Miscellaneous Provisions

Alabama

Crashes are required to be reported in incidents of death, injury, or when property damage exceeds $500.00 from an uninsured motorist.

The deadline to file a (safety responsibility) report is 30 days.


Alabama

Maximum amount not to exceed sum of $300.


Alabama

State has security-type law applicable in event of accident causing property damage in excess of $250 or personal injury or death. Minimum required coverage is $25,000 for bodily injury or death of 1 person in 1 accident; $50,000 for 2 or more persons in any 1 accident; and $25,000 for injury or destruction of property in 1 accident.

State has non-resident service of process law and guest suit law.


Alabama

An officer may require the measuring or weighing of truck or trailer.

Measurement may be conducted by portable or stationary scales.

Officer may order truck or trailer to stationary scales if within a distance of 5 miles.


Alabama

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.


Alabama

Alabama is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


Alaska

Crashes must be reported in cases of death or injury or when property damage exceeds $2,000.00. The deadline to issue a report is 10 days.


Alaska

N/A


Alaska

Mandatory insurance law applies to all accidents involving death, injury, or more than $500 damage to property of any 1 person. Minimum financial responsibility limits:

  • $50,000 due to bodily injury or death of 1 person in 1 accident.
  • $100,000 due to bodily injury or death of 2 or more persons in 1 accident.
  • $25,000 due to injury to or destruction of property of others in 1 accident.

Alaska has a non-resident service of process law.


Alaska

Trucks over 10,000 lbs. GVWR are required to stop.


Alaska

Operators of bicycles must obey the motor vehicle laws.

Cyclists must ride with traffic.

There is no helmet requirement for cyclists.


Alaska

Alaska is not party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


Arizona

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


Arizona

Arizona is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.

Agricultural inspections required for all commercial vehicles crossing the border.

Vehicles parked on roadways with curbs must be parked with right-hand wheels parallel to and within 18 inches of the curb. It is illegal to park on a crosswalk, within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection, within 30 feet of approach to any flashing beacon, within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing, within 20 feet of the driveway of a fire station, on a bridge or in a highway tunnel.


Arizona

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $300.00, results in bodily injury to or death of a person, or if the settlement of the crash has not been reached within 6 months of the crash


Arizona

Mandatory recognition of AAA Arrest Bond Certificates recognized up to maximum $300 amount.


Arizona

Minimum $15,000 financial responsibility for any 1 person in 1 accident, $30,000 for any 2 people in 1 accident; $10,000 for property destruction in any 1 accident.

State has non-resident service of process law. Does not have guest suit law.


Arizona

Any commodity shipped into the state is subject to inspection for agricultural pests.

Gross weight fees apply to trailers and semitrailers with GVW of 10,000 lbs. or more and all commercial trailers and semitrailers; motor vehicles or vehicle combination if used primarily for transporting passengers for compensation, not including school buses or transportation for charitable organizations; vehicles used in the transportation of hazardous materials; or a hearse or ambulance or similar vehicle used in conduct of a mortician.


Arkansas

Crashes involving death or injury are required to be reported immediately.  Crashes involving property damage exceeding $1000.00 are required to be reported within 30 days.


Arkansas

Automobile clubs may issue bond cards not to exceed $200.


Arkansas

Security-type law is applicable in event of accident causing property damage in excess of $1,000 or personal injury or death. Minimum financial responsibility limits are the following: $25,000 for bodily injury or death of 1 person in 1 accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of 2 or more persons in 1 accident; and $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in 1 accident.

State has “add-on” no-fault insurance law.

Sale is mandatory, but purchase is optional.

Benefits, medical, and hospital, $5,000.

Wage loss, 70%; up to $140/week (8-day waiting period, maximum 52 weeks).

Essential services up to $70/week (8-day waiting period, maximum 52 weeks).

Accidental death, $5,000.


Arkansas

The following vehicles must stop at weight/inspection stations: (1) agricultural vehicles; (2) passenger or specialty vehicles, whether single or in combination (towing a trailer) with GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or more; (3) commercial trucks with GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or more.


Arkansas

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


Arkansas

Arkansas is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


California

Crashes are required to be reported in cases of death or injury or when property damage exceeds $750.00 (effective January 1, 2017, $1,000). Reports must be filed within 10 days.


California

N/A


California

Financial responsibility is required of every driver and owner of a motor vehicle at all times. Low cost auto policies are available in every county of the state for qualified low income persons.  The cost differs depending on the county.

Every driver and every owner of a motor vehicle must carry evidence of financial responsibility in their motor vehicle at all times and be ready to present such evidence at the demand of a peace officer; failure to comply carries a fine between $100 and $200, plus additional assessment penalties, for the 1st infraction and a fine between $200 and $500, plus additional assessment penalties, for any subsequent infraction within 3 years of the 1st.

Minimum liability insurance coverage must be at least $15,000 for bodily injury or death of each person as a result of any 1 accident and $30,000 for bodily or injury or death of all persons as a result of any 1 accident and at least $5,000 for damage to property as a result of any 1 accident.

State has non-resident service of process law. Guest may sue driver.


California

Every driver of a commercial vehicle shall stop and submit the vehicle to an inspection of the size, weight, equipment, and smoke emissions of the vehicle at any location where members of the California Highway Patrol are conducting tests and inspections of commercial vehicles and when signs are displayed requiring the stop.


California

Operators and passengers under 18 of bicycles, non-motorized scooters, skateboards, and in-line skates must wear helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


California

Vehicles engaged in the shipment of agricultural commodities must stop for inspection when entering the state.

California is not party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


Colorado

Colorado has a fault-based or tort system of insurance. Sale and purchase mandatory. Motorists required to carry evidence of insurance at all times. Minimum amount of coverage required: $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 per accident for property.


Colorado

Every owner or operator of a motor vehicle having a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of over 26,000 lbs. shall secure a valid clearance from an office of the DOR, from an officer of the Colorado State Patrol, or from a port of entry weigh station before operating such vehicle or combination of vehicles in the state.


Colorado

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


Colorado

Colorado is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


Colorado

An accident report is required in any crash resulting in death, injury, or any property damage.

The report must be filed within 10 days.


Colorado

County sheriff policy determines recognition of AAA arrest bond certificates up to $200, with specified exceptions.


Connecticut

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.


Connecticut

Recognition of AAA arrest bond certificate up to $1,000-$5,000 with specified exceptions.


Connecticut

Compulsory liability insurance.

No owner of any motor vehicle may operate the vehicle without automobile insurance.

Minimum insurance coverage: $20,000 for injury to 1 person, $40,000 for injuries to more than 1 person, and $10,000 for damage to property.

Motorcycles are required to maintain the same levels of insurance.

State has non-resident service of process law; does not have guest suit law.


Connecticut

All commercial motor vehicles are required to stop.


Connecticut

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


Connecticut

Connecticut is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


Delaware

Crashes are required to be immediately reported in cases of death or injury or when property damage exceeds $500.00.


Delaware

AAA Mid-Atlantic does not offer arrest bond guarantees as part of its membership.


Delaware

State has security-type law. All vehicles registered in the state are required to have the minimum liability insurance coverage of $15,000 for any 1 person injured in an accident; $30,000 for all persons injured in any 1 accident; or $10,000 for the property damage which may be done by any 1 accident.

State has add-on, no-fault insurance law. Sale mandatory. Benefits, $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident; covers medical, loss of income, loss of services, and funeral ($3,000 limit).

No limit on tort actions except benefits received cannot be used as evidence in suits for general damages. Non-residents are covered as pedestrians or guest passengers in insured vehicles.

State has non-resident service of process law.


Delaware

The Secretary of the DPS may adopt such regulations and procedures as may be necessary for law enforcement weighing purposes.


Delaware

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle, or if impossible to do so, reduce to a speed no more than 10 mph beneath the posted speed limit.


Delaware

Delaware is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.


District of Columbia

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $250.00.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.


District of Columbia

Mandatory recognition of AAA arrest bond certificates up to $200 with specified exemptions


District of Columbia

Compulsory motor vehicle insurance.

The minimum insurance coverage required is $25,000 for injury to any 1 person, $50,000 for injury to more than 1 person, and $10,000 for personal property damage.

The District has a non-resident service of process law, which allows a person to serve papers against a non-resident with the District for any action that arises out of the non-resident’s use of a vehicle while in the District.


District of Columbia

N/A.


District of Columbia

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.


District of Columbia

The District of Columbia is party to the Non-Resident Violator Compact.

No person shall park a vehicle in a roadway other than parallel with the edge of the roadway headed in the direction of lawful traffic movement. Vehicles shall be parked within 12 inches of the curb. Vehicles shall not be parked on a roadway to advertise for sale. Parking is prohibited at all of the following: within an intersection; on a crosswalk; upon any bridges, viaducts, freeways, highway tunnels, ramps leading to and from each, medians, safety zones, and traffic islands.


Florida

Crashes are required to be reported as soon as possible in cases of death or injury, or when property damage exceeds $500.00.


Florida

Mandatory recognition of AAA arrest bond certificates up to $1,000 with specified exceptions. May vary within 67 counties.


Florida

No fault law requires anyone who owns or has registered a motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels (excluding taxis and limos), that has been in the state for at least 90 days of the past 365 to have the following coverage. All drivers are required to have insurance policies of at least $10,000 for an individual’s bodily injury; $20,000 for injury to multiple persons; $10,000 for property damage; and a $30,000 minimum per accident.


Florida

The following vehicles must stop: (1) agricultural, motor vehicles (including trailers) which are or could be used in the production, manufacture, storage, sale, or transportation of any food product or any agricultural, horticultural or live stock product, except private passenger automobiles with no trailer in tow, travel trailers, camping trailers, and motor homes; (2) any commercial vehicle (a) with a GWR of 10,000 lbs. or more, (b) designed to transport more than 10 passengers, or (c) used to transport hazardous materials.


Alberta

Crashes are required to be immediately reported.


Alberta

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Alberta

Contracts evidenced by the motor vehicle liability policy insure, to a limit of not less than C$200,000 exclusive of interests and costs, against liability resulting from bodily injury to or the death of 1 or more persons, and loss of or damage to property.

Insurance is compulsory for residents. Proof is required at all times.

Province does not have non-resident service of process law. Province has guest suit law.


Alberta

Peace officer may require the operator of a motor vehicle to submit the vehicle together with its equipment and trailer, if any, to examination and tests to determine that the equipment and trailer are fit and safe for operation.


Alberta

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.


Alberta

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

Alberta has an implied consent law with regard to drunk driving. The legal drinking age is 18.

It is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle when a person’s ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs; or person has an alcohol blood concentration that exceeds .08.  Persons operating a motor vehicle with an alcohol blood alcohol concentration that exceeds 0.05 are subject to an immediate roadside licence suspension and vehicle seizure.

A person with a learner’s or probationary license may not drive a motor vehicle if there is alcohol in the person’s blood.

It is illegal to transport an open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle.


British Columbia

No reporting requirement.


British Columbia

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


British Columbia

Vehicle insurance is compulsory for vehicles operating in BC.

The minimum third party legal liability insurance limit for passenger vehicles is C$200,000 exclusive of interest and costs indemnifying for legal liability arising from bodily injury or death to 1 or more persons, or loss of or damage to property in 1 accident.

Claims by residents or by tourists for damage to vehicles or injuries to occupants caused by ‘uninsured’ or ‘hit-and-run’ vehicles when operated on a highway in BC are payable by ICBC subject to a maximum of C$200,000. However, the payment to a tourist is limited to the lesser of either C$200,000 or the maximum amount that would be available, under similar circumstances, to a BC resident touring in the tourist’s home jurisdiction. All claims for property damage by a hit-and-run vehicle in BC are subject to a C$750 deductible.

Tourists visiting BC are required to produce proof of financial responsibility if their vehicle is involved in an accident in BC. In that case the tourist should be able to produce a “financial responsibility card.” The tourist should obtain the card before entering Canada. The financial responsibility card is obtained from the insurer providing the current insurance on the vehicle used by the tourist. That insurer must have undertaken to pay claims arising in Canada in accordance with the compulsory insurance laws in the jurisdiction where the accident occurs.

Tourists and non-residents can maintain their out-of-province insurance if the respective vehicle is licensed outside of BC and it complies with the BC licensing exemptions noted above.

 


British Columbia

Commercial vehicles, agricultural vehicles, and buses over 5,500 kg must stop at inspection stations as directed. Before entry into the province, commercial vehicle operators must call the permit line (1-800-559-9688) and obtain a nonresident vehicle permit (temporary license) if they are not licensed for travel in BC under an inter-jurisdictional licensing agreement.


British Columbia

All bicycle riders are required to wear helmets.


British Columbia

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

Open containers are prohibited in British Columbia. The legal drinking age is 19.

The maximum legal blood alcohol content is .08 percent.

A Class 7 or 8 Learner’s or Novice Driver’s License holder cannot have any alcohol in his or her system while operating a motor vehicle (zero BAC).


Manitoba

Crashes are required to be reported within 7 days in cases of death, injury, hospital admittance, unlicensed driving, involving an unregistered vehicle, if another driver refuses to share information, intoxication, or hit-and-run.


Manitoba

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Manitoba

The minimum amount is not less than C$200,000, exclusive of interest and costs, in respect to liability arising from bodily injury or death to 1 or more persons, or loss of or damage to property in 1 accident.

Has security-type law applicable in event of property damage in excess of C$1,000 or personal injury or death. Minimum financial responsibility limits: C$200,000 inclusive.

Insurance: Vehicle insurance is compulsory through Manitoba Public Insurance, and must be purchased when vehicle is registered and upon annual renewal of registration. An insurance premium is also charged with the driver’s license fee, and highway.


Manitoba

A peace officer may require the operator of any vehicle to submit to a vehicle weighing by driving to a weigh station or by using a portable scale.


Manitoba

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.


Manitoba

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

Open containers are not permitted in Manitoba. The legal drinking age is 18.

It is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle when a person’s ability is impaired by alcohol or drug or a person has an alcohol blood concentration that exceeds 80 mg of alcohol in 100 ml of blood (.08 level).

Motorists in Manitoba are advised to call 511 or go to mb511.ca for road condition information. The toll-free hotline offers updated information on provincial highway conditions, road and bridge closures, weather conditions, and information for truckers and tourists.


New Brunswick

Crashes are required to be immediately reported in cases of death, injury, or property damage exceeding C$1,000.


New Brunswick

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


New Brunswick

New Brunswick has future-proof law applicable to accidents resulting in death, bodily injury, or property damage of C$1,000 or more. Minimum financial responsibility limits: C$200,000 (exclusive of interests and costs) for private passenger vehicles. Proof is required at all times. Fine for noncompliance is C$287.50.

Province does not have non-resident service of process law; it has no guest suit law.


New Brunswick

When directed by a traffic control device or sign on the highway, or when ordered by a peace officer, the operator of the specified vehicle must drive the vehicle to the location of the massing station or scales and submit the vehicle to a weighing.


New Brunswick

All riders must wear bicycle helmets.


New Brunswick

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

New Brunswick has implied consent law. Presumptive BAC level is .08. It is not permissible for a driver with a learner’s permit while operating a vehicle to have consumed alcohol in the quantity that exceeds the concentration of more than 0 milligrams of alcohol in 100 milliliters of blood. The legal drinking age is 19.


Newfoundland and Labrador

All riders must wear bicycle helmets.


Newfoundland and Labrador

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Every motorist must have insurance in the amount of C$200,000 for a single accident.

Has security-type law applicable in event of accident resulting in death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding C$1,000. Minimum financial responsibility limits: C$200,000.

Unsatisfied judgment fund law: “Judgment Recovery Nfld” operates a fund for pay¬ment of uncollectible judgments exceeding C$200 (property damage only).


Newfoundland and Labrador

An inspector can stop a vehicle by placing a sign on the roadway ordering all vehicles or all vehicles of a certain class to stop for weighing, by signaling the driver to stop the vehicle, or by ordering the driver to drive the vehicle to the nearest weigh station. This weigh station must be within 16 kilometers of where the vehicle was stopped. The driver must perform all other acts that the inspector requires or considers necessary for weighing the vehicle and its load.

Where the maximum gross mass or the axle mass of the vehicle exceeds that permitted by the regulations or by a sign applicable to that portion of the highway on which the vehicle was stopped, the inspector may order the driver of the vehicle to remove as much of the load as is necessary to bring the maximum gross mass or the axle mass of the vehicle within the mass permitted on that portion of the highway.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds C$2,000, or in crashes involving a cyclist in cases of death, injury, or death or property damage exceeding $250.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Northwest Territories

Crashes resulting in injury, death, or damages to all property involved being more than C$2,000 are required to be immediately reported.


Northwest Territories

N/A.


Northwest Territories

No person may operate or park a motor vehicle on a highway unless there is a motor vehicle liability policy in force that meets minimum requirements in terms of liability coverage.

Minimum third part liability coverage is $200,000.

The owner of a vehicle is liable for damages for injury, loss or damage to persons or property caused by the negligence or improper conduct of the driver of the vehicle in the operation of the vehicle on a highway and the driver is liable to the same extent as the owner.  This does not apply if the vehicles is being operated without the consent of the owner.


Northwest Territories

There are two weigh stations in the Northwest Territories: one in Enterprise and one six miles south of Inuvik. There are also two self-weigh stations located in Fort Smith and Hay River. Highway Transport Officers are equipped with portable scale units.


Northwest Territories

No territory-wide bicycle helmet law requirement.


Northwest Territories

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

The legal drinking age in the Northwest Territories is 19. Open containers are not permitted.

Illegal per se BAC level is .08.  Drivers charged with an alcohol-related offence will face an automatic 90-day suspension or disqualification of their driving privileges. If the individual holds a valid Northwest Territories’ Drivers License, a 7-day temporary permit is granted before the suspension begins. Temporary driving privileges are intended to allow time for drivers to get their affairs in order.

An administrative license suspension of 30 days may also apply for the “warn” BAC level of .05.

In addition, an officer can also take the driver’s license and suspend a person for 24 hours if the officer believes on reasonable grounds that the person operating, or in care or control of a vehicle is impaired by alcohol, drugs or fatigue.


Nova Scotia

Every operator of a motor vehicle must have insurance coverage in the amount of C$500,000 dollars in respect to 1 accident.

Province has non-resident service of process law; does not have guest suit law.


Nova Scotia

All vehicles over 4,500 kg (9,920 pounds) registered weight must stop, or when directed to by a sign.


Nova Scotia

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders. No parent or guardian shall allow a person under 16 to ride a bicycle without a helmet.


Nova Scotia

Crashes resulting in death, injury, or property damage in excess of C$2,000 must be reported within 1 day.


Nova Scotia

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Nova Scotia

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

The illegal per se BAC in Nova Scotia is .08. A newly licensed driver may operate a vehicle only if he or she has a zero blood alcohol level. The legal drinking age is 19. A BAC between .05 and .08 is also subject to potential penalty: a 7 day suspension for a first offense, a 15 day suspension for a second offense, and a 30 day suspension for a third offense.


Nunavut

No person shall park a motor vehicle on a highway, other than a privately owned area that is designed and primarily used for the parking of vehicles, or operate a motor vehicle on a highway unless, with respect to a motor vehicle for which there is a certificate of registration or an in transit permit or that is not registered under the laws of any jurisdiction, there is a motor vehicle liability policy that is in force and that evidences a contract that insures at least to the limits required with respect to a motor vehicle registered under the laws of a jurisdiction other than the Territories, the owner of the motor vehicle meets the prescribed standards of financial responsibility with respect to the operation of the motor vehicle in the Territories.


Nunavut

Local municipal councils may provide for the establishment and operation of weigh scales and the weighing of vehicles operated on a highway.


Nunavut

No province-wide bicycle helmet law requirement.


Nunavut

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas.


Nunavut

Crashes must be reported immediately.


Nunavut

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Ontario

U.S. citizens returning to the U.S. from Canada by land or sea are required to present proper travel documents according to the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI). Ontario now issues enhanced driver’s licenses that are in compliance with WHTI. Proof of citizenship is required for travel to Canada by land or sea. A U.S. passport is required for travel by air to Canada and to the U.S. Permanent U.S. residents who are not citizens should carry their Alien Registration Receipt Card.

All children must have their own travel documents. In lieu of a U.S. passport or passport card, U.S. children under 16 traveling to and from Canada by land or sea may also present an original or copy of his or her birth certificate, a consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Naturalization Certificate. If the parents are separated or divorced, the parent crossing the border should have proof of custody or a letter from the other parent. Persons under 18 years of age who are not accompanied by a parent should bring a letter from their parent or guardian giving them permission to cross the border.

A visitor is permitted to bring a reasonable amount of personal effects, a reasonable supply of food, and a full tank of gas. “Reasonable” means enough for personal use during the length of stay in Canada. Any unreasonable amounts are subject to duty.

A visitor must have a rabies vaccination certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian to bring dogs or cats into Canada.

Containers of liquor are prohibited in a motor vehicle, whether it is in motion or not, except under the authority of a license or permit unless the container is unopened and the seal unbroken or the liquor is packed in baggage that is fastened closed or is not otherwise readily available to any person in the vehicle.

A person may not operate a motor vehicle or have the care or control of a motor vehicle, whether it is in motion or not, while the person’s ability to operate the vehicle is impaired by alcohol or a drug or if the person’s BAC exceeds .08%.

BAC level for drivers under 22 is .00.  Any driver with a BAC of .05 or higher will be subject to automatic license suspension.

The legal drinking age is 19.

The speed limit is 80 km/h on controlled-access highways and highways outside of a city, town, village, police village, or developed area.

The speed limit is 50 km/h on highways within a city, town, village, police village, or developed area.

The speed limit is 40 km/h in designated school zones.

No motor vehicle may be driven on a highway at such a slow rate of speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic thereon except when the slow rate of speed is necessary for safe operation under the circumstances.

If a person drives a motor vehicle at 50 km/h or more over the speed limit he or she will be subject to a fine of not less than C$2,000 and not more than C$10,000 or to imprisonment for a term of not more than 6 months, or to both, and in addition the driver’s license may be suspended on a first conviction for not more than 2 years and for a second conviction for not more than 10 years.

In addition to the above penalties, the police shall request the surrender of the driver’s license and shall impound the motor vehicle of anyone the police officer believes was driving at 50 km/h or more over the speed limit. The driver’s license will immediately be suspended for 7 days and the vehicle impounded for 7 days.


Ontario

Crashes resulting in injury or property damage in excess of C$1,000 are required to be immediately reported.


Ontario

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Ontario

Every motor vehicle liability policy must provide coverage of at least C$200,000 against liability resulting from bodily injury to or the death of 1 or more persons and loss of or damage to property. Claims against the insured arising out of bodily injury or death have priority to the extent of C$190,000 over claims arising out of loss of or damage to property. Claims arising out of loss of or damage to property have priority to the extent of C$10,000 over claims arising out of bodily injury or death.


Ontario

All commercial vehicles must stop.


Ontario

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.


Prince Edward Island

Crashes resulting in injury, a disabled vehicle, or property damage greater than C$2,000 must be reported.

The deadline to report is 24 hours.


Prince Edward Island

Contact your local AAA club about AAA Guaranteed Arrest Bond validity in Canada.


Prince Edward Island

All motor vehicle operators must have at least C$200,000, exclusive of interest and cost against liability resulting from bodily injury to, or the death of, or damage to property for 1 accident.

Compulsory 3rd party insurance for limits of C$200,000.

Judgment recover (PEI) Ltd. available for judgments up to C$200,000 for bodily injury or death of any person or for property damage. Such payment not required to non-residents unless they reside in a jurisdiction where recourse of substantial similar type is afforded to residents of Prince Edward Island. Proof of insurance is required. Penalty, for noncompliance: minimum C$600; maximum C$2,000.


Prince Edward Island

Agricultural vehicles and trucks over 3,000 kg GVW must stop.