Driver's License Examination
When a person with a valid license from another state applies for a Nevada license, that application is to be treated as an application for transfer.
A driver’s license examination shall include tests of the applicant’s ability to understand official devices used to control traffic and the applicant’s knowledge of safe driving practices and traffic laws; a vision test (20/40 visual acuity required) or report from an ophthalmologist, optician, or optometrist; and a road test.
The DMV may waive an examination for a person holding a valid license from another jurisdiction, unless that person is under the age of 21, has had his or her license suspended, revoked, or canceled in the preceding 4 years, has been convicted of certain crimes in the preceding 7 years, or has restrictions on his or her driver’s license.
Graduated Driver's Licensing
Nevada has a system of graduated licensing for novice drivers.
At age 15 ½, individuals are eligible for a learner’s permit.
- During this stage individuals must be supervised by a driver at least 21 years old.
- Drivers must hold the permit for at least 6 months, complete an approved driver education course and certify that they’ve received 50 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving practice before being eligible for an intermediate license.
At age 16, drivers are eligible for an intermediate license.
- Intermediate license holders are prohibited from driving unsupervised from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. (secondarily enforced).
- For the first 6 months, intermediate license holders are also prohibited from transporting any passengers under age 18, family members excepted (secondarily enforced).
At age 18, drivers are eligible for an unrestricted license.
Driver education is required for all license applicants under age 18, unless no program is offered within 30 miles of the home.
Driver’s License Issuance/Application
Every application for a driver’s license must contain the following: the required fee; the full name, date of birth, address, and brief physical description of the applicant; and an indication of whether the applicant has ever been licensed to drive before, and if so, by what state and whether the license has ever been suspended or revoked. In addition, the applicant must furnish proof of age by showing a birth certificate, and also provide proof of his or her social security number.
Upon passage of the examination and payment of the required fees, the DMV shall issue a license that indicates the type or class of vehicles the licensee may drive, a unique number assigned to the licensee, a color photograph, full name, date of birth, mailing address, brief physical description, and the licensee’s signature.
A person may request that the state change his or her full legal name on a driver’s license, including a motorcycle driver’s license, issued by the Department upon adoption, marriage, divorce or the death of a spouse.
The application of any person under the age of 18 must be signed and verified by a parent or guardian, but if the applicant has neither, by his or her employer or any responsible person willing to assume liability.
A person shall not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway unless he or she has a valid license.
The state may refuse to accept a driver’s license issued by another state or the District of Columbia if it is determined that the other state or the District of Columbia has less stringent licensing standards.
Driver’s License Renewal
Current driver’s licenses expire on the 4th anniversary of the licensee’s birthday nearest the date of issuance or renewal.
Nevada is transitioning to licenses that will be valid for eight years instead of four.
Drivers born in an even-numbered year will receive an eight-year license at the next renewal. Drivers born in an odd-numbered year will receive a four-year license at any renewal through 2017 and eight-year license with renewal in 2018 or later.
Motorists age 65 and older will receive a 4-year license only.
The new expiration terms do not apply to license with a shorter term issued to immigrants and certain other motorists.
The DMV may require an applicant for a renewal license to pass a vision test.
Every license is renewable at any time before its expiration upon application and payment of the required fee.
No later than 30 days before the expiration of a licensee’s license, the DMV shall mail an expiration notice.
The DMV shall allow for renewal of a license by mail, in exchange for an additional fee. The licensee shall provide a vision report with the application from an ophthalmologist, optometrist, or agency of the state taken within 90 days of the application.
All persons who renew a license after it has expired may be required to complete all portions of the original license examination.
Driver authorization cards expire on the fourth anniversary of the holder’s birthday, measured in the case of initial issuance or renewal from the birthday nearest the date of issuance or renewal.
Types of Driver's Licenses
Class A: any combination of vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 lbs., if the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the trailing vehicle is over 10,000 lbs. The holder may also drive a Class B or Class C vehicle, but not a motorcycle unless he or she has an appropriate endorsement.
Class B: any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or more, or any vehicle which is towing another vehicle that does not have a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs. The holder may also drive a Class C vehicle, but not a motorcycle unless he or she has an appropriate endorsement.
Class C: any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, which does not meet the definition of a Class A or Class B vehicle, including passenger vehicles and mopeds. The holder of a Class C license may not drive a motorcycle without the appropriate endorsement, tow a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 lbs. unless the holder obtains an R endorsement, or drive a combination of vehicles exceeding 70 feet in length.
Class M: the holder may drive a motorcycle, trimobile, or moped.