Traffic Rules

District of Columbia

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


District of Columbia

Law requires drivers vacate the lane closest to stationary emergency vehicles making use of audible or visual signals, if it is safe to do so. If not, drivers are required to proceed with due caution, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, until safely past the authorized emergency vehicle.


District of Columbia

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers.

The fine for drivers and passengers for not using a seat belt is $50 and two points. The fine for failing to secure a child passenger is $75 and two points or a $25 child restraint safety class for a first offense. A second offense is a $75 fine and $25 child restraint safety class. A third offense is a $125 fine. A fourth and subsequent offense is a $150 fine.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the bed of a pickup truck is prohibited, except for employees on duty.


District of Columbia

Children ages 8 until 16 are required to be restrained in a child restraint or seat belt. Children under age 2 and less than 40 lbs. and 40 in. must be rear-facing.

Children under age 8 are required to be restrained in a child restraint.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


District of Columbia

All drivers must stop between 15 and 50 feet of a railroad crossing before safely crossing it, in any of the following circumstances:

A clearly visible electric or mechanical signal gives warning of an approaching train,

A crossing gate is lowered or human flagman gives a signal of an approaching train,

A train approaching within 1,500 feet emits an audible signal and is an immediate hazard, or

An approaching train is plainly visible and in hazardous proximity to the crossing.


Florida

Texting while driving is banned for all drivers. The use of handheld wireless communication devices is prohibited in designated school crossings, school zones, and work zones.

Use of a cellular phone with a headset is permitted while driving if sound is provided through 1 ear and allows surrounding sounds to be heard with other ear. Localities are prohibited from regulating the use of commercial mobile radio services, including cell phones.


Florida

Wearing a headset, headphone, or other listening device, other than a hearing aid or instrument for the improvement of defective human hearing, is not permitted while driving. Use in one ear for communicating with a central base operation or in conjunction with a cellular telephone is permitted.


Florida

State law requires drivers to reduce speed to 20mph less than the posted speed limit and, if safe to do so, vacate the lane closest to stationary emergency vehicles, including towing and recovery vehicles, when traveling in the same direction. If such movement cannot be safely accomplished, the driver shall reduce speed. Also included in the law are municipal vehicles and utility vehicles.


Florida

It is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle unless the driver and all front seat passengers 18 years and older are restrained by a safety belt.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in pickup truck beds is not permitted for persons under age 18 unless in an enclosed area, except employees on duty; some other exceptions apply.


Florida

Children ages 6 until 18 must be restrained in a child restraint or seat belt.

Children under age 6 are required to use a child restraint.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Florida

Any person driving a school bus and approaching a railroad-highway grade crossing shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of such railroad and shall not proceed until he or she can do so safely when a highway sign is indicating that a train is approaching or when the driver can hear or see an approaching train. Drivers of commercial vehicles shall slow before crossing the tracks and check that the tracks are clear of an approaching train.


Florida

Any person using, operating, or driving a vehicle on or over the roads or highways of this state shall, upon approaching any school bus that displays a stop signal bring such vehicle to a full stop while the bus is stopped, and the vehicle shall not pass the school bus until the signal has been withdrawn.


Georgia

Text messaging and the use of handheld wireless communication devices are prohibited for all drivers. School bus drivers are prohibited from using cellular phones.


Georgia

Wearing a headset or headphone which would impair that person’s ability to hear, or any device which impairs a person’s vision, is not permitted while driving. Exempts headsets or headphones used for communication purposes.


Georgia

State law requires drivers approaching stationary emergency vehicles displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow below the posted speed limit to a speed reasonable for road and traffic conditions. Also included in the law are utility vehicles and road maintenance vehicles.


Georgia

Each occupant age 18 and older in the front seat of a passenger vehicle shall wear a seat belt when the vehicle is in motion.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted on an interstate for persons under age 18 unless in an enclosed area.


Georgia

Children ages 8 until 18 and over 4 feet 9 inches are required to be in a seat belt in all seats.

Children under age 8 and under 4 feet 9 inches are required to be in a child restraint installed and being used in accordance with the manufacturer’s directions, if available, in the rear seat.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Georgia

A driver must stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of a railroad when: (1) a clearly visible device gives warning of the immediate approach of a train or other on-track equipment; (2) a crossing gate is lowered or a human flagman signals the approach of a train; (3) an approaching train or other on-track equipment is plainly visible and is in hazardous proximity to the crossing; or (4) a stop sign is posted.

Motor vehicles carrying passengers for hire, school buses, and vehicles containing hazardous substances, explosive substances, or flammable liquids must stop at all railroad crossings and look and listen in both directions.


Georgia

The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus stopped on the highway shall stop before reaching the bus when the visual signals indicating that traffic should stop are in operation. School buses are authorized to mount video cameras on the vehicle to record violations of this law.


Hawaii

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Hawaii

State law requires drivers approaching stationary emergency vehicles displaying flashing lights, including tow trucks, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so (and if possible move two lanes over), and slow to a speed that is safe, reasonable, and prudent.


Hawaii

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers.

Violations of the seat belt law are standard offenses.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is prohibited, unless there are no available seats in the cab.


Hawaii

Children ages 8 until 17 are required to wear a seat belt in all seats. Children ages 4 until 8 must ride in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are over 4 feet 9 inches or weigh more than 40 lbs.

Children under age 4 must be restrained in a child passenger restraint system.

Children over 40 lbs. may be belted without a booster seat if they are seated in the rear seat of a vehicle equipped with only a lap belt.

Violations of the child restraint laws are standard offenses.


Hawaii

Vehicles approaching a railroad crossing must stop within 55 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail when a signal device indicates the immediate approach of a train, a crossing gate is lowered or a flagman signals stop, a train within 1,500 feet signals that it is approaching, or is in hazardous proximity to the crossing.


Hawaii

Whenever a school bus is stopped on a roadway and its visual signals are activated, the driver of every motor vehicle on the same roadway, in either direction, must stop not less than 20 feet from the school bus and may proceed only when the school bus resumes motion and the visual signals are turned off. This rule does not apply when a bus is traveling on a different or divided roadway.


Hawaii

Handheld cell phone use and text messaging while driving are banned for all drivers.  Drivers under 18 are banned from all wireless device use.


Idaho

Texting while driving is banned for all drivers. The use of a handheld mobile electronic device while driving is banned for all drivers.


Idaho

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Idaho

State law requires drivers traveling in the same direction to slow below the posted speed limit and vacate the lane closest to a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights if safe to do so. This includes tow trucks, wreckers, other recovery vehicles, and municipal vehicles.


Idaho

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 7 and older when a vehicle is in motion.

Violation of the seat belt law is a secondary offense.


Idaho

Children under age 7 are required to be in a child safety restraint.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Idaho

Whenever a person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad crossing and there is a signal indicating an approaching train, the driver must stop within 50 feet, but not less than 15 feet, from the nearest rail of the railroad and must not proceed until he or she can do so safely. It is unlawful to drive through, around, or under any crossing gate or barrier while the gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.

A school bus must come to a complete stop before crossing any railroad track.


Idaho

Upon meeting or overtaking a school bus in either direction, a driver must stop and not proceed until the bus resumes movement or visual signals are no longer functioning. Oncoming traffic is not required to stop on a highway of more than 3 lanes even if visual signals are functioning.


Illinois

Seat belts are required for all passengers in all seating positions.

Violation of the seat belt laws is a standard offense.

Riding in pickup truck beds is permitted.


Illinois

Children under age 2 must be in a rear-facing child restraint system, unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. Children under age 8 are required to be properly secured in a child restraint system.

Children over 40 lbs. may be transported in the back seat of a vehicle with only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt.

Violations of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Illinois

Drivers are required to stop between 15 and 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing when a signal indicates the approach of a train, or an approaching train is plainly visible.

All drivers of vehicles for hire carrying passengers, buses, or vehicles carrying hazardous materials must stop between 15 and 50 feet of the nearest rail before proceeding.


Illinois

Drivers approaching a school bus from the rear, or from the opposite direction on a 2-lane road, must stop for any school bus receiving or discharging students and may not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or the driver is signaled to proceed by the school bus driver.  Drivers need not stop if traveling from the opposite direction on a road for 4 or more lanes.


Illinois

Text messaging and handheld cell phone use while driving are prohibited. Drivers under the age of 19 who hold a learner’s permit or intermediate license may not use a cell phone or other similar device while driving. School bus drivers are prohibited from talking on a cell phone and driving, except in emergencies. The use of any cellular phone while driving is prohibited in work zones and school zones, or within 500 feet of an emergency zone.


Illinois

Wearing headset receivers is not permitted while driving. Exempts intercom helmets on motorcycles, cellular phone earpieces, and single-sided headsets.


Illinois

State law requires drivers approaching stationary emergency vehicles displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a safe speed. Also included in the law are disabled vehicles.


Indiana

Texting while driving is banned for all drivers. All drivers are prohibited from using handheld wireless devices while driving. Probationary license holders under 21 are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle while using a telecommunications device for any purpose other than making an emergency 911 call.


Indiana

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Indiana

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or reduce speed at least 10mph below the speed limit. Also included in the law are municipal vehicles, utility vehicles, and road maintenance vehicles.


Indiana

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers age 16 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted; some exceptions apply.


Indiana

Children ages 8 until 16 are required to be in either a seat belt or a child restraint.

Children under age 8 must be properly restrained in a child restraint system according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Children over 40 lbs. may be transported in the back seat of a vehicle with only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt.

Violations of the child restraint laws are standard offenses.

Vehicles participating in a funeral procession are exempt from complying with child restraint laws.


Indiana

Passenger vehicles, buses carrying passengers, motortrucks carrying employees, school buses, and vehicles carrying flammable material must stop between 15 and 50 feet from the nearest railroad tracks before proceeding, unless directed to do otherwise by a traffic signal or traffic officer.


Indiana

Vehicles must stop upon meeting, from either direction, a school bus (beginning July 1, 2014, school buses are exempt) that is stopped for loading or unloading children and displays or has recently displayed a stop signal arm. This rule does not apply if the bus is on the opposite roadway of a divided highway.


Iowa

All vehicles must stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet of a railroad crossing when warning of the immediate approach of a train or railroad equipment is given by automatic signal, crossing gates, a flag person, or otherwise. The vehicle must stop, remain standing, and not traverse the crossing when a crossing gate is lowered or when a human flagman continues to give a signal of the approach or passage of a train or railroad equipment.


Iowa

The driver of a vehicle, including the driver of a vehicle operating on a private road or driveway, when meeting a school bus with flashing amber warning lamps must slow to not more than 20 mph and not pass the bus, and must bring the vehicle to a complete stop when the school bus stops and the stop signal arm is extended. The vehicle must remain stopped until the stop signal arm is retracted after which time the driver may proceed with due caution.

The driver of a vehicle upon a highway with 2 or more lanes in each direction need not stop upon meeting a school bus which is traveling in the opposite direction even though the school bus is stopped.


Iowa

Using a hand-held electronic communication device to write, send, or view an electronic message while driving is prohibited unless the motor vehicle is at a complete stop off the traveled portion of the roadway. A primary offense. Drivers issued a restricted license (age 16-18), instruction permit, or intermediate drivers license may not use an electronic communication device or an electronic entertainment device while driving.


Iowa

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Iowa

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a reasonable speed for road and traffic conditions. Also included in the law are municipal vehicles, utility vehicles, road maintenance vehicles, stationary construction vehicles, and any other stationary vehicles displaying emergency hazards flashing simultaneously.


Iowa

Seat belts are required for the driver and front seat passengers age 18 and older.

Violation of the seat belt is a standard offense.

Riding in the beds of pickup trucks is permitted, except when prohibited by local ordinance.


Iowa

Children ages 6 until 18 must be restrained in either a seat belt or child restraint system, includes both front and rear seats.

Children under age 6 must be restrained in a child restraint.

Infants under age 1 and under 20 lbs. must be restrained in a rear-facing safety seat.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Kansas

Texting while driving is prohibited. Instruction permit and restricted Class C and M Driver’s license holders are prohibited from using wireless communications devices while driving. Handheld cell phone use is prohibited in some cities, including Manhattan and Junction City.


Kansas

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Kansas

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a speed safe for road, weather, and traffic conditions. The law also applies to waste collection vehicles.


Kansas

Seat belts are required for the driver and passengers age 14 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law in the backseat is a secondary offense. Other violations of the seat belt law are standard offenses.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 18; some other exceptions apply.


Nova Scotia

All occupants must wear a seat belt or an age-appropriate child restraint seat.

Except for employees engaged in the necessary discharge of a duty passengers are not permitted to be transported in space intended for merchandise unless the trucks have secure seating accommodation and all such persons are seated while being so transported.


Nova Scotia

Children under 1 year of age and under 10 kg. (22 lbs.) must be in a rear-facing child safety seat. Children under 18 kg. (40 lbs.) must be in a child restraint system. Children over 40 lbs. but less than 145 cm (4 feet 9 inches) or under 9 years old must be placed in a booster seat. Safety belts may be used at age 9 or above 145 cm.

A vehicle registered in a jurisdiction which does not require the use of a child restraint system for a toddler must secure the toddler in a lap belt, at a minimum if a lap belt is available to that child.


Nova Scotia

Whenever a person driving approaches a railway crossing that gives a clearly visible signal warning of an oncoming train, the driver must stop before crossing the railroad tracks.

A driver must not enter a highway or railway crossing unless there is enough space on the other side to accommodate the vehicle without obstructing the oncoming railroad trains.


Nova Scotia

The driver of a vehicle must stop the vehicle before passing a school bus that is exhibiting flashing red lights while on or near a highway. This vehicle must remain stopped until the school bus proceeds.

When a school bus exhibits flashing amber lights, the driver of a motor vehicle that intends to pass the school bus must proceed with caution.


Nunavut

A driver, on meeting a school bus that is headed in the same or opposite direction as the driver, and has its flashing lights in use, shall stop his or her vehicle before it reaches the bus, and not proceed until the flashing lights are no longer in use.


Nunavut

No province-wide distracted driving law.


Nunavut

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Nunavut

No requirement to slow down and/or move to an adjacent lane when passing stopped emergency vehicles.


Nunavut

Seat belts are required for the driver and all passengers.

Passengers may ride in the box of a truck if the box is totally enclosed, the truck is being operated within a municipality or settlement at less than 30 km/h, or on a motor vehicle forming part of a parade that has been approved by the proper authority.


Nunavut

No person shall operate, on a highway, a motor vehicle in which there is a passenger under 15 of the prescribed size or weight unless that passenger is properly secured in a prescribed child restraint system or seat belt.

A toddler between 9kg and 18kg shall be secured in a child restraint system

An infant under 9kg shall be secured in a rearward facing child restraint system


Nunavut

Where a driver approaches a railway crossing and a warning device or flag operator indicates that a train is approaching, or a train that is approaching is visible or is emitting an audible signal and it is not possible to cross the railway crossing in safety, or a stop sign has been erected at the railway crossing, the driver shall stop his or her vehicle not less than 5 m from the nearest rail of the railway.

The driver shall not proceed across the railway crossing until it is safe to do so.


Ontario

No person shall drive a motor vehicle on a highway while holding or using a hand-held wireless communication device, entertainment device, or other prescribed device that is capable of receiving or transmitting telephone communications, electronic data, mail or text messages.


Ontario

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Ontario

Upon approaching an emergency vehicle, including a tow truck, that is stopped on a highway with its emergency lights activated, the driver of a vehicle travelling on the same side of the highway shall slow down and proceed with caution and move to a non-adjacent lane if it is safe to do so.


Ontario

Every person who drives on a highway a motor vehicle in which a seat belt assembly is provided for the driver must wear the complete seat belt assembly in a properly adjusted and securely fastened manner.

Every person who is a passenger on a highway in a motor vehicle in which a seat belt assembly is provided for the seating position occupied by the passenger must wear the complete seat belt assembly in a properly adjusted and securely fastened manner.

Use of seat belts is not required for a person who: (1) is driving a motor vehicle in reverse; (2) holds a certificate signed by a legally qualified medical practitioner certifying that the person is unable to wear a seat belt because of a medical condition or physical limitations; or (3) is actually engaged in work that requires him or her to alight from and re-enter the vehicle at frequent intervals and is not driving at a speed exceeding 40 km/h.


Ontario

Children 8 until 16 and 36 kg or more or taller than 145 cm are required to be in a seat belt; child restraint required for children under 8 and under 36 kg or under 145 cm.


Ontario

When the driver of a vehicle is approaching a railway crossing at a time when a clearly visible electrical or mechanical signal device or a flagman is giving warning of the approach of a railway train, he or she must stop the vehicle not less than 5 meters from the nearest rail of the railway and must not proceed until he or she can do so safely.

No person may drive a vehicle through, around, or under a crossing gate or barrier at a railway crossing while the gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.


Ontario

Every driver, when meeting on a highway, other than a highway with a median strip, a stopped school bus that has its overhead red signal lights flashing, must stop before reaching the bus and must not proceed until the bus moves or the overhead red signal lights have stopped flashing.

Every driver, when approaching from the rear a stopped school bus that has its overhead red signal lights flashing, must stop at least 20 meters before reaching the bus and must not proceed until the bus moves or the overhead red signal-lights have stopped flashing.


Prince Edward Island

The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking a school bus on a highway when the flashing red lights are displayed must bring the vehicle to a stop at least 6 meters from the school bus, and must not pass the school bus until the flashing red lights are no longer displayed.

The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking a school bus on a highway when the flashing amber lights are displayed on the school bus must reduce speed and proceed with caution, and may only pass the school bus with caution.


Prince Edward Island

The use of handheld electronic devices and text messaging while driving is prohibited.


Prince Edward Island

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Prince Edward Island

Drivers passing a stopped emergency vehicle with flashing lights must decrease speed to lesson more than half the posted speed limit, and must vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle, if safe to do so.


Prince Edward Island

The driver and passengers of a motor vehicle must wear a seat belt.

The owner of a motor vehicle must make sure that all seat belts are in good working condition.


Prince Edward Island

Children under 10 years and under 145 cm (4 feet 7 inches) are required to be in a child safety seat.

Children under 10 kg (22 lbs.) must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat. Children under 18 kg (40 lbs.) must ride in a forward-facing child safety seat. Children may ride in a booster seat if they are over 18 kg (40 lbs.), under 145 cm, and age 9 or less.


Prince Edward Island

Although there are no railways in Prince Edward Island, drivers are cautioned when approaching a railway crossing where a signal device or flag person is warning of the approach of a train, to stop not less than five meters from the nearest rail.


Quebec

No person may use a hand-held device that includes a telephone function while driving a motor vehicle.


Quebec

Wearing headphones or earphones is not permitted while driving or operating a bicycle unless the device is used in conversational exchanges among its users to the extent that the device allows surrounding traffic noises to be heard.


Quebec

Upon approaching an emergency vehicle, including a tow truck, that is stopped on a highway with its emergency lights activated, the driver of a vehicle travelling on the same side of the highway shall slow down and proceed with caution and move to a non-adjacent lane if it is safe to do so.


Quebec

Every person, while in a moving road vehicle, must wear, properly fastened, the seat belt with which his or her seat is equipped unless: (1) the person is driving in reverse; (2) the person is a taxi driver performing his or her functions on a numbered highway with a speed limit set by a municipality or on an unnumbered highway; (3) after meeting certain conditions, the person has been issued a medical exemption certificate by the SAAQ; or (4) the person is occupying a passenger seat in a police wagon.

In no case may the driver of a vehicle allow more passengers in his or her vehicle than there are places available for them to sit.

No person may drive a vehicle if the front seat is occupied by more than 3 persons or more than 2 persons if the front of the vehicle is equipped with chair seats.

Riding in pickup truck beds is not permitted.


Quebec

Children whose seated height is less than 63 cm measured from the seat to the top of the head are required to be in a child restraint or booster seat.


Quebec

At a railroad crossing, the driver of a road vehicle or any person riding a bicycle must stop his or her vehicle not less than 5 meters from the railway where a sign, signal, lowered gate, or railway employee signals an approaching rail vehicle, or where the driver or cyclist sees or hears a rail vehicle approaching the railroad crossing.

Even if so authorized by traffic lights, no driver of a road vehicle may enter a railroad crossing if there is not sufficient space ahead of the vehicle to allow him or her to cross the level crossing.


Quebec

The driver of a road vehicle who is approaching a school bus with flashing lights turned on or whose compulsory stop signal has been activated, must stop his or her vehicle more than 5 meters from the bus and must not proceed in either direction until the flashing lights are turned off and the compulsory stop signal has been retracted, and he or she ascertains that he or she can do so in safety. A driver is not required to stop upon meeting a school bus on an adjacent roadway separated by a median strip or any other raised physical separation.


Saskatchewan

Text messaging and the use of hand-held cell phones while driving are prohibited. Drivers in the graduated driver’s licensing program are prohibited from all cell phone use.


Saskatchewan

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Saskatchewan

Prohibits driving greater than 60kph while passing highway workers or equipment, emergency vehicles stopped with emergency lights flashing, and tow trucks stopped with amber lights flashing, road construction vehicles with lights flashing, and distinctively lit Ministry of Highways vehicles.


Saskatchewan

The driver of a vehicle proceeding in the same direction on a highway as a school bus that has its safety lights in operation must not pass the school bus.

The driver of a vehicle proceeding in the same direction on a highway as a school bus that is stopped and that has its safety lights and stop arm in operation must stop at least 5 meters from the rear of the school bus. The vehicle must not proceed until the operation of the safety lights and stop arm has been discontinued.

When a school bus is stopped and has its safety lights and stop arm in operation, the driver of a vehicle that is approaching the school bus from the opposite direction on a highway, other than a divided highway, must stop at least 5 meters from the front of the school bus and must not proceed until the operation of the safety lights and stop arm has been discontinued.


Saskatchewan

The driver occupants of a motor vehicle must wear a seat belt that is properly adjusted and securely fastened when occupying a manufacturer’s designated seating position that is equipped with a seat belt assembly.


Saskatchewan

All passengers under age 16 must be properly restrained.

If the child passenger is under age 7, between 18 and 43 kg, and under 145 cm, that passenger shall be placed in a booster seat.  If the child passenger weighs less than 18 kg, that passenger must be placed in an age and weight appropriate child or infant restraint system. This child or infant restraint system must be properly adjusted and securely fastened in the manner recommended by the manufacturer.


Saskatchewan

The driver of a vehicle must bring the vehicle to a stop when approaching a railway crossing when a signal person or an automatic signal indicates an approaching train.


Yukon

Drivers may not use a cell phone, text or send e-mails with any kind of hand-held electronic device.


Yukon

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Yukon

Yukon has no Move Over law.


Yukon

Every person who drives on a highway a motor vehicle in which a seat belt is installed for the driver must be properly secured in a seat belt unless the person is doing work that requires him or her to get out of and re-enter the motor vehicle at frequent intervals and who, while doing that work, does not drive the motor vehicle faster than 30 km/h, does not drive through an intersection, and does not drive more than 250 meters without stopping.

Every person who is a passenger in a motor vehicle that is being operated on a highway must wear a seat belt if a seat belt is installed for the seat the passenger occupies, or if there is an unoccupied seat with a seat belt.

The following vehicles are exempted from the passenger restraint requirements: taxis, school buses, transit buses, motor coaches, emergency vehicles, rental vehicles, vehicles not licensed in the Yukon, and motor homes.

Riding in the bed of a truck is permitted.


Yukon

Children under 6 years of age and under 22 kg must be secured in a child restraint system. A child weighing less than 9 kg must be secured in an infant restraint system. A child weighing 9 to 22 kg must be secured in a child restraint system. Children weighing over 18 kg may use a booster seat. Children weighing over 22 kg may use a standard seat belt.


Yukon

At a railway crossing at any time when (1) a clearly visible electrical or mechanical signal device gives warning of the approach of a railway train, (2) a crossing gate is lowered or a flagman is giving a signal, (3) a train within approximately 500 meters of the crossing is approaching the crossing and either sounds an audible signal or is visible, or (4) a train is visible and approaching the crossing and by reason of its speed or nearness is an immediate hazard, a driver approaching the crossing must not proceed until the train has passed or come to a stop and the driver can proceed safely.

Where a stop sign is erected at a railway crossing, a driver approaching the railway crossing must stop his or her vehicle no closer than 5 meters and no further than 15 meters from the nearest rail of the railway and must proceed until he can do so safely.

When a driver has stopped at a railway crossing, he or she must cross the railway tracks in a gear that he or she will not need to change while crossing the tracks and must not shift gears while crossing.


Yukon

When a school bus has stopped on a highway to receive or discharge passengers or while the vehicle is displaying alternately flashing red lights, a driver approaching the school bus from the rear, if the highway is physically divided by a median strip into 2 separate roadways, or from either direction, if the highway is not so divided, must stop before reaching the school bus. The person may not proceed to pass the school bus (1) until the school bus resumes motion, (2) until the driver of the school bus indicates by a signal that he may proceed, or (3) where the school bus is displaying alternately flashing red lights, until the lights stop flashing.