Driver’s License Issuance/Application

Alabama

Driver’s license is required before driving motor vehicle in state.

New residents must obtain driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residence.

Foreign nationals seeking driver licenses and other issued state identification must come to a district driver license office for service, with all immigration documents.

License shall contain licensee’s assigned number, class of license, color photograph, name, birth date, address, personal description, and signature.

At issuance, oath administered and color photograph taken by the driver license examiner at designated driver license office.

License shall not be issued to habitual drug or alcohol user.

A person 16 years of age or older, having met all state requirements, is eligible to obtain a driver’s license pursuant to conditions of the graduated driver license law.

All licenses are good for 4 years, except for CDL learner’s permit, which is good for 1 year.


Alaska

Drug or alcohol motor vehicle offenses can cause postponement of new driver’s license eligibility.

License is valid for 5 years, and expires on the birthday of the licensee.

Non-residents have 90 days before they are required to apply for an Alaskan license.

A photo is required on driver’s licenses, except in special circumstances.

Individuals on active duty military orders stationed in Alaska that choose to remain a resident of another state are not required to obtain a license in Alaska. This applies only to active duty personnel and not to dependents. Military dependents are required to surrender their out-of-state license and obtain a license in Alaska.

Licenses do not normally include social security numbers.


Arizona

Persons with conventionally corrected vision must wear corrective lenses at all times while driving.

Application for license and driver’s license must contain a photo image of the applicant.

License exemptions exist for military personnel and non-residents duly licensed in other states or foreign countries.

The MVD may not accept another state license as a primary source of identification.


Arkansas

A learner’s permit is required for 30 days prior to a first license application, unless under age 18. For drivers under 18, the learner’s permit is required for 6 months.

  • Drivers under age 18 are also required to show receipt of a high school diploma, or, if the driver is still a student, he must have at least a “C” average and regular attendance.
  • New drivers can have eligibility postponed due to alcohol/drug offenses.

New residents must obtain license within 30 days of becoming a resident.

License issued with an assigned 9-digit number. Social security number does not appear on the license.

Requires proof of citizenship, social security account number or verification of a person’s legal status to receive a driver’s license.

The license must be carried whenever operating a vehicle.

License includes color photograph.


California

Application for license must be made not more than 10 days after establishing residence.

Application must contain a legible print of the applicant’s thumb or finger and applicant’s social security number. Social security number does not appear on license.

DMV must require all applicants to provide proof of legal presence in the U.S., including presence in the U.S. when authorized under federal law pursuant to the federal Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals Program.

Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the DMV must check the applicant’s record for traffic violations, accidents, failure to appear in court, or reports indicating incapacity to drive.

All licenses must bear an engraved picture or photograph of the licensee.

License is issued with a magnetic strip containing driver information.

A non-commercial Class B license or endorsement must be obtained in order to operate a motor home of over 40 feet in length. Persons licensed to drive motor homes must submit medical information verifying minimal health requirements upon initial license application and every 2 years thereafter.

License applicants that do not take driver education must wait until age 18 for license.

They are not required to go through the intermediate license stage.


Colorado

Driver’s license is required before driving a motor vehicle in the state.

Driver shall have his or her license in immediate possession when operating a motor vehicle.

Non-residents are exempt from license requirement if they have in their possession a valid driver’s license from their state of residence.

Licenses shall include the licensee’s photograph, distinguishing number (may be social security number), full name, date of birth, residence, brief description, type or class of vehicles that licensee may drive, any restrictions, expiration date, official seal, and licensee’s signature.

No person under the age of 18 shall operate a motor vehicle used to transport explosives or inflammable material or any motor vehicle used as a school bus for the transportation of pupils to or from school. No person under the age of 18 shall drive a motor vehicle used as a commercial, private, or common carrier of personal property unless such person is certified to drive such vehicle.

Applicants that submit, as proof of age or identity, a driver’s license or identification card issued by a state that issues licenses and identification cards to people not lawfully in the United States must submit additional proof of age and identity.


Connecticut

No motor vehicle operator’s license shall be issued until the applicant signs and files the application under oath, has proven that he or she is at least 16 years old and has proven that he or she has sufficient knowledge of the mechanism of the motor vehicle to ensure safe operation and satisfactory knowledge of the rules of the road.

Applicants 18 years of age and older who have never been licensed must apply for an adult learner’s permit that must be held at least 90 days before taking an on-the-road skills test. The permit is required for practice driving and is valid for 2 years.

An operator’s license shall contain a picture of the licensee.

License does not usually include a social security number.

For operators under the age of 21, a license shall contain the date of the licensee’s 21st birthday.

Military personnel and dependents assigned to Connecticut do not have to obtain a Connecticut license.

Non-citizens are required to provide proof of legal status in the United States.


District of Columbia

Each application shall include the applicant’s full name, date of birth, sex, social security number, address, and brief physical description of the applicant.

Applicants for a learner’s permit or driver’s license must display a birth certificate and social security card or other documentary evidence of the date of birth and social security number of the applicant, but an applicant for a renewal license or an applicant with a valid out-of-state license need only show a social security card.

Applicants under the age of 18 must have consent from a parent or guardian.

Each license shall include the licensee’s full name, address, social security number, date of birth, physical description, expiration date, a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, and a signature of the licensee.

Each license will also contain an imprinted photograph of the licensee, with a profile of the licensee if under 21 years of age, and a frontal photograph if the licensee is 21 years of age.


Florida

Each application for a Driver’s license shall be made in a format designated by the FLHSMV and sworn to or affirmed by the applicant as to the truth of the statements made in the application.

Each application shall include the following information regarding the applicant: full name, digital photo (full face), gender, social security number, residence and mailing address, a brief description of the individual, proof of birth date, proof of identity, legal presence in the U.S., whether the applicant has previously been licensed to drive, and, if so when and by what state. Each application shall also include a consent to release driving record information.

Social security number not required on license.

The FLHSMV may not issue a driver’s license to a person who has never been issued a driver’s license in any jurisdiction until he or she successfully completes the traffic law and substance abuse class.

The expiration date of a non-citizen’s driver’s license is linked to the expiration date of that person’s visa.


Georgia

The applicant is required to state whether his or her driver’s license has ever been revoked or suspended in any jurisdictions and whether he or she has any previous convictions for violation of motor vehicle laws. All applicants will be screened through the National Driver Registry, and if they are found to be in suspension, revocation, or cancellation in their former licensing jurisdiction, then their Georgia driver’s license will be subsequently suspended, revoked, or cancelled and they could be punished for the commission of a misdemeanor.

Any person who is a resident of the state for 30 days shall obtain a Georgia driver’s license before operating a motor vehicle in the state.

An applicant for an initial Georgia driver’s license or change in license class must meet Secure ID requirements. A new color photograph is required on all new licenses.

Applicants and licensees have 60 days to notify the DDS of a change of name or address.

License exemptions exist for military personnel, their spouses, and children and for non-residents who have a valid license issued by their home state. Military personnel on active duty may drive on an expired license for up to 6 months after returning to the state.

Persons under 18 years of age who have dropped out of school or been suspended or expelled may be denied a license.

A person must be 18 years of age to receive a C, E, or F non-commercial license, or a Class A, B, or C commercial license.

Social security number on license is not allowed.


Hawaii

A license will not be issued to any person whose license has been suspended or revoked, or has within 2 years been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Learner’s permit may be issued to a person who is at least 15 years old; such permits are valid for 1 year and allow the holder to operate a vehicle, other than a motorcycle, only when a licensed driver at least 18 years old accompanies the permit holder in the vehicle.

A driver’s license may be issued to a person who is at least 16 years old, but less than 18 years old, but such persons must provide proof that they have completed an approved driver education program and a behind-the-wheel training course in this state or a prior state.

An application by any person under 18 years of age for a driver’s license or instruction permit must be signed by the applicant’s father and mother, the custodial parent or guardian(s), or any responsible individual who is willing to assume obligation for negligence or misconduct of the minor applicant; whichever individual(s) signs for the applicant will be held jointly and severally liable for any negligence or misconduct by the minor applicant when driving a motor vehicle.

All applicants must produce a valid motor vehicle or liability insurance identification card; the examiner of drivers will not issue a license without such liability card.

An application for a driver’s license or temporary permit must include such information as necessary to allow the examiner of drivers to register the applicant with the United States Selective Service System; failure to include such information will cause the examiner of drivers to refuse to issue a license or permit.

A license must include a color photograph. License does not include social security number.

Anyone applying for an original or renewal of their Hawaii driver’s license or permit must show proof of legal presence in the U.S.

Allows a person who does not have a social security number to receive a driver’s license if they have a Social Security Administration letter stating that the applicant is ineligible to obtain a social security number; and either show a government issued photo identification document or other identification documents deemed as acceptable by the DMV Director.

If the holder of a license changes residence or his or her name, the licensee must notify the examiner of drivers, in writing, of the person’s old and new addresses, or former and new name, within 30 days of the change; failure to comply with these rules carries a fine of not more than $25.


Idaho

A driver’s license is required prior to driving in the state.  Idaho has reciprocity with other states for driver’s licenses and permits, provided that all conditions of the licenses or permits are followed.

Licenses shall not be issued to persons under 18 years of age not enrolled in school, in vocational school, or in a job training program or not having satisfactorily completed school.

Driver’s licenses will contain a distinguishing number (not social security number), full name, date of birth, Idaho residence address, sex, weight, height, eye color, hair color, color photograph, dates of issuance and expiration, license class, endorsements, restrictions, and the applicant’s signature.

New residents who will be operating motor vehicles must obtain an Idaho license after establishing residency even if they hold a valid unexpired driver’s license from another state. This can occur before 90 days but residency is considered established after living 90 continuous days in Idaho (30 days for Commercial Driver’s licenses). Foreign visitors on a limited-time visa (90 days or less) are not considered Idaho residents and are not eligible for licensure in Idaho.


Indiana

The application of an individual younger than 18 years must be signed and affirmed by a parent having custody of the minor applicant, or by a guardian having custody of the minor applicant. If neither parent lives in Indiana and there is no guardian, then any adult willing to assume this responsibility can do so.

A chauffeur’s license may be issued to an individual who is 18 years of age, if that individual has operated a motor vehicle for more than 1 year, makes proper application on the Bureau’s form, passes the examination and tests required for issuance of a chauffeur’s license, and pays the fees prescribed by the Bureau.

A commercial driver’s license for transportation of individuals may be issued if an individual is at least 21 years of age and has at least 1 year of driving experience as a licensed driver.

A public passenger chauffeur’s license can be issued at 21 years of age. A taxicab license can be issued for driving a taxicab. Additionally, the applicant must have at least 1 year of driving experience as a licensed driver.

License includes a color photograph, a signature, and a state assigned number. Social security number may be added upon request.


Kansas

Every applicant shall indicate for which category of license he or she is applying.

Each applicant must provide the following: name, proof of age, sex, address, a brief physical description, whether the applicant has been licensed before, and whether the applicant has ever had a license suspended or revoked.

Commercial applicants must also provide a social security number, color photograph, and consent to release driving record information.  A waiver of the skills test for a commercial driver’s license will be allowed if the applicant can provide evidence of certain recent military commercial vehicle driving experience and meets additional qualifications.

Applicants for driver’s licenses to submit their social security or taxpayer identification number. If an applicant does not have either document, the person must submit a sworn statement stating they do not have either one.

Licensees shall submit to an examination for a license whenever the DMV has good cause to believe that such person is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to be licensed, or if the person has had a license suspended.

Upon payment of the required fee, the DMV shall issue to every qualified applicant a driver’s license that contains the class or classes of motor vehicles that the licensee is entitled to drive, a distinguishing number that may be a social security number, the name, date of birth, address, brief physical description, color photograph, and signature of the licensee.

Licenses of persons under age 18, between the ages of 18 through 21, and 21 and over shall be distinguishable from each other.

Licenses are to be carried and exhibited on demand.

Social security number on license is not allowed.

No person shall operate a vehicle without a valid Driver’s license.


Kentucky

All licenses are issued by the Transportation Cabinet.

Only persons with legal CIS status are issued Kentucky licenses or I.D.’s.

Application for original or renewal licenses are made at the office of the circuit clerk in the county wherein the applicant resides.

The application must contain the person’s full name, signature, date of birth, social security number, sex, address, voter application information, and a brief physical description. All licenses bear a color photograph of the applicant.

An application for a driver’s license, motorcycle license, or instruction permit by a person under the age of 18 must be accompanied by the signature of the applicant’s parent or legal guardian.

Non-residents that are at least 16 years old and are licensed in another state may operate a vehicle in Kentucky without obtaining a Kentucky learner’s permit or operator’s license as long as his or her home state accords similar privileges to licensed residents of Kentucky. If the non-resident’s home state does not afford such privileges to licensed residents of Kentucky, the non-resident may operate a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or moped for not more than 30 days in any 1 year without obtaining a Kentucky license.

Whenever a licensee’s address or name is changed from that which appears on a license, the licensee must apply for a corrected license within 10 days of the change.

License normally includes a color photograph.

Social security number not displayed on license.

Non-citizens who are non-residents of Kentucky may drive for 1 year on the license issued by their home country.

Licenses of non-citizens are linked to the expiration dates of the person’s visa.


Louisiana

A first-time applicant of at least 18 years of age must show completion of a full 36-hour driver’s education course or an approved 8-hour prelicensing training course.  An applicant age 18 or older, or the parents of a 17 year old, must submit a signed statement that the applicant has completed at least 50 hours of practice driving (including 15 hours at night) with a licensed driver age 21 or older.

New applicants transferring into Louisiana with an out-of-state, foreign, or military license do not have to take a driver’s education course or an approved 6-hour prelicensing training course.

All applicants transferring to Louisiana whose out-of-state license has been expired for 6 months or longer must successfully complete the knowledge test. After 2 year’s expiration, the driving test must also be successfully completed.

Every person 60 years of age or older who is applying for a license must attach to his or her application a detailed medical report from a physician or optometrist discussing the applicant’s physical condition and any problems that might impair the applicant’s ability to drive. This rule does not apply to people over 60 who apply for a renewal license.

Every physically or mentally handicapped person applying for a license for the 1st time must include a detailed medical report from a physician indicating the severity of the disability and any problems that might impair the applicant’s ability to drive. If the impairment is visual, a report from an optometrist can be attached to application instead of a physician’s report.

License includes a color photo and optional printing of social security number.

Non-citizens must provide proof of legal presence in the U.S.

  • The expiration date of a non-citizen’s driver’s license is linked to the expiration date of that person’s visa.
  • Licenses of non-citizens contain a restriction code which declares that the license holder is a legal alien.


Maine

A Driver’s license is required before driving a motor vehicle in this state.

A person must apply for a driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident of Maine.

Applicant must pass a written exam and a physical examination by actual demonstration of ability to operate a motor vehicle.

Social security numbers are required to be collected to apply for or renew a driver’s license or nondriver identification card. Social security numbers will be used solely for identification purposes and will be kept confidential.

Person must provide acceptable documentary evidence of residence or domicile in state, exemption may include person on active duty in US armed forces, spouse or child of such, student enrolled in a university college or school.

A driver’s license is required to have the applicant’s name, date of birth, place of resident or mailing address, signature, and permanent assigned license number.

Full-face color photographs or digital images are required on all licenses except for a temporary license or a person who renews a license on or after the 65th birthday.

A person under 21 years has a distinctive color-coded license.


Maryland

Driver’s License Issuance/ApplicationEach application for a driver’s license shall state the full name, address, race, sex, height, weight, general physical condition, and date of birth of the applicant; whether the applicant previously has been refused a license to drive; whether the applicant has previously been licensed to drive, and if so, whether the applicant has ever had a license suspended or revoked; a signature; and proof of age and identity, to include a verifiable social security number. Maryland also requires proof of legal presence.

Applications of a minor for a license shall be cosigned by a parent, guardian, or if the minor does not have a parent or guardian or is married, by an adult employer of the applicant or any other responsible adult.

The MVA shall suspend a license of a minor until he reaches 18 years of age, upon either a request by or the death of the signing adult.

A new resident holding a valid out-of-state driver’s license or a license expired for less than one year must obtain a Maryland license within 60 days. The applicant must submit an original age and identity document with a verifiable social security number, and pass a vision test.

A non-commercial Class A, B, C, or M license shall include the name and address of the licensee; date of birth; a description of the licensee, including height, weight, and sex; a color photograph; type or class of vehicles the licensee is authorized to drive; and the signatures of the issuing agent and the licensee.

The MVA may not include or encode an individual’s social security number on the license. License includes color photograph.

Licenses are to be carried at all times while operating a motor vehicle, and shall be displayed to any uniformed police officer upon demand.


Massachusetts

Application for license or permit requires the following: Social Security Number (or a valid passport), date of birth, full name, sex, height, mailing address, and residential address.

Applicant must also present 3 identifying documents.

License normally includes photograph.

License number is usually an assigned number unless social security number is requested.

Non-citizens who are non-residents of Massachusetts may drive for 1 year on the license issued by their home country.


Michigan

The application must include the applicant’s full name, date of birth, residence address, height, sex, eye color, signature, photo, and, to the extent required to comply with federal law, the applicant’s Social Security Number.

A license may not be issued to a person under 18 years of age unless that person successfully passes a driver education course and examination given by a public school, nonpublic school, or an equivalent course approved by the Department of State given by a licensed driver training school.

A license may not be issued to anyone over 18 years of age who has not held a temporary instruction permit for at least 30 days.

A student while enrolled in an approved driver education program and who has successfully completed 10 hours of classroom instruction and the equivalent of 2 hours of behind-the-wheel training may be issued a temporary driver education certificate furnished by the Department of State that authorizes a student to drive a motor vehicle when accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian. If the person is over the age of 18, any licensed adult driver may accompany them.

The Secretary of State may issue an original operator’s license and designate level 1, 2, or 3 graduated licensing provisions to a person who is less than 18 years of age and has been licensed in another state or country.

The licensee shall have his or her operator’s or chauffeur’s license, in his or her immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle.

License includes color photograph. Does not include Social Security Number.

License must include medical information, including blood type, immunization data, hearing ability, medication data, and donor status.

License may also include a digitized code for voter information.


Minnesota

Every application for an instruction permit, for a provisional license, or for a driver’s license must be made on a form prescribed by the Department, and every application must be accompanied by the appropriate fee.

First-time Minnesota applicants must present a primary and a secondary form of identification to verify both identity and residency status.

Visitors who are in the U.S. as temporary residents will have the words “Status Check” and a visa expiration date on their state-issued cards. Proof of extended authorization to remain in the country will be required when the authorization date indicated on a card expires. Immigrants granted permanent or indefinite residency will not have a status check designation appear on their state-issued cards.

Social Security Numbers are not displayed on licenses.

License includes a color photograph. All applicants must have a full-face photograph taken, with the face unobscured, as part of the identification process. This does not require the complete removal of headwear. However, individuals are required to pull headwear back far enough so as not to obscure the face.

Out-of-state driver’s licenses are viewed as secondary identification documents.

An applicant who is over 18 years of age who received an instruction permit, and has not been previously licensed to drive in Minnesota or any other jurisdiction, must possess the instruction permit for at least 3 months.

Any valid driver’s license issued to a person on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces, or the person’s spouse, is effective without requirement for renewal until 90 days after the date of the person’s discharge from the service.


Mississippi

A person must have a driver’s license to operate a vehicle in Mississippi.

To lawfully operate a motorcycle, a person must have a restricted motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement.

A person under 18 years of age applying for a driver’s license must submit the appropriate form with the application, indicating that the person is attending school or not attending school under acceptable circumstances.

An application for a driver’s license is made to the Department of Public Safety and shall include the name, date of birth, sex, race, color of eyes, color of hair, weight, height, residence address, and information regarding whether or not the applicant’s driving privileges have ever been suspended or revoked, whether any previous application has been denied, and whether the applicant has any physical defects that would interfere with the safe operation of a vehicle.

A social security number must be provided to the Commissioner of Public Safety; however, a licensee may choose to use or not use his or her social security number as his or her driver’s license number.

Each license must contain a full-face color photograph in such form that the license and the photograph cannot be separated.

A driver’s license must contain signatures of the Commissioner, assistant commissioner, or authorized deputy and an ink signature of the applicant.

No person shall be issued a commercial driver’s license unless that person is a resident of Mississippi, is 21 years of age or older, has passed a knowledge and skills test, and has satisfied any additional state or federal requirements.

A person 17 years of age or older who meets all requirements for a commercial driver’s license may be issued an endorsement that authorizes the licensee to operate a commercial vehicle only within the geographic boundaries of Mississippi.

The licenses of documented aliens that do not possess social security numbers are valid for only 1 year.


Missouri

A first-time applicant applying for a Missouri driver’s license must bring 2 documents for proof of identity. These documents may be 2 primary forms of identification or 1 primary and 1 secondary form of identification. An applicant must also provide proof of a Social Security Number.

Primary documents acceptable as proof of identity are as follows: (1) U.S. or Canadian photo driver’s license; (2) U.S. or Canadian photo identification card; (3) certified microfilm copy or image portfolio of a driver’s license or identification card; (4) U.S. or Canadian birth certificate; (5) current approved INS document; (6) Canadian Immigration Record and Visa; (6) military identification; (7) U.S. or Canadian passport (foreign passports must be accompanied by appropriate INS documentation); (8) U.S. or Canadian learner’s permit containing a photo; or (9) Canadian Dept. of Indian Affairs identification card.

Secondary documents acceptable as proof of identity include the following: (1) court order containing full name, date of birth, and court seal; (2) approved INS documents that are expired 1 year or less; (3) U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs Card/Indian Treaty Card; (4) employer photo identification card; (5) non-English language birth certificate; (6) health insurance card; (7) IRS/state tax form; (8) marriage certificate/license; (9) medical records; (10) military discharge/separation papers; (11) parent/guardian affidavit; (12) gun permit; (13) pilot’s license; (14) certified school record/transcript; (15) social security card; (16) student photo identification; (17) vehicle title; (18) photo public assistance card; or (19) prison release documents.

The following persons are exempt from holding a driver’s license: (1) any person operating any farm tractor or implement of husbandry temporarily operated or moved on a highway; (2) a non-resident who is at least 16 years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid license issued to him in his home state or country; (3) a non-resident who is at least 18 years of age and who has in his immediate possession a valid license issued to him in his home state or country which allows such person to operate a motor vehicle in the transportation of persons or property; and (4) convicted offenders of the Department of Corrections who have not been convicted of a motor vehicle felony and are operating state-owned vehicles for the benefit of the correctional facilities while accompanied by a correctional officer or other staff person in the vehicle.

License normally includes a color photograph (unless prohibited by religious beliefs). License also includes a Social Security Number as the license number unless the driver objects.


Montana

Each application must include the full legal name, date of birth, sex, residence address, and social security number of the applicant. The application must include a statement as to when and where the applicant has been previously licensed; whether the applicant has ever had a driver’s license suspended or revoked; and whether the applicant has any physical or mental disability that may impair the applicant’s ability to maintain ordinary and reasonable control over a vehicle.

The application of a person who is under 18 years of age must be signed by a parent or by some other responsible person who is willing to assume liability. Any negligence or willful misconduct of a driver under 18 years of age must be imputed to the person who has signed the minor’s application. The adult signing the application may later request that the minor’s license be cancelled and be relieved from any subsequent liability for the actions of the minor while operating a motor vehicle.

The MVD will conduct a check of the applicant’s driving record through the national driver register.

A person has 10 days to notify the MVD of change of name or change of address.

Exempt from license: any person who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, while operating a motor vehicle owned or leased to the United States government and being operated on official business.

License includes a color photograph and may include a Social Security Number.

A license issued to a person under the age of 18 is marked as a “provisional license.” Any provisional license may be suspended for not more than 12 months if the licensee has been found guilty of careless or negligent driving.


Nebraska

An application for a Driver’s license or permit must be made to Driver Licensing Staff at any Driver Licensing Office. The application must include the applicant’s name, residential address, mailing address, physical description, birth information, social security number, and medical history information.

An application for a driver’s license or permit must be accompanied by proof of age and identity, and two forms of proof of address. If the applicant is under the age of 18, this must be his or her birth certificate. Only original documents will be accepted by the DMV as proof of age and identity and address.

A driver’s license shall at all times be carried by the licensee when operating a motor vehicle.

Any valid driver’s license issued to a member of the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty, or the person’s spouse, is effective without the requirement for renewal until 60 days after the date of the person’s discharge from the service.

License does not include social security number.

License includes color photograph.

A 30 day temporary license is issued to the applicant upon successful completion of tests and payment of fees. The permanent license is sent to the applicant via U.S. mail within 20 days.


Nevada

Every application for a driver’s license must contain the following: the required fee; the full name, date of birth, address, and brief physical description of the applicant; and an indication of whether the applicant has ever been licensed to drive before, and if so, by what state and whether the license has ever been suspended or revoked. In addition, the applicant must furnish proof of age by showing a birth certificate, and also provide proof of his or her social security number.

Upon passage of the examination and payment of the required fees, the DMV shall issue a license that indicates the type or class of vehicles the licensee may drive, a unique number assigned to the licensee, a color photograph, full name, date of birth, mailing address, brief physical description, and the licensee’s signature.

The application of any person under the age of 18 must be signed and verified by a parent or guardian, but if the applicant has neither, by his or her employer or any responsible person willing to assume liability.

A person shall not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway unless he or she has a valid license.

The state may refuse to accept a driver’s license issued by another state or the District of Columbia if it is determined that the other state or the District of Columbia has less stringent licensing standards.


New Hampshire

Applicants for a driver’s license must provide the following on a form provided by the DMV: (1) legal name; (2) residence address; (3) mailing address; (4) social security number, unless a waiver is requested and granted; (5) date of birth; (6) sex, height, weight, color of eyes, color of hair; (7) class(es) of driver’s license(s) desired; (8) where last driver’s license, if any, was held; and (9) proof of completion of an approved driver education course as a prerequisite of a non-resident. Licenses may be available for applicants without a permanent street address in certain circumstances.

The following certified statements are also required: the applicant has paid all resident taxes for which he is liable; the applicant, if required, has filed with the DMV an insurance certificate; the applicant has no physical or mental handicap that would be detrimental or incapacitate the applicant from holding a license; the applicant does not hold a license in any other jurisdiction; and the applicant’s driving privileges are not subject to or under disqualification, suspension, or revocation by any jurisdiction. The signature of the applicant is also required.

No person shall drive any motor vehicle unless such person has a valid driver’s license.

Every person driving a motor vehicle shall have their driver’s license on their person or in the vehicle in some easily accessible place.

License normally includes a digital image. License does not include social security number.


New Jersey

Applications for a Driver’s license must be made to the MVC designated agent in the county of residence.

Applications for a driver’s license require passage of an eye examination and written and road tests.

A person must apply within 60 days of establishing residence, or before your current license expires, to transfer a non-commercial license from another state. Drivers under age 18 cannot transfer a license but must complete New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) program requirements.

A person must apply within 30 days of establishing residence to transfer a commercial driver’s license from another state.

Expiration date of non-citizen’s driver’s license and identification cards is linked to the expiration date of the person’s visa.

License does not include social security number.

All applicants for driver licenses must present proof of age, identity, and address using primary and secondary documents outlined under the “Six Point ID Verification System.” For more information, contact the MVC.


New Mexico

Applications are to be made on forms furnished by and submitted to the MVD.

Applications must include disclosure of any past DUI/DWI convictions.

A notice of change of address or name changes should be made to the MVD within 10 days.

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to be issued a license except under certain conditions.

License normally includes a color photograph.

License application must include social security number or an individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN).

License applicants younger than 18 must complete driver education.

Social security number on license is optional.


New York

The application for a driver’s license shall be made to the DMV on a form prescribed by the DMV.

An applicant for license is required to provide his name, birth date, sex, height, eye color, social security number, phone number, residential address, mailing address, any name change, and if under the age of 18, parental consent or with certificate of driver’s education completion.

Applicants are required to present proof of identity, age, and fitness. Proof of fitness is defined as: (a) the applicant has not lost consciousness within the previous 12 months, (b) applicant has experienced loss of consciousness within the previous 12 months and an applicant submits a statement from a physician confirming that and stating that the condition was due to a change in medication or that the condition will not interfere with such person’s safe operation of a vehicle on the highway.

An applicant for any class of driver’s license, except a learner’s permit, is required to submit to a photo imaging process as part of the licensing procedure. Such applicant must not wear dark eyeglasses, makeup or any apparel which when photographed would obscure the applicant’s face or make identification difficult. An applicant may apply for an exemption from submitting to a photograph if the applicant (a) presents a statement from a licensed physician that states why the applicant cannot visit the DMV to have a picture taken or (b) presents satisfactory evidence that the taking of a photograph is a violation of sincerely held religious beliefs forbidding the making of photo images.

A member of the U.S. Armed Forces who has been issued a license to operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle by the military may operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle on the highways for a period of 60 days before application for a New York license must be made.

License normally includes a photograph. License does not normally include a social security number or a social insurance number.


North Carolina

A new resident of North Carolina who has a valid driver’s license from another jurisdiction must obtain a North Carolina driver’s license within 60 days of becoming a resident.

To obtain a driver’s license, an applicant must complete an application, present at least 2 forms of identification, be a North Carolina resident, and demonstrate his physical and mental ability to drive a motor vehicle safely.

A driver’s license application must contain the applicant’s full name; mailing address and residence address; a physical description including sex, height, eye color, and hair color; date of birth; social security number; and the applicant’s signature.

The DMV may not issue a license to a person until that person has furnished proof of financial responsibility.

A driver’s license issued by the DMV must be tamperproof and must also contain a color photograph of the license holder and an identifying number for the license holder that is not the holder’s social security number.

A person whose address or name changes shall notify the DMV within 60 days after the change occurs.

An application for a commercial license must include the same information as a regular license, as well as consent to release the applicant’s driving record.

A first driver’s license may be issued for period shorter than 4 years if the DMV determines that a license of shorter duration should be issued because the applicant holds a visa of limited duration issued by the United States Department of State.

The expiration dates on non-citizen’s driver’s licenses and ID cards are linked to the expiration date of the person’s visa.


North Dakota

A person must be licensed to operate a motor vehicle in North Dakota.

Applications for a driver’s license must include the full name, date of birth, sex, social security number, residence, mailing address, and brief description of the applicant. Name and date of birth must be verified by a certified birth certificate or other satisfactory evidence.

The application of any minor for an instruction permit or driver’s license must be signed and verified before a person authorized to administer oaths or the director’s agent, and by the parent or guardian or responsible adult willing to assume obligation for the minor.

A driver’s license must contain a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, a color photograph of the licensee, the full name, date of birth, residence address, a brief description of the licensee, and either a facsimile of the licensee’s signature or a space upon which the licensee must sign. The director may not issue a license number that is, contains, can be converted to, or is an encrypted version of the applicant’s social security number.

A licensee has 10 days to notify the director of a name or address change. A corrected license must be obtained in the event of a name change.


Ohio

Every application for a driver’s license or motorcycle operator’s license or endorsement, or duplicate of any such license or endorsement, is made upon the approved form furnished by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles and must be signed by the applicant and filed with the office of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles or of a deputy registrar.

Notification of change of address is to be made to the registrar within 10 days following the change.

License includes 2 color photographs, a primary image, and a “ghost” image.

Social security number printed on license is optional.

Licenses issued to temporary residents of Ohio are non-renewable/non-transferable and expire on the date indicated on the appropriate document issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).


Rhode Island

All persons operating a motor vehicle must have a valid driver’s license.

Any resident is required to obtain a Rhode Island operator’s or chauffeur’s license within 30 days of establishing residency.

A person must be at least 16 years of age to apply for an operator’s license and 18 years of age to apply for a chauffeur’s license.


South Carolina

Every application for a driver’s license or permit must: (1) be made upon the form furnished by the Department; (2) be accompanied by the proper fee and any identification required by the Department; (3) contain the full name, date of birth, sex, race, and residence address of the applicant and briefly describe the applicant; (4) state whether the applicant has been licensed as an operator or chauffeur and, if so, when and by what state or country; and (5) state whether a license or permit has been suspended or revoked or whether an application has been refused and, if so, the date of and reason for the suspension, revocation, or reason for refusal.

School attendance is a requirement for the issuance of a conditional license. The Department may not issue a license to a person unless the person has a high school diploma or certificate, or a General Education Development Certificate, or is enrolled in a public or private school which has been approved by the State Board of Education or a member school of the South Carolina Independent School’s Association, a parochial, denominational, church-related school, or other programs which are accepted by the State Board of Education. Also to obtain a conditional license a person must do the following: (1) conform to the attendance laws, regulations, and policies of the school, school district, and the State Board of Education, as applicable; and (2) the person must not be suspended or expelled from school.

The Department may issue a special restricted driver’s license to a person who is between 16 years of age and 17 years of age, who has held a beginner’s permit for 180 days and who has successfully passed the road test or other requirements the Department may require. The special restricted driver’s license allows the license holder to operate a vehicle between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. (or 8 p.m. during daylight savings time). The holder of a special restricted driver’s license may not drive between midnight and 6 a.m., unless accompanied by the holder’s licensed parent or guardian. The restrictions on a special restricted license may be modified or waived by the Department if the restricted licensee proves to the Department’s satisfaction that the restriction interferes with the license holder’s employment, opportunity for employment, or ability to attend school.

License includes a color photograph. Social security number is not displayed on license.

The following persons do not have to obtain a beginner’s/learner’s permit to operate a motor vehicle: (1) students regularly enrolled in a South Carolina high school that conducts a driver’s training course while the student is participating in the course and when accompanied by a qualified instructor of the course; and (2) a person 15 years or older enrolled in a driver training course conducted by a licensed driver training school. This person must be accompanied by an instructor of the school and can only drive the school’s automobile.

The expiration dates on non-citizens’ driver’s licenses and I.D. cards are linked to the expiration date of the person’s visa.


Tennessee

Every application for any type of license or instruction permit must be accompanied by a birth certificate or other proof of the applicant’s date of birth, and the applicant’s name, sex, county of residence, address, height, weight, hair and eye color, and social security number.

A license bears an assigned number, as well as the licensee’s date of birth, address, full name, signature, and a brief description and a color photograph of the licensee.

Whenever a licensee moves, the licensee must notify the DOS within 10 days of a change of address.

Licenses must be in a person’s immediate possession when in operation of a motor vehicle and must be displayed upon demand of a police officer.

Prohibits the issuance of driver licenses to anyone who is not legally in the United States.


Texas

An application for an original license must state the applicant’s full name and place and date of birth. This information must be verified by presentation of proof of identity. The application must include the applicant’s thumbprint or index fingerprint and a brief description of the applicant. The applicant must state the applicant’s sex; the applicant’s residence address; whether the applicant has been licensed to drive a motor vehicle before; if previously licensed, when and by what state or country; whether that license has been suspended or revoked or a license application denied; the date and reason for the suspension, revocation, or denial; whether the applicant is a citizen of the United States; and the county of residence of the applicant.

A person who is at least 15 years old but less than 18 years old must be enrolled in school to obtain a learner’s permit.

A person must be at least 18 years old to apply for a commercial driver’s license.

Applicants under age 21 must submit proof of passing an approved driver education and traffic safety course.

If the applicant owns a motor vehicle, he or she must provide proof of insurance or financial responsibility.

The following persons are exempt from holding a Texas driver’s license while operating a vehicle in the state: a person in the military forces operating an official vehicle in the scope of that service; a person operating a non-commercial road machine or piece of farm equipment on a highway; a non-resident on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces who holds a license issued by the person’s state or Canadian province of residence; and a person who is the spouse or dependent child of a nonresident on active military duty who holds a license issued by the person’s state or province.

A person who enters Texas as a new resident may operate a motor vehicle in the state for no more than 90 days after the date on which the person enters the state if the person is at least 16 years of age and has in his possession a driver’s license issued to him by his state or country of previous residence.

A non-resident who is at least 18 years old and who has in his possession a license issued to him by his state or country of residence that is recognized by the DPS that is similar to a Class A or Class B driver’s license issued by the state of Texas is not required to hold a Class A or Class B driver’s license if that state or country of residence recognizes a Class A or Class B license issued by the state of Texas and exempts the holder from securing a license issued by the state or foreign country.

A non-resident who is at least 16 years old and who holds a driver’s license issued by the person’s state or Canadian province of residence may operate a type of motor vehicle that is permitted to be operated with a Class C or Class M driver’s license in Texas if the license held by the non-resident permits operation of that type of vehicle in the person’s state or province of residence.

All original applicants for driver’s licenses must present proof of identity satisfactory to the DPS including a valid or expired Texas driver’s license or identification with photo; a U.S. passport; a U.S. citizenship certificate with identifiable photo; an INS document with verified data and identifiable photo; a valid photo driver’s license or identification issued by another U.S. state, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province; or a U.S. military ID card with an identifiable photo.

A person must notify the DPS of a change of address or change of name within 30 days.

License normally includes a photograph.

License does not include a social security or social insurance number.


Utah

An application for any original license, provisional license, or endorsement shall be made at the DLD on a form furnished by the DLD.

All applicants applying for an original, duplicate, or renewal driver’s license, driving privilege card, or Utah identification card must furnish proof of identity, fingerprints, a photograph, proof of social security number or ITIN, proof of legal/lawful presence, evidence of name change, if applicable, and if address is different than the address on one’s current Utah record, two proofs of Utah residence address (not more than 60 days old).

License applicants age 18 and younger must have completed driver education but applicants age 19 and older do not have to complete driver education if they have held a learner permit for three months before applying and certify that they have completed at least 40 hours (with 10 at night) of practice driving.

The application for a license shall contain: the applicant’s full legal name, birth date, sex, social security number, and a brief description of the applicant; a statement of whether the applicant has previously been licensed to drive a motor vehicle and, if so, by what state or country; the applicant’s signature; and the mailing and residential address of the applicant.

The application form must be accompanied by proof of the applicant’s name and birth date by at least 1 of the following means: current driver’s license; birth certificate; Selective Service registration; or other proof, including church records, family Bible notations, school records, or other evidence approved by the DLD.

When the DLD issues a new driver’s license, the applicant is assigned a distinguishing number. A photograph of the licensee is required.

The licensee shall have his license in his immediate possession at all times when driving a motor vehicle.


Vermont

An individual must be 18 years of age to obtain an operator’s license and must not have had any recalls, suspensions, or revocations during the previous 6-month period.

A license that is issued to an individual under the age of 18 shall be distinguishable by color from a license that is issued to an individual over the age of 21.

Each applicant for an original learner’s permit or operator’s license is required to show documentary proof of identity and date and place of birth. Proof of identity must be 1 primary document and 1 secondary document or 2 primary documents.

  • Primary documents include: photo driver’s license or state, province, or territory issued photo ID that is not expired more than 1 year; U.S. or Canadian birth certificate; approved INS documents; court order containing full name, date of birth, and court seal; military ID; Vermont issued learner’s permit; and Canadian Dept. of Indian Affairs ID card.
  • Secondary documents include: photo driver’s license or ID card expired more than 1 year; court order; employer or student ID; social security card; marriage certificate or license; parent or guardian affidavit; vehicle title; and certain other approved documents.

First time license holders must have a photograph on their license. Current license holders are grandfathered. License certificate does not include social security number.

A licensee must notify the DMV within 30 days of any change of mailing address, legal name, or legal residence.

If a person holds a license from another state or Canada, they must surrender that license when applying for a Vermont license.


Virginia

Application information must include whether or not the applicant has previously been licensed as a driver and, if so, when and by what state, and whether or not his or her license has ever been suspended or revoked and, if so, the date of and reason for such suspension or revocation. Applicant must also provide signature and disclosure of whether or not the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony.

Initial applicants older than 19 years of age must have held a learner’s permit issued by the DMV for at least 60 days or have completed driver’s education before issuance of a driver’s license.

A resident must notify the DMV within 30 days of a change of address. Persons moving to Virginia have 60 days to obtain a Virginia license.

License includes a photograph or a statement “valid without photo pending licensee’s return to Virginia.”

Licenses are prohibited from displaying a social security number.

When applying for a DMV document, applicants may not use immigration visas and written statements (whether notarized or not) where another person “vouches” for the applicant’s Virginia residency.


West Virginia

The application for a license or permit must contain the applicant’s: (1) full name, date of birth, sex, and residence address; (2) description; and (3) license history and status.

Each license issued shall contain the following: (1) a coded number assigned to the licensee; and (2) the full name, date of birth, residence address, description, signature, and color photograph of the licensee. Does not include social security number.

The license must indicate the type, general class, or class of vehicles the licensee is authorized to operate.

Driver’s licenses shall be issued in different colors for drivers under the age of 18, those drivers between the ages of 18 and 21, and those adult drivers over 21.

The DMV must not issue a license to a person who holds a valid license to operate a motor vehicle issued by another jurisdiction or state unless the applicant surrenders the license, or has submitted an affidavit verifying that the person has surrendered the license to the DMV.

Within 30 days of taking up residence in the state, a driver must apply to the DMV for a driver’s license unless exempt from the requirement.

A person must present his or her social security card to the DMV when applying for a license or instruction permit.


Wisconsin

An application for a license must include the full name and address of the applicant, the applicant’s date of birth, eye color, hair color, sex, height, weight, race, and social security number.

If an applicant is under the age of 18, the application must also include documentary proof that the applicant is enrolled in a school program or high school equivalency program, or has graduated from high school or is enrolled in a home-school program. The applicant must also have accumulated at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience, including 10 hours of driving during darkness, and the application must be signed by the applicant’s parent, step-parent, or adult sponsor.

A special restricted license may be issued to a person who is at least 14 and physically disabled, or at least 16 years old, and has passed all required examinations. Special restricted licenses are issued only for motor bicycles or mopeds, or specially designed vehicles having a maximum speed of 35 mph. A special restricted license expires 2 years after the date of issuance.

Non-residents who are at least 16 years of age and hold a valid driver’s license from their home jurisdiction need not apply for a Wisconsin driver’s license.

Persons operating a motor home, a vehicle towing a 5th-wheel mobile home, or a single-unit recreational vehicle need not obtain a commercial driver’s license if the vehicle is operated and controlled by the person and is transporting only members of the person’s family, guests, or their personal property.

Licenses must be carried at all times while operating a motor vehicle.

Licenses must include color photograph. Social security number is not required.

A restricted license may be issued to a person under 18 but at least 14 years of age if the DOT is satisfied that it is necessary to allow the applicant to operate a vehicle, the applicant has appeared in person with his or her parent or guardian with a birth certificate showing the applicant to be at least 14 years of age, and the applicant has passed all necessary examinations. A restricted license is valid until the applicant obtains a regular driver’s license or reaches the age of 18 and does not permit operation of any authorized vehicle during the hours of darkness.


Wyoming

No person, unless otherwise exempt, may drive, steer, or exercise any degree of physical control of any motor vehicle or a vehicle being towed by a motor vehicle on a highway in the state unless the person has been issued a driver’s license for the class and type and applicable endorsements valid for the motor vehicle being driven.

No person may have more than 1 valid driver’s license at any time. A person must surrender to WYDOT all valid driver’s licenses in his or her possession before receiving a Wyoming driver’s license.

The following persons are exempt from licensing requirements: (1) a non-resident who has a valid license issued by the licensing authority in his or her possession; (2) a non-resident on active duty in the armed forces of the United States who has a valid license issued by his or her state of residence and the non-resident’s spouse or dependent child who has a valid license issued by the person’s state of residence; (3) any person on active duty in the armed forces of the United States who has in his or her immediate possession a valid license issued in a foreign country by the armed forces but only for a period of 45 days; and (4) a non-resident full-time student at a licensed institution offering post-secondary education.

A resident possessing a driver’s license issued by a member state of the Driver’s License Compact (of which Wyoming is a member) is exempt from the licensing requirement for 1 year.

Every application for an instruction permit or license must include the full legal name and current mailing address of the applicant; a physical description of the applicant including sex, height and weight; date of birth; a color photograph; the applicant’s social security number or other numbers or letters deemed appropriate; the applicant’s signature; whether the applicant has previously been licensed as a driver specifying the state or country; and information regarding suspension, revocation, or cancellation of a driver’s license.

If the applicant has not been previously issued a license in Wyoming or another jurisdiction, the applicant must supply a certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate.

The application of any person under the age of 18 for an instruction permit or driver’s license must be signed by a parent or guardian having custody of the applicant. If there is no parent or guardian the application may be signed by the circuit court judge of the applicant’s county of residence upon petition to the court and upon a finding that the applicant is sufficiently mature to handle the responsibilities of driving a motor vehicle.

A licensee has 10 days to notify WYDOT of a change of name or address.

Social security number on license is optional.


Puerto Rico

Driver’s license is valid for a period of 6 years.

For license, operator must be 18 years of age; for learner’s permit, operator must be 16 years of age and will be able to get driver’s license after holding the permit for 6 months and passing a road test.

For license, operator must (1) be mentally and physically able; (2) know how to read and write; and (3) hold learner’s permit that, on the day of examination, is not more than 2 years, but not less than 6 months, before the date of issuance.

A person who is unable to read or write may be issued license if individual (1) passes oral course and examination on highway and traffic safety rules; (2) holds learner’s license; and (3) passes practical examination.

Driver’s license must contain: (1) name and descriptive data of operator; (2) identification of license; (3) issuance and expiration date of license; and (4) operator’s photograph.

For driver’s license, a new medical certificate is required if more than 2 years have passed since submittal of previous certificate; if applicant exempted from learner’s permit requirement, certificate is required.

For learner’s permit, applicant must submit medical certificate verifying his or her physical and mental fitness for license.

Non-resident who is authorized to drive a motor vehicle in a U.S. state or foreign country with similar laws may operate vehicle for 120 days from date of arrival; but after 120 days, he or she must meet license requirements. Persons exempt from license requirement include members of the active and reserve U.S. Armed Forces, and the National Guard of Puerto Rico.

Learner’s license permits an operator over 16 years of age but under 18 to operate automobile under patria potestas (the term ‘patria potestas’ refers to the custody or guardianship over a non-emancipated child) for private use. Person with patria potestas over minor is liable for damage or losses resulting from operation of vehicle by minor. Permit valid for 2 years.


Alberta

An operator’s license shall only be issued to an Alberta resident who meets the eligibility requirements as defined in legislation. An interim license valid for 30 days will be issued, followed by a new, highly secure card in the mail. The interim license does not contain an image and may not be used for identification purposes. For additional information on Alberta’s driver license program, please visit http://www.servicealberta.ca/1301.cfm.

A person may not operate a motor vehicle unless the person holds a valid operator’s license.

A person holding a valid license or permit issued to that person in a jurisdiction outside of Alberta is exempt from the requirement to obtain a license if the person does not remain in Alberta for more than 90 days in 12 consecutive months.

A non-resident who: (1) holds an international driver’s license issued outside of Canada in conjunction with their home country license; and (2) does not remain in Alberta for more than 12 consecutive months is exempt from the requirement to obtain a license.

For the issuance of an operator’s license, the Registrar or license issuer: (1) shall require that the applicant provide personal identification; and (2) shall capture a digital photo and signature image.

A person that applies for or holds a Class 1, 2, or 4 operator’s license must submit a medical report with the initial and subsequent renewal applications.

An operator’s license must contain the following information on the licensee: (1) surname and first name; (2) date of birth; (3) signature; (4) photograph; (5) height, weight, eye color, hair color, and sex; (6) operator’s license number; (7) class of license; (8) expiration date of license; and (9) mailing address.

An operator’s license may be issued to a person under the age of 18 upon satisfying the application requirements: (1) the application is signed by a parent or guardian; or (2) the applicant proves self-supporting ability or proof of marriage.

Any person who holds an operator’s license or makes an application for an operator’s license must disclose to the Registrar any medical condition or disability that may interfere with the safe operation of a motor vehicle.

Any person 75 years of age or older must provide a medical report upon application and renewal. The Registrar may issue a license under conditions or periods as deemed necessary based on the results of the medical report.

The members of Her Majesty’s forces, or the forces of a country other than Canada who are in Canada under the Status of Forces Agreement (NATO) may operate a privately owned vehicle with a driver’s license issued by their home state or country until the expiration of the license.


British Columbia

A new resident may use their out-of-province driver license for the first 90 days they reside in BC.

An applicant for a driver’s license must: be at least 16 years old, obtain parental/guardian consent if under 19; provide primary identification (e.g., birth certificate or certain immigration documents) and secondary identification (e.g., Passport, school ID, credit card).

Knowledge and road testing may be waived for applicants surrendering a valid Canadian, American, Austrian, German, Japanese, South Korean, or Swiss driver’s license.

An applicant for a full-privilege BC driver’s license must provide proof that they have held a driver’s license for at least 24 months. Otherwise, the applicant will be placed in BC’s Graduated Licensing Program.

License includes photograph, but not social security number.


Manitoba

A valid driver’s license is required prior to operating a motor vehicle on the highway.

The driver must keep a valid driver’s license in his or her possession while operating a vehicle.

An applicant for a license or permit of any kind must: (1) apply in the form required by the registrar; (2) pay the prescribed fee and surcharges; and (3) be photographed for the issuance of a license that includes a photo identification card.

A driver’s license or permit includes a photo identification card, and a license certificate. When the driver is exempted by regulation from the requirement to be photographed, the registrar shall issue a photo identification card without a photograph.

The registrar may require that the applicant present proof of birth date.

The registrar may require an applicant or holder of a license to be examined and to provide a report from a medical practitioner, an optometrist, or another expert regarding his or her ability to operate a motor vehicle safely; or a report from an agency as to whether the individual has a disease or disability in the form of an alcohol or drug-related problem that may interfere with the safe operation of the vehicle.

An applicant for any class of license must make a declaration regarding his or her competency to drive a motor vehicle and any existing disease or disability.

A person who becomes a resident of the province may operate a vehicle for a period of 3 months after the residency is established if the person holds a valid license from a competent authority outside of Manitoba.

A non-resident who: (1) has complied with the law of the place of residency; (2) is 16 years of age or older; (3) does not reside or carry on business in the province for more than 3 consecutive months in a year or who is a member of NATO forces personnel; and holds a valid license of any class or permit issued by a competent authority of the jurisdiction where the person resides may operate a vehicle in the province without holding a license issued pursuant to Manitoba law.

A person temporarily residing in Manitoba for the purpose of attending a university, college, or technical school on a full-time basis may operate a motor vehicle if the person has complied with the licensing laws of the jurisdiction where the person permanently resides, if the license was issued in Canada or the U.S., or if the person is from another country and the person meets conditions imposed by the registrar.


New Brunswick

It is not permissible to operate a motor vehicle on the highways without a valid driver’s license.

Persons are exempt from the license requirement when operating or driving: (1) a motor vehicle in the service of the Army, Navy, or Air Force of Canada; (2) a vehicle designed for and used in the construction, maintenance, or repair of the highways, except for a truck, while the vehicle is being used at the actual site of construction; (3) an instrument of husbandry, other than a farm tractor, incidentally operated or moved on the highway; and (4) a motor vehicle at the time of, and in the course of a driving test.

A non-resident at least 16 years of age and with a valid driver’s license from the non-resident’s home province or country may operate a motor vehicle except for: (1) a resident of another province or country who resides and carries on business in New Brunswick for more than 6 consecutive months in a year; or (2) a non-resident driver who was formerly a resident of New Brunswick and whose license was revoked and driving privileges suspended.

Every application for a license must contain: (1) the full name, date of birth, sex, and residence address of the applicant; and (2) a brief description of the applicant. If the applicant is applying for the first time, the application must include the applicant’s birth certificate, baptismal certificate, or other proof of age. Photo is optional.

A person not previously licensed to operate a motor vehicle in New Brunswick is required to obtain a license before driving in New Brunswick. Upon applying for a new license, the applicant must surrender the license issued by the other jurisdiction.


Newfoundland and Labrador

The applicant must present (at the time he or she is applying for the learner’s permit) proof of age in the form of a birth certificate, baptismal certificate, or passport. All documents must be originals. Photocopies are not accepted unless certified.

All licenses include a photograph, but not a social security number.

The applicant is then required to pass a written and vision test. The written test consists of questions about the rules of the road, safe driving practices, and road sign recognition. A mark of 85% is a passing grade for the written test.

If the applicant is under 19 years of age, he or she will be required to get parental or guardian consent before a learner’s permit will be issued.

If the applicant is a 16-year-old driver presenting a valid driver license from another jurisdiction which has a graduated driver licensing program, the applicant will be placed in Class 5, Level I. If the applicant takes an approved driver education course, he or she will be given a 4-month credit and upon reaching 16 years 8 months, he or she will receive a Class 5, Level II license. If the applicant has not taken a driver education course he or she will remain at Level I until his or her 17th birthday, at which time the applicant will graduate to a Class 5, Level II license. A road test is not required.

If a 17-year-old or older applicant for a Newfoundland and Labrador license is from another Canadian province or the United States, the applicant can exchange his or her existing license for a Newfoundland and Labrador license without taking a written, vision, or road test provided that he or she has an existing license that is valid or that has not expired in the last 5 years.

All other licensed drivers taking up residence in the province will have their experience rated against the Newfoundland and Labrador system and will be placed in the appropriate phase. Age, driving experience, and class of license currently held will determine placement.


Northwest Territories

A person must be at least 18 years of age to hold a Class 1, 2, 3, or 4 driver’s license.

A person is not required to have a driver’s license issued by the Northwest Territories if the person has a valid driver’s license issued under the laws of a jurisdiction in Canada or the United States that authorizes the person to operate the class of motor vehicle he or she is operating, and the person (1) has been a resident of the Northwest Territories for less than 30 days, (2) is not a resident of the Northwest Territories and has been in the Northwest Territories for less than 90 consecutive days, or (3) is not a resident and is in the Northwest Territories for the purpose of attending an educational institution or participating in an exchange program or other recognized educational program.

A person who is not a resident of Canada or the United States, who does not remain in the Northwest Territories for more than 12 consecutive months, and who holds a valid international driving permit, in conjunction with a valid driver’s license from their country of residence, is not required to obtain a driver’s license. An international driving license cannot be used to operate commercially in the Northwest Territories.

A person holding a driver’s license issued by another jurisdiction may apply for a driver’s license issued by the Northwest Territories upon surrender of his or her existing license.  The Northwest Territories has reciprocity with the other provinces and territories within Canada, Germany, the Isle of Man, and the United States, thereby waiving the testing requirement. Verification from the individuals previous jurisdiction confirming the individuals driver’s licence class and eligibility is required to accompany the individuals drivers licence.

When operating a motor vehicle on a highway, a person must carry his or her driver’s license with them.

A person holding a driver’s license must notify the RLSD within 15 days of a change of name or address.


Nova Scotia

A non-resident who is 16 years of age or older and has in his or her immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued by his or her home province or country, is permitted, without taking an exam, to drive a motor vehicle of a type or a class authorized by such a license for a period of 90 days from the date the non-resident first entered the province.

License includes a photograph, but not a social security or social insurance number.

The department shall not issue a driver’s license to a person under 18 unless the application for license is signed by a parent or guardian having custody of the applicant, the employer of the applicant if the mother and father are no longer living and there is no guardian, or the spouse of the applicant if the spouse is over 18.


Nunavut

Residents of the Territory much apply for a Nunavut driver’s license after 90 days of living in the Territory. The applicants must surrender his or her driver’s license from the other jurisdiction.

The driver’s license must be carried at all times when operating a vehicle.


Ontario

A new resident has 60 days to obtain an Ontario driver’s license if the person holds a valid driver’s license issued by the jurisdiction where they resided immediately prior to moving to Ontario.

A non-resident who is at least 16 years of age and holds a valid driver’s license from the person’s province, state, or country of residence is not required to obtain an Ontario driver’s license provided such a driver does not reside in Ontario for more than three months of any year, after three months the person may drive as long as they carry a valid foreign drivers license and a valid International Driver’s Permit.

An applicant for a Class G1 or M1 license must pass a knowledge and vision test before being issued a license. The applicant must pass 2 road tests before being issued a full Class G or M license.

An applicant for any Ontario driver’s license is required to produce 2 pieces of identification, at least 1 with the person’s signature. Personal identification is also required. The following documents are acceptable proof of personal identification: citizenship card; passport; immigration card with photo; birth certificate; and baptismal certificate.

License usually includes name, address, signature, date of birth, gender, height, license issue, expiry dates, and codes showing class of vehicle allowed to driver and under what conditions. License also includes digital photo, driver’s signature, and magnetic information strip.


Prince Edward Island

The application for a driver’s license must contain the name, address, and mailing address of the applicant, and any other information the Department requires to enable it to determine whether a driver’s license should be issued to the applicant and the class of the license that should be issued.


Quebec

No person may drive a vehicle on a public highway or on private property open to public traffic unless he or she holds a driver’s license of the appropriate class for the vehicle.

No person may hold more than 1 valid driver’s license.

A person wishing to obtain a driver’s license must: (1) submit a document proving legal presence in Canada; (2) a document proving his or her identity, in particular, name (first and last), birth date, and where applicable a French or English translation of the document; (2) indicate his or her eye color, height, and sex; (3) provide proof of residency in Québec; (4) submit the declaration of illness or functional impairment; and (5) a written consent of his or her father, mother, or legal guardian, if he or she is a minor (under 18).

A learner’s license holder has the option of the license being issued in paper form without a photograph. The probationary and driver’s licenses are issued in plastic form with a photograph.

Learner’s and probationary license holders are subject to ceiling of 4 demerit points and zero tolerance for alcohol use when driving. Each breach of 1 of these conditions results in license suspension for 3 months that are added to the required holding period of the license.

A person maintaining a valid driver’s license issued by another administration authority may drive a class 5 or class 6 vehicle up to 6 months after settling in Québec.

A person holding a valid non-commercial driver’s license issued by another Canadian or U.S. jurisdiction may exchange that license for a driver’s license issued by the SAAQ without an examination. The person must surrender his or her previous license. This transaction is made only on an appointment basis. SAAQ makes a online verification that the license is valid.


Saskatchewan

An applicant for a Class 7 driver’s license must meet the following criteria: (1) be at least 16 years of age, or 15 years of age and enrolled in a government-sanctioned high school driver training program, unless he or she previously held a driver’s license and submits proof of this to the Department; (2) except where he or she previously held a driver’s license, submits evidence of his or her name, age, and proof of Saskatchewan residency; (3) passes the vision, sign, road, and written or oral tests for the class of license for which he or she is applying; and (4) has held a Class 7 or Class 5 – Novice or equivalent from another jurisdiction for at least 6 months.

New residents who wish to drive in Saskatchewan must obtain a Saskatchewan driver’s license within 90 days of moving to the province, or upon expiration of their out-of-province license, whichever is earliest.


Yukon

No person may operate a vehicle on a highway unless he is the holder of a driver’s license authorizing him or her to operate that class of vehicle.

An application for a driver’s license is made to the CTS.

A non-resident is not required to hold a driver’s license if he or she does not remain in the Yukon for more than 120 consecutive days in any year, and if he or she is authorized by the laws of his or her place of residence to operate a motor vehicle of the type or class being operated by him or her.

A non-resident student is not required to hold a driver’s license if he or she holds a valid license issued by his place of residence.

Every person who holds a license issued outside the Yukon authorizing him or her to operate a motor vehicle must surrender that license when issued a Yukon driver’s license unless the CTS waives the surrender on grounds that the person is not able to surrender the license.

No person may attempt to obtain a driver’s license during a period when his or her license is canceled or suspended in any province or in any state, territory, or the District of Columbia in the United States.

Learner’s and novice’s licenses are available from a Territorial Agent or Territorial Office.

A person may apply for a full privilege driver’s license at any motor vehicle office.

The CTS must suspend the license of a person under 18 years of age if a parent withdraws consent.

An applicant must provide his or her surname, given names, postal address, date of birth, height, weight, and sex.

An applicant must provide a primary and secondary form of identification when obtaining a Yukon driver’s license for the first time. Photocopies are not acceptable. Primary forms of identification include a birth certificate, proof of Canadian citizenship, a foreign passport, a driver’s license issued by another jurisdiction, and a Canadian Armed Forces ID or discharge papers. Secondary forms of identification include a baptismal certificate showing date of birth, social insurance card, health care card, certificate of Indian status, liquor ID, landed immigrant papers, and a Canadian or U.S. passport.

A licensee must sign the license in the space provided or the license is not valid.

A licensee must notify the CTS of every change of address or change of name.

An applicant must disclose to the CTS any disease or disability that may interfere with the safe operation of a motor vehicle.

A person holding a driver’s license from another jurisdiction has 120 days to obtain a Yukon driver’s license upon taking up residency or employment in the territory. However, if the person has an air-brake endorsement, the person must exchange their license within 30 days.

The holder of a driver’s license from another jurisdiction must provide a medical report if the person is applying for a Class 1, 2, 3, or 4 license.

A security keyword is required to obtain a duplicate license. If the previous license is found, it must be returned immediately to the CTS. It is an offense to hold more than 1 driver’s license at any 1 time.

Every driver of a motor vehicle must carry his or her driver’s license with him or her at all times while driving a motor vehicle and must produce it for inspection upon demand by any peace officer.

The CTS may issue a temporary license effective for 90 days.