Traffic Rules

Kansas

Children ages 8 until 18, over 80 lbs., or over 4 feet 9 inches must properly wear a seat belt.

Children under age 4 until 8 who weigh less than 80 lbs. or are less than 4 feet 9 inches are required to be properly restrained in a child passenger safety restraint system or booster seat.

Children under age 4 are required to be in a child restraint system.

Violation of the child restraints laws are standard offenses.


Kansas

All drivers must stop between 15 and 50 feet of a railroad crossing in any of the following circumstances: a clearly visible electric or mechanical signal gives warning; a crossing gate is lowered or a human flagman gives warning; a train approaching within 1,500 feet gives an audible signal; or an approaching train is plainly visible and in hazardous proximity to the railroad crossing.

Buses, motor vehicles carrying hazardous materials, and trucks carrying hazardous materials must stop at all railroad crossings.


Kansas

Vehicles on the far side of a divided highway need not stop.

It is unlawful to pass from either direction a school bus that is stopped with its lights flashing.


Kentucky

Text messaging while driving is prohibited. Persons under the age of 18 who have been issued an instruction permit, intermediate license, or operator’s license are prohibited from driving while using any kind of personal communication device. Exempts the use of a global positioning or navigation system that is physically or electronically integrated into the motor vehicle.  School bus drivers may not use cell phones while driving.


Kentucky

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Kentucky

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a speed safe for road, weather, and traffic conditions.


Kentucky

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 7 and older and over 50 inches tall (effective June 22, 2015, age 8 and older and over 57 inches).

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck bed is permitted.


Kentucky

Children under 8 years old and between 40 and 57 inches in height  must be secured using a booster seat

Children 40 inches or less must be properly secured in a child restraint system.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Kentucky

The operator of a vehicle must stop at a railroad crossing when a signal device warns of the immediate approach of a train or other on-track equipment, an approaching train or other on-track equipment is visible and in hazardous proximity, or a human flagman signals the approach of a train.

The operator of any bus or motor vehicle used for transporting children must stop not less than 10 feet nor more than 30 feet from the nearest track before crossing any railroad, except where crossing is protected by gates or a flagman is employed.


Kentucky

If any school or church bus is stopped and has a stop arm and signal lights activated, any vehicle approaching from any direction must stop and may not proceed until the bus has been put into motion. This rule does not apply when approaching a stopped bus from the opposite direction upon a highway of 4 or more lanes.

School buses, loaded or unloaded, cannot turn right on red in Kentucky or left on red where two one way streets intersect.


Louisiana

Text messaging while driving is prohibited for all drivers. Driver’s 17 and younger and drivers in their first year of licensure are subject to a complete ban on the use of cell phones. Learner’s and intermediate license holders age 18 and older are subject to a secondary ban on the use of hand-held cell phones. School bus drivers may not use cell phones while driving.  Drivers are banned from using a wireless telecommunications device to access, read, or post to a social networking site.


Louisiana

Wearing of headphones covering both ears while driving is not permitted. Exempts a headset built into a motorcycle helmet. A secondary offense.


Louisiana

State law requires drivers approaching any stationary emergency vehicle, including tow trucks, displaying flashing lights and traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if possible to do so, or slow to a reasonably safe speed.


Louisiana

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 13 and older.

Violations of the seat belt law are standard offenses.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted on an interstate highway for any passengers.  No person under age 12 is permitted to be a passenger in the open bed of a pickup truck while moving upon any highway in Louisiana; some other exceptions apply


Louisiana

Children ages 6 until 13 or more than 60 lbs. must be restrained in either a booster seat or a seat belt regardless of seating position. When the passenger side front airbag is active, children younger than age 6 or less than 60 lbs. must be in the rear seat, if available.

Children 4 and 5 years of age or 40-60 lbs. must be restrained in a booster seat.

Children ages 1 until 4 or 20-40 lbs. must be restrained in a forward-facing child safety seat. Children under age 1 year or less than 20 lbs. must be restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat.

Children who because of age and weight can be placed in more than one category shall be placed in the more protective restraint.

Violations of the child restraint laws are standard offenses.


Louisiana

Any person driving a motor vehicle that approaches a railroad crossing must stop between 15 and 50 feet of the railroad crossing if 1 of the following occurs: (1) a clearly visible signal device gives warning of the approach of a railroad train; (2) a crossing gate is lowered, or a human flagman stops traffic; (3) a fast moving railroad train approaching within approximately 900 feet of the highway crossing emits a signal; (4) an approaching train is plainly visible and is in hazardous proximity to such crossing; and (5) a stop signal is at the railroad grade crossing.

Any motor vehicle carrying passengers for hire, school buses, and any vehicle carrying hazardous material must stop between 15 and 50 feet of all railroad crossings and then proceed when it is safe to do so.


Louisiana

Vehicles must stop upon meeting, from either direction, a school bus that is stopped for loading or unloading children and displays or has recently displayed a stop signal arm. This rule does not apply if the bus is on the opposite roadway of a divided highway.


Maine

Children ages 8 until 18 and more than 4 feet 9 inches tall must be properly secured in a seat belt.

Children under age 12 and under 100 lbs. must be in the rear seat of a vehicle, if possible.

Children who weigh 40-80 lbs. and are under age 8 must be properly secured in a booster seat or child safety seat.

Children under 40 lbs. must be properly secured in a child safety seat that meets federal standards and properly secured in accordance with the manufacturer’s instruction.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Maine

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 18 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 19; some other exceptions apply.


Maine

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Maine

Texting while driving and handheld cell phone use are prohibited for all drivers. Instruction permit and restricted license holders under 18 years of age are prohibited from using a cellular phone while driving. A person operating a motor vehicle while distracted is guilty of the infraction of failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle.


Maine

Whenever a person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad crossing shall at a distance of 100 feet slowdown to a reasonable speed, check in both directions and proceed cautiously. At a signal indicating an approaching train, the driver must stop not less 15 feet and not more than 50 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and must not proceed until he can do so safely. A driver approaching a railroad crossing shall do so in a manner so that they will be able to stop if necessary.

A bus transporting passengers, a motor vehicle transporting any quantity of chlorine, a motor vehicle required to be marked or placarded according to federal law, or a cargo tank vehicle whether loaded or empty, must come to a complete stop before crossing any railroad track.

School buses are required to stop at railroad track crossings not more than 50 feet or less than 15 feet from the nearest rail.


Maine

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or to slow to a safe and reasonable speed. Also included in the law are utility vehicles.


Maine

Upon meeting or overtaking in either direction a school bus receiving or discharging children on a road, parking area, or on school property, a driver must stop and not proceed until the bus resumes movement or the school bus operator signals to proceed.

A driver need not stop for a school bus if traveling in a lane separated by curbing or another physical barrier from the lane that the bus is in, or on a limited access highway where pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway with the school bus stopped in a loading zone.


Maryland

Using a text messaging device to write, read, or send a text message while driving is prohibited for all drivers. The use of a handheld telephone is prohibited for all drivers.  The use of wireless communication devices by all drivers under 18 is prohibited.


Maryland

Radar detectors are permitted for passenger vehicles but prohibited for use by commercial vehicles.


Maryland

A driver of a vehicle shall stop between 15-50 feet of a railroad crossing whenever a crossing gate is lowered, a flagman signals the approach or passage of a railroad train, a railroad train approaching within 1,500 feet of the crossing gives an audible signal that because of its speed or nearness it is an immediate danger, or a railroad train is plainly visible and is approaching dangerously near to the crossing.

The following vehicles are to stop at all railroad crossings: vehicles carrying passengers for hire; school vehicles carrying any passengers; every bus owned or operated by a church and carrying any passenger; every vehicle carrying flammable liquids or explosives; and every vehicle carrying hazardous materials.


Maryland

Seat belts required for driver and all passengers age 16 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law in the backseat is a secondary offense. Other violations of the seat belt law are standard offenses.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 16 if the vehicle is traveling more than 25 mph; proper child restraints are still required; some other exceptions apply.


Maryland

Wearing, either over or in both ears, earplugs, headsets, or earphones, is not permitted while driving. Exempts hearing aids; some other exceptions apply.


Maryland

A motor vehicle may not be equipped with television-type receiving equipment or video display equipment that is turned on and displaying an image visible to the driver.

Vehicle navigation systems are allowed, as are satellite and broadcast radio, and displays related to the operation or safety of the vehicle.


Maryland

No sign, poster, or other non-transparent material may be placed on the front windshield, other than a certificate or other paper required to be so displayed by law, or in compliance with security measures required by a federal or state government agency and approved by the MVA.


Maryland

State law requires drivers traveling in the same direction and approaching a stopped emergency vehicle using flashing lights, including tow trucks or service vehicles, to change into a lane not immediately adjacent to the vehicle, if possible, or to slow to a speed safe for weather, road, and traffic conditions. Also included in the law are municipal vehicles, such a waste or recycling vehicles.


Maryland

If a school vehicle has stopped on a roadway and is operating flashing red lights, the driver of any other vehicle on the roadway shall stop at least 20 feet from the school vehicle, and may not proceed until the school vehicle either resumes motion or the red lights are deactivated.

Drivers on the opposite side of a divided highway are not required to stop.

Drivers may not obstruct, hinder, or interfere with a school bus driver or individuals providing public transportation.

Monitoring cameras may be placed on county school buses to record other vehicles committing violations relating to overtaking and passing school vehicles.

School buses may not be operated at a speed exceeding 50 mph.

All school buses used for the transportation of children to and from schools shall be equipped with seat back crash pads.

School vehicles shall be painted national school bus yellow.


Maryland

Children under age 16 must be restrained in a seat belt or a child safety seat.

All children under age 8 must be secured in a child safety seat unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Maryland

N/A


Massachusetts

All drivers are prohibited from text messaging and using handheld wireless devices while driving. Drivers under age 18 are prohibited from all cell phone use.


Massachusetts

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 13 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law is a secondary offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 12 if the vehicle is being driven less than 5 miles and less than 5 mph; some other exceptions apply.


Massachusetts

Wearing headphones is not permitted while driving, unless the headphones are used for communication in connection with controlling the course or movement of said vehicle.


Massachusetts

Children age 8 through age 12 shall use an appropriate child restraint or wear a safety belt that is properly adjusted and fastened.

Children under age 8 and less than 4 feet 9 inches tall shall be properly fastened and secured by a child restraint system.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Massachusetts

When approaching a vehicle which displays a sign bearing the words “School Bus” and which is equipped with front and rear alternating flashing red signal lamps which are flashing, and which has been stopped to allow pupils on or off of the vehicle, a person operating a motor vehicle shall, except when approaching from the opposite direction on a divided highway, bring his vehicle to a full stop before reaching said school bus and shall not proceed until the warning signals are deactivated.


Massachusetts

Drivers traveling in the same direction and approaching a stationary emergency vehicle, highway maintenance vehicle, or tow or recovery vehicle with flashing lights must slow down to a safe speed and, if practicable, move to a non-adjacent lane.


Massachusetts

Every person operating a motor vehicle, upon approaching a railroad crossing shall reduce the speed of the vehicle to a reasonable and proper rate before proceeding over the crossing, and shall proceed over the crossing at a rate of speed and with such care as is reasonable and proper under the circumstances.

Every person operating a school bus or any motor vehicle carrying explosive substances or flammable liquids as cargo, upon approaching a railroad crossing, shall bring his vehicle to a full stop not less than 15 feet and not more than 50 feet from the nearest track of the railroad and shall not proceed to cross until it is safe to do so.


Michigan

All vehicles must stop not less than 20 feet from a stopped school bus displaying alternately flashing red lights and may not proceed until the school bus has resumed motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated.


Michigan

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or to slow to a speed safe for weather, road and traffic conditions. The law also includes stationary solid waste collection, utility service, or road maintenance vehicles.


Michigan

Children under age 16 must wear a seat belt or be in an approved restraint system regardless of where they sit in the vehicle.

Children under age 8 and less than 4 feet 9 inches shall be properly secured in a booster seat or child restraint system.

Children under age 4 must be properly secured in a child restraint system in the rear seat, if possible.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Michigan

Seat belts are required for the driver and all front seat passengers age 16 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 18 unless the vehicle is moving under 16 mph; some other exceptions apply.


Michigan

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Michigan

Vehicles must stop between 15 and 50 feet from the nearest rail when a signal indicates the approach of a train or if a train is clearly visible.

All motor vehicles carrying passengers for hire or hazardous material must stop before crossing.


Minnesota

State law requires drivers traveling in the same direction to reduce speed and, if safe to do so, vacate the lane closest to stationary emergency vehicles using flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, utility vehicles, and road maintenance, municipal, and construction vehicles.


Minnesota

Children under age 8 and under 4 feet 9 inches are required to be in a child restraint.

Violations of the child restraint laws are standard offenses.


Minnesota

When a school bus is stopped on any roadway and is displaying an extended stop signal arm and flashing red lights, the driver of a vehicle approaching the bus must stop the vehicle at least 20 feet away from the bus. The driver of the vehicle must not move until the school bus stop signal arm is retracted and the red lights are no longer flashing. School bus drivers may not use cell phones while driving.


Minnesota

Headlights must be on from sunset to sunrise, in rain, slow, sleet, or hail, or when conditions of insufficient light/adverse weather limit visibility to 500 feet.


Minnesota

Text messaging while driving is prohibited. All drivers are prohibited from using handheld wireless devices while driving. Permit holders and provisional license holders under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. School bus drivers may not use cell phones while driving.


Minnesota

Wearing headphones or earphones in both ears simultaneously for the purposes of receiving or listening to broadcasts or reproductions from radios, tape decks, or other sound-producing or transmitting devices, is not permitted while driving. Exempts the use of hearing aid devices.


Minnesota

When a stop sign has been erected at a railroad crossing, the driver of a vehicle approaching a railroad crossing shall stop or yield between 10 and 50 feet from the nearest track of the crossing and can only proceed upon exercising due care and when the roadway is clear of traffic so that the vehicle can proceed without stopping until the rear of the vehicle is at least 10 feet past the farthest railroad track.

When any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing, the driver must stop at least 10 feet away from the nearest railroad track if a clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device warns of the immediate approach of the railroad train, or an approaching train is visible and is in a hazardous proximity.


Minnesota

Seat belts are required for the driver and passengers age 8 or older.

Violations of the seat belt laws are standard offenses.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is permitted.


Mississippi

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Mississippi

Seat belts or appropriate child restraints are required for the driver and all passengers.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is permitted.


Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.