbrances upon the vehicle.

Any owner of a vehicle subject to registration which has never been registered in this state but which has been registered in another state shall have such vehicle examined and inspected for its identification number or engine number by the MVD or an officer or designated agent thereof incident to securing registration, re-registration, or a certificate of title from the MVD. NCIC clearance is also required.

A copy of the vehicle registration shall be kept in the vehicle at all times and shall be made available upon the request of a law enforcement officer.

Changes of address notices must be made within 10 business days of move.

New Mexico has no grace period for late registration.

The MVD may refuse registration or issuance of a certificate of title or any transfer of registration upon the ground that the application contains any false or fraudulent statement; the vehicle is mechanically unfit or unsafe to be operated or moved upon the highways; the MVD has reasonable ground to believe that the vehicle is a stolen or embezzled vehicle; the required fees and/or taxes have not been paid; or because the owner is required to but has failed to provide proof of compliance with a vehicle emission inspection and maintenance program.

Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer when driven or moved upon a highway is subject to the registration and certificate of title provisions.

Trailers not used in commerce and weighing less than 6,001 lbs. may be granted permanent registration upon application and payment of fee.


New Mexico

Non-residents may operate a vehicle registered in another state for a period of up to 180 days without registering the vehicle in New Mexico.

Any person gainfully employed within the boundaries of the state for a period of 30 days or more within a 60-day period shall be presumed to be a resident of the state unless the owner of the vehicle commutes from another state in which he resides.

Every nonresident including any foreign corporation carrying on business within the state and owning and regularly operating in that business any vehicle or trailer within the state must register each vehicle and pay the same fees as required residents of this state.


New Mexico

Renewals of registration are for a 1-year period, but may be extended to a 2-year period for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 lbs.

The MVD will notify each registered vehicle owner by mail at the last known address within an appropriate period prior to the beginning of the registration period to which the owner has been assigned. The notice shall include a renewal-of registration application form specifying the amount of registration fees due and the specific dates of the registration period covered by the renewal application.

Every manufactured home must be titled and registered and shall be issued a registration plate.


New Mexico

May be required by a county or municipal ordinance only. At the present time, the City of Albuquerque and Bernalillo County are the only jurisdictions to require them.


New Mexico

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement.


New York

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle must be made to the DMV upon a form prescribed by the DMV.

The applicant must provide his or her name, driver’s license number, birth date, sex, phone number, mailing address, and residential address as well as the vehicle’s identification number, color, weight, make, year, body type, type of fuel, seating capacity, and odometer reading. Also required is a statement on how the vehicle was obtained as well as information concerning any lien holders.

An applicant for vehicle registration must be at least 16 years of age.

No motor vehicle shall be registered unless the application for registration is accompanied by proof of financial security, which shall be evidenced by proof of insurance or evidence of a financial security bond, a financial security deposit or qualification as a self-insurer.

No motor vehicle shall be operated or driven without first being registered.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


New York

A New York registration is not required for a non-resident who is in compliance with the provisions of the law concerning vehicle registration of the foreign country, state, territory, or federal district of his residence. A non-resident owner shall conspicuously display their registration numbers given to him by their place of residence.

When a non-resident becomes a resident he or she must register his or her vehicles in New York within 30 days.


New York

Vehicle registration expires every 2 years from the date that the vehicle was first registered in New York. Registration renewal may be done by mail, over the phone, online, or at any DMV office. The DMV will send a renewal notice 45 to 60 days before the expiration date.

The owner of a vehicle to be operated only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to a jurisdiction within this state or to any other state, where the vehicle will be registered, may file with the DMV or any county clerk, an application for an in-transit permit. The in-transit registration is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.


New York

Required annually. Visit the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles for more information on the state emissions inspection program. OBD is utilized as part of the emissions inspection process.


New York

Every motor vehicle registered in New York shall be inspected once each year for safety at an official inspection station. Inspections are also required upon transfer of ownership.  This inspection is required to be performed on the brakes, steering mechanism, wheel alignment, tires, lights, windshield, horn, mirrors, odometer, fuel leaks, safety belts, and vehicle identification number. An inspection will also be made of the readiness of the inflatable restraint system in any vehicle manufactured on or after September 1, 1997.


New York

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $50.00 plus $5.00 security interest fee

Registration Fee: Varies based on weight.*

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $50.00 plus $5.00 security interest fee

Registration Fee: $80.00

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $12.50 single; $25.00 pair

Registration Fee: $3.00

Driver’s License Fee: $17.50

Title Fee: $20.00

Special Plates: $60.00 plus $31.25/year

*Residents of many counties must also pay a county use tax, which varies based on location (see http://dmv.ny.gov/node/4111 for weight and county classifications). For residents of the 12 county Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), a supplemental fee of $50 for two years ($25 per year) is in addition to other registration fees.


North Carolina

All vehicles, unless exempted, must be registered with the DMV before operating the vehicle.

The following types of vehicles need not be registered: those dealing with manufacturers, dealers, or non-residents; vehicles used only to cross a highway to get from one piece of property to another; implements of husbandry, farm tractors, road construction, or maintenance machinery that are designed for use in work off the highway and are operated on the highway for the purpose of going to and from such non-highway projects; vehicles owned by the U.S. government; farm equipment headed to or from farms or markets; and trailers or semitrailers attached to and pulled by a farm vehicle.

For the requirements of an application for registration, see the APPLICATION section for Vehicle Title.

There is a 15 day grace period for late registration.

The registration of a vehicle renewed by means of a new registration plate expires at midnight on the last day of the year in which the registration plate was issued. It is lawful, however, to operate the vehicle on a highway through midnight February 15 of each the following year.


North Carolina

Non-residents are exempted from North Carolina licensing requirements for motor vehicles for the same time and to the same extent as like exemptions are granted by other jurisdictions to residents of North Carolina.

Military personnel on active duty in North Carolina may maintain home state vehicle registration.


North Carolina

Staggered registration system.

A safety/emissions inspection is required before any vehicle can be registered in the state.

Upon receipt of a valid application for registration, the DMV shall issue a registration card. The card shall contain the name and address of the owner, space for the owner’s signature, the registration number assigned to the vehicle, and a description of the vehicle. The owner shall sign the registration card and keep it in the vehicle at all times.

The registration must be renewed annually. The owner of a vehicle may renew the registration by filing an application with the DMV and paying the required fee.

Annual vehicle inspections, registration renewals and vehicle property taxes are due the same month each year. Vehicle owners receive a statement that lists both vehicle registration fees and taxes due 60 days prior to their vehicle’s registration expiration. Only one payment, made either in person, online or by mail, is required to pay both the annual tag and tax for a vehicle.

When the DMV renews a vehicle registration, it shall send the owner a new registration card and either a new license plate or a registration renewal sticker for the plate.

A person must notify the DMV of a change of address or name within 60 days of the change.


North Carolina

Emissions inspection is required in 22 out of 100 counties on vehicles that are 1996 model year or newer and that are either older than the three most recent model years or with 70,000 miles or more on their odometers.

A list of those counties can be found on the Division of Air Quality website.


North Carolina

A motor vehicle is subject to an annual safety inspection if it meets the following requirements: it is subject to registration with the DMV, it is less than 35 years old, it is not subject to inspection under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, and it is not either a trailer with a gross weight below 4,000 lbs. or a house trailer.

A safety inspection ensures that the following equipment is in a safe operating condition: brakes; lights; horn; steering mechanism; windows and windshield wipers (including tinting levels); directional signals; tires; mirrors; and the exhaust system, if the vehicle is not subject to an emissions test.

Upon successful completion of a safety inspection, the vehicle will receive an inspection sticker that shows the inspection’s expiration date and also contains the date of inspection, odometer reading, and the identification of the mechanic who performed the inspection. The inspection sticker shall be a different color than 1 for both inspections.


North Carolina

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $40.00 ($52.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Registration Fee: $28.00 ($36.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $40.00 ($52.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Registration Fee: $18.00 ($20.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $15.00 ($20.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Registration Fee: $15.00 ($20.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Driver’s License Fee: $10.00 ($13.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Title Fee: $15.00 ($40.00 eff. July 1, 2017)

Special Plates: $30.00


North Dakota

No statewide emissions inspections required.


North Dakota

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement. The DOT may conduct random brake inspections on any motor-driven vehicle and may disapprove operations of any vehicle that is not designed or constructed to ensure reasonable and reliable performance in actual use.


North Dakota

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $5.00

Registration Fee: $49.00–$274.00*

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $5.00

Registration Fee: $15.00–$25.00

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $5.00

Registration Fee: Not to exceed $5.00

Driver’s License Fee: $8.00 if lost, mutilated or destroyed; $3.00 for a name or address or erroneous information change

Title Fee: $5.00

Special Plates: $25.00-100.00

*Annual fee varies based on weight and 1st year of registration.


North Dakota

All motor vehicles must be registered annually with the DOT.

Applications for vehicle registration must be made to the DOT.

All registration applications must be signed by the owner and contain the owner’s county of residence; address; a brief description of the vehicle including name of the maker, engine, serial, or identification number; whether it is new or used; the last license number known and state in which it was issued; and, upon the registration of the vehicle, the date of sale by the manufacturer or dealer to the person first operating the vehicle.

If the vehicle is being registered from outside the state, the owner must show the certificate of title and registration card or other evidence that satisfactorily proves ownership.

If the vehicle is new, the certificate of origin from the manufacturer must be attached to the application for registration or certificate of title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


North Dakota

Passenger motor vehicles registered in another state or territory and displaying current license plates from that state or territory do not have to be registered in North Dakota, provided that the owner or operator is not a resident of North Dakota for any purpose and is not gainfully employed or stationed in North Dakota.


North Dakota

The registration of a motor vehicle whose registered gross weight does not exceed 10,000 lbs. expires on the last day of the month which is the anniversary of the month it was originally registered and may be renewed annually. This excludes pickups with an open box-type bed not exceeding 9 feet (2.74 meters) in length. The registration of a pickup whose registered gross weight does not exceed 20,000 lbs. expires on the last day of the month which is the anniversary of the month it was originally registered and may be renewed annually.

Vehicle registration may not transfer upon ownership of the vehicle.

Temporary registration may be provided to the purchaser of a vehicle valid for 30 days.


Ohio

Applications and renewals are made to the office of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles or a deputy registrar on a written or electronic application or a preprinted registration renewal notice for the following year which begins on January 1 of each year and ends on December 31.

Applications must include a brief description of the motor vehicle to be registered; the name and residence address of the owner; the district of registration; whether the motor vehicle is a new or used motor vehicle; the date of purchase of the motor vehicle; proof of payment of fees; social security number is kept on file on the actual registration form. If the applicant is required to have an emissions inspection, an inspection certificate must accompany the application.

The application will be refused if the application is not in proper form or registration fees have not been paid. New vehicles only require certificate of title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Ohio

Once a person becomes an Ohio resident, he or she needs to become an official Ohio driver as soon as possible. Ohio law provides no specific grace period for converting an out-of-state driver’s license to an Ohio license; however, Ohio courts and police agencies have considered 30 days the maximum time limit (effective October 1, 2017, drivers have 30 days to register their vehicles). A person is considered an Ohio resident upon obtaining employment; signing a lease; buying a house; registering to vote; or enrolling children in school.

Military personnel on active duty in Ohio may maintain out-of-state vehicle registration.


Ohio

Registration must be renewed annually.

Registration can be renewed within 90 days of expiration. The Registrar will mail a renewal notice at least 45 days before the expiration date.


Ohio

The Director of Environmental Protection implements and supervises a motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program in any county classified as moderate, serious, severe, or extreme nonattainment for carbon monoxide or ozone. Vehicles registered in Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit counties are required to have enhanced Acceleration Simulation Mode (ASM 25/25) emissions testing. Visit the Ohio Department of Environmental Protection for more information on the Ohio E-Check emissions inspection program.

Inspections are required to be done biannually. Upon passage of the inspection, the vehicle inspected shall be given an inspection certificate that is needed for registration.

Motorists may be granted a waiver or conditional pass if the vehicle achieves a 30% improvement from an initial failure and meets the minimum expenditures for repairs of $200. A repair cap waiver may be granted with emissions repairs totaling at least $300.

Vehicles over 25 years old and motorcycles are exempt from the emissions inspection.

OBD is utilized as part of the state emissions inspection process.


Ohio

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement. A state highway patrol officer may stop any vehicle and direct it to submit to a safety inspection. Such inspection shall be made with respect to the brakes, lights, turn signals, steering, horns and warning devices, glass, mirrors, exhaust system, windshield wipers, tires, and such other items of equipment as designated by the Superintendent of the State Highway Patrol by rule or regulation.

The officer must select vehicles under a unbiased, articulable system of selection, taking into consideration such factors as safety, traffic volume, motorists hardship, type of vehicle, and inspection eligibility.


Ohio

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $15.00 + $1.00 to notarize signatures

Registration Fee: $34.50

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $15.00 + $1.00 to notarize signatures

Registration Fee: $28.50 base fee, $4.00 motorcycle fee and county fees

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $10.50 (one plate) $11.75 (two plates)

Registration Fee: $4.50

Driver’s License Fee: $24.50

Title Fee: $15.00

Special Plates: $50.00 plus registration fee


Oklahoma

Every owner possessing a certificate of title shall make an application for the registration of the vehicle with a motor license agent of the Tax Commission.

All applications for registration must contain a full description of the vehicle and the insurance security verification of the vehicle; and the correct name, address, driver’s license number, and insurance policy information, when applicable, of the vehicle owner. Application for registration of a manufactured home is to include the school district in which the home is to be located.

Upon the filing of a proper application and payment of the required fees, the Tax Commission shall assign 1 license plate and/or yearly decal. The decal shall have an identification number and the last 2 numbers of the year of expiration.

The purchaser of a new or used manufactured home shall register the home with the Tax Commission within 30 days of purchase.

There is a period of grace for late registration renewal, until the last day of the month after the renewal is due, during which no delinquent registration penalty is assessed.


Oklahoma

If the owner of a vehicle becomes employed in Oklahoma, the vehicle is deemed to be subject to tax in the state and, within 30 days from the date of employment, shall be registered in the state.

Any student certified as a full-time student by an institution of higher learning in Oklahoma who is not a resident of Oklahoma need not register a vehicle in the state.

Any vehicle, including a manufactured home, owned by a visiting non-resident and is properly registered in another state shall be subject to registration in Oklahoma if it remains in Oklahoma for any period in excess of 60 days.

Non-resident military personnel on active duty in Oklahoma may maintain home state vehicle registration. Non-resident military personnel stationed in Oklahoma, or Oklahoma resident personnel stationed out of state, may register any non-commercial vehicle in Oklahoma for annual fee of $21.00. Manufactured homes owned by Oklahoma resident active duty military personnel are entitled to the special military annual registration rate only when the manufactured home is also located out of state.


Oklahoma

The certificate of registration for a commercially registered motor vehicle shall be carried at all times in the vehicle, and shown on demand of any law enforcement officer.

The annual registration period for manufactured homes and vehicles registered with permanent non-expiring license plates begins on January 1 of each year.

The full registration fee is required for vehicles registered between January 1 and March 31, 75% of the fee is due for vehicles registered between April 1 and June 30, 50% for vehicles registered between July 1 and September 30, and 25% for vehicles registered between October 1 and November 30. Vehicles registered in the month of December shall be registered for the following year.

All other vehicles, including passenger vehicles, are registered annually on a staggered system. Twelve registration periods are set up, with each period lasting 1 month.

Most registration types may be renewed via mail and some may be renewed online. Additional fees apply. The Tax Commission provides registration renewal notification via a mailed postcard or, at the owner’ option, email.


Oklahoma

Emissions inspections are not required.


Oklahoma

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement. Law enforcement may, upon reasonable cause to believe that a vehicle is unsafe or not properly equipped as required, require that the driver of the vehicle stop and submit the vehicle to an inspection by the officer.


Oklahoma

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $11.00

Registration Fee: By year. All fees include an additional $5.75 in other fees.*

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $11.00

Registration Fee: n/a

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $9.00

Registration Fee: $9.00

Driver’s License Fee: $10.00

Title Fee: $11.00

Special Plates: Ranges from $5.00 – $42.00, plus regular registration fees

*$91.00 for the 1st – 4th years; $81.00 for the 5th – 8th years; $61.00 for the 9th – 12th years; $41.00 for the 13th – 16th years; $21.00 for 17+ years.


Oregon

Non-residents are exempt from both titling and registration requirements. A person becomes a resident when he or she engages in gainful employment or takes any action to indicate the acquiring of residency such as: remaining in the state for 6 months or more; placing children in a public school without paying nonresident tuition fees; maintaining a main office, branch or warehouse in the state and operating motor vehicles in this state; or making a declaration of residency for purposes of acquiring a state license.

A person who is gainfully employed but takes no further steps to become a resident, such as a student paying non-resident tuition fees, is not considered a resident.

The owner of a private motor vehicle who lives in an adjoining state is permitted to operate their vehicle in the state without having it registered in the state for so long as the vehicle is registered in an adjoining state.

Military personnel in active duty in Oregon may maintain out-of-state vehicle registration.


Oregon

Vehicle registration may be 1 of 5 types:

  • Quarterly registration (up to 4 calendar quarters): truck tractors, ambulances, armored cars, hearses, self-propelled cranes, commercial busses weighing 8,001 pounds or more; heavy motor vehicles including motor trucks, non-commercial buses, charitable non-profit vehicles weighing 10,001 pounds or more; manufactured structure toters and trucks registered as farm vehicles.
  • Annual registration:  for rent trailers (also can register for a 5-year period).
  • Two year (biennial): campers; low speed; mopeds; motor homes; fixed loads; motorcycles; passenger; snowmobiles; trailers (light, special use, travel).
  • Four-year initial registration: Certain new vehicles are required to be issued 4-year initial registration if it is a new vehicle (being titled with an MCO) and new plates are being issued at the same time. If a vehicle is subject to 4-year registration, the vehicle must have 4-year registration; there is no option to obtain only 2 years, except for vehicles owned by rental/leasing companies.
  • Permanent registration: special interest; antique; disabled veteran; heavy trailer; government (until ownership changes); school bus.


Oregon

Vehicles from the 1975 model year and newer must be submitted for emissions inspection in the Portland Vehicle Inspection Area. In the Medford-Ashland Air Quality Maintenance Area, light duty vehicles that are up to 20 years old and heavy duty vehicles must be submitted for emissions inspection. Visit the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division for more information on the Department of Environmental Quality emissions testing program.

Motor vehicle pollution control systems in vehicles subject to emissions testing are required to be tested once during the period for which registration or renewal of registration for a motor vehicle is issued.

OBD is utilized as part of the state emissions inspection process.


Oregon

No statewide periodic vehicle safety inspection requirement. A state police officer may require a person driving a vehicle or combination of vehicles to stop and submit the vehicle to an inspection of the mechanical condition and equipment of the vehicle.


Oregon

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: $77.00

Registration Fee: $86.00 – 2 year; $172.00 – 4 year

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: $77.00

Registration Fee: $48.00 – 2 years; $96.00 – 4 years 16

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $22.00 for 1; $34.00 for 2

Registration Fee: $5.00

Driver License Fee: $26.50

Title Fee: $77.00

Special Plates: Same as plate fee + surcharge

The registration fee for vehicles with special registration is $15 for disabled veterans and former prisoners of war.


Oregon

All vehicles owned by a person in the state are subject to registration.  Exceptions include but are not limited to: farm tractors, road rollers, trolleys, traction engines; bicycles; ATVs; a vehicle that is not operated on the highways; trailers equipped with pneumatic tires that are not operated with a loaded weight of more than 1,800 lbs.; implements of husbandry; vehicles currently registered and titled in another country, state, or territory, unless the owner is a resident of the state or the vehicle is operated on the highways of the state for profit; vehicles owned and operated by the U.S. government and emergency fire-fighting apparatus providing public fire protection.

An application for registration must contain: the owner’s name and residence or business address; a description of the vehicle, including the VIN; and a statement that the applicant is a resident of Oregon, domiciled in the state or required to register under Oregon law.

If the application is for original registration, the applicant must also include a statement that the applicant is in compliance with financial responsibility requirements.

Registration will not be renewed unless the owner is able to certify compliance with financial responsibility requirements.

An application for registration will not be granted unless the applicant simultaneously applies for, or has already been issued, title to the vehicle in Oregon.

Upon registration, the DMV issues a registration card which contains the name of the owner, the make and model year of the vehicle, the VIN, title brand(s) if applicable, and the mileage as reported on the odometer at the time of application for title, if required, along with any odometer message.

The owner of a registered vehicle must carry the registration card in the vehicle at all times.

There is not period of grace for late registration.


Pennsylvania

Application for original or renewal vehicle registration must be made on a form provided by PennDOT.

The application must contain the full name and address of the owner or owners, the make, model, year and vehicle identification number of the vehicle, and any other documents that PennDOT may require.

The vehicle title and a self-certification of financial responsibility must also accompany the application.

The self-certification form of financial responsibility requires: (1) the complete name, address, and telephone number of the applicant; (2) the name of the insurance company which is insuring the vehicle; and (3) the policy number, effective date, and expiration date of the policy of insurance insuring the vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Pennsylvania

A non-resident owner of an out-of-state vehicle can operate a vehicle in Pennsylvania without registering the vehicle in Pennsylvania provided that the vehicle is registered in another state. This out-of-state vehicle cannot be used for transportation services of persons of hire, or regularly operated in carrying on any business in Pennsylvania.

A person given a citation for not registering his or her vehicle in Pennsylvania must prove that he or she is not a Pennsylvania resident. If he or she can prove that he or she is a non-resident within 5 days of being given the citation, the citation will be dismissed.

Military personnel on active duty in Pennsylvania may maintain out-of-state vehicle registration.


Pennsylvania

Vehicle registration expires on the last day of the month as designated on the registration card.

Application for renewal of registration will be mailed to registrant at least 60 days before the expiration.

The returned application must be accompanied by a self-certification of financial responsibility and the applicable fees.

After PennDOT receives the completed application and appropriate fees, PennDOT will issue a renewed registration card.

Upon receiving the registration card, the registrant must sign his or her name to the card.

The registration card must be kept with the vehicle at all times.

Seasonal Registration offers flexibility to vehicle owners by providing for seasonal operation of a motor vehicle in Pennsylvania.  Vehicle owners or a lessee of a passenger vehicle, motorcycle, motor home, truck or farm vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 14,000 pounds may register for less than a full year and temporarily discontinue vehicle insurance without having to return the registration plate to PennDOT.


Pennsylvania

PennDOT requires periodic emissions inspections for all motor vehicles except for the following:

  • A vehicle that was never permanently registered in any jurisdiction that has less than 5,000 miles on it for which an annual or temporary registration plate was originally issued within the past 12 months; this vehicle will be exempt from an emissions inspection for 1 year from the date of registration.
  • A vehicle never registered in any jurisdiction having less than 5,000 miles on it and having a registration plate transferred from another vehicle must pass an emissions inspection before the next registration but not within 9 months of the date of the purchase of the vehicle.

South Central: requires 1996 and newer models to have On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) and gas cap inspections and requires 1975-1995 models to have gas cap and visual inspections. Northern Region: requires 1975 and newer models to have gas cap and visual inspections. Pittsburgh Region: requires 1996 and newer models to have OBD and gas cap, and requires 1975-1995 models to have gas cap, tailpipe, and visual inspections. Philadelphia Region: requires 1996 and newer models to have OBD and gas cap inspections; and requires 1975-1995 models to have gas cap, tailpipe, and visual inspections. 42 County Non-I/M Region: requires all cars to have a visual inspection as part of the annual safety inspection.

Visit Drive Clean PA for more information on the state’s emissions inspection requirements.

OBD is utilized as part of the emissions inspection process.


Pennsylvania

Annual safety inspections are required for all passenger vehicles and light trucks, and upon registration from out-of-state.

Semiannual inspections are required for school buses, vehicles owned by or under contract to a school and used to transport students to and from school, vans transporting persons for hire or owned by a commercial enterprise for transporting employees, mass transit vehicles, and motor carrier vehicles; there is no set fee. All other vehicles, including passenger cars, light trucks, motorcycles, trailers over 3,000 lbs., emergency vehicles, and private non-commercial vehicles transporting students are inspected annually; there is no set fee. Proof of financial responsibility is required at the time of inspection.


Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.