Registration Type

Alaska

Registration is biennial, except certain unorganized municipalities where drivers have the option of permanent registration.


Arizona

Vehicles not otherwise disqualified may be registered biennially; newly licensed or leased vehicles will be automatically selected for biennial registration. Vehicles not subject to emission inspections may be registered annually, biennially, or every 5 years.

If effective date of registration falls between the 1st and the 15th day of the month, annual registration expires on the 15th day of the month 12 months later; biennial registration expires 24 months later.

If effective date of registration falls between the 16th and last day of the month, annual registration expires on the last day of the month 12 months later; biennial registration expires 24 months later.

Renewal registration must be submitted no later than the day the prior registration expires.


Arkansas

Staggered. Registration renewal may be for two or three years.


California

Application for renewal registration must be accompanied by evidence of compliance with California financial responsibility laws–unless electronically reported to the DMV by insurer.

Non-resident military personnel or spouses may operate their vehicles in California with their valid home state license plates or until the plates issued by the foreign state where they were last stationed expire. They may renew the vehicle registration in their home state before the end of the registration period or register the vehicle in California.

Application for renewal may not be made more than 60 days prior to expiration of current registration and must be made not later than midnight on the day of expiration.

Registration expires at midnight on the last day shown on the registration card.

A vehicle with expired registration may be operated on highways so long as timely application for renewal registration has been filed and the old registration remains on/with the vehicle.

Two tabs issued by the DMV must be displayed on the rear license plate, 1 indicating the year of expiration and the other indicating the month of expiration, except vehicles over 10,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) rating that must display tabs on the front license plate.

Trailer coaches must be registered annually, and upon sale or transfer of a trailer, the permanent identification plate remains with the trailer.


Colorado

Motor vehicles are to be registered periodically. Vehicles may be registered for a 1year interval or a 2-year interval.


Connecticut

The certificate of registration and any automobile insurance identification card shall be carried in the motor vehicle at all times when it is being operated on a public highway.

The commissioner may issue to each registered owner of a motor vehicle an identification card that contains electronically encrypted information concerning the vehicle description, VIN, and registration and title history of the vehicle. The card shall be carried in the vehicle.


Delaware

The DMV mails or emails registration renewal notices to each vehicle owner on record approximately 90 days before a vehicle’s registration expiration date. Vehicle registrations may be renewed up to 90 days prior to their expiration date.


District of Columbia

Class A: Non-commercial passenger vehicle.

Class B: Commercial vehicle, tractor, and passenger-carrying vehicle for hire having a seating capacity of at least 8 passengers.

Class C: Trailers.

Class D: Motorcycle.

Class E: Motorized Bicycle.

Class F: Historic Motor Vehicle.


Florida

For a motor vehicle subject to registration, the registration period begins the 1st day of the birth month of the owner and ends on midnight of the owner’s birthday in the succeeding year.


Georgia

For individuals, the registration period is the 30-day period ending at midnight on the birthday of the owner whose surname first appears on the certificate of title except in counties authorized by a local act to have a 4-month staggered period. For businesses and organizations, registration periods are staggered throughout the calendar year depending on the first letter of the entity’s name.

A purchaser or transferee must register a motor vehicle within 30 days of acquiring the vehicle. This registration is valid until the person’s next registration period.

Every owner of a motor vehicle, including a motorcycle, and every owner of a trailer must, during the owner’s registration period in each year, register the vehicle and obtain a license to operate it for the 12-month period until the person’s next registration period. Initial registration of new vehicles may be for a one-time 2 year registration period.


Hawaii

The certificate of registration must be kept in the registered vehicle at all times and must be presented at the request of a peace officer.

All certificates of registration expire at midnight on December 31 of each year and must be renewed annually before April 1 of each year with such renewal taking effect as of January 1 of each year; however, the individual counties may employ a staggered system of registration.


Idaho

Vehicle registration renewal is to be done annually or in the same registration period manner as the original registration and with payment of the required fee.

There is an option for biennial registration for certain vehicles with a fee that is double the current annual registration fee.


Illinois

Registration must be renewed annually for all normal passenger vehicles. When registered on a calendar year basis commencing January 1st, expiration shall be on the 31st day of December or at such other date as may be selected at the discretion of the Secretary of State; however, registrations of apportionable vehicles, motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, and pedalcycles shall commence on the first day of April and shall expire March 31st of the following calendar year. At the discretion of the Secretary of State, the vehicle owner’s birthday may be used as the date of registration expiration.

New residents have until 30 days after establishing residency to secure registration, provided the vehicle is properly registered in another jurisdiction.

Application for renewal of a vehicle registration shall be made by the owner not later than December 1st of each year, upon proper application and by payment of the registration fee and tax for such vehicle.

Registration plates issued for motor vehicles are valid for an indefinite term of not less than 1 year.

Registration plates issued as 2-year plates may be issued as multi-year plates at the discretion of the Secretary of State.


Indiana

Passenger car registration expires on a staggered basis each month from January through October according to the last name of the person who registered the car.

If a vehicle that is required to be registered is operated on the highways and not registered in a timely manner, the Bureau will collect any and all registration fees that would have been collected if the vehicle had been properly registered.

A semitrailer used on the highway must be registered with the Bureau. It can be registered either annually, every 5 years, or permanently.

A trailer or pop-up camper pulled on the highway must be registered with the Bureau on an annual basis. Upon registration, a license plate and registration card will be issued.


Iowa

Multipurpose vehicles (SUVs and vans) are defined as motor vehicles designed to carry not more than 10 people, and constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features for occasional off-road operation. Model year 1992 and older multipurpose vehicles are assessed a flat registration fee of $55 rather than a registration fee based on weight and list price.

A Class A motor home has a driver’s compartment and an entire body equipped with temporary living quarters. Class A motor homes also include passenger carrying buses that have been registered at least 5 times as a motor truck and which have been converted to provide temporary living quarters.

A Class B motor home is a completed van-type vehicle which has been converted or constructed to provide temporary living quarters.

A Class C motor home is an incomplete vehicle upon which is permanently attached a body designed to provide temporary living quarters.


Kansas

Vehicles used as implements of husbandry, all-terrain vehicles, non-highway use travel trailers, and privately owned fire trucks need not be registered.

Upon the filing of an application and payment of the required fees, the division of vehicles shall register the vehicle and issue to the owner a registration receipt which contains the registration number.

Passenger vehicles, pickup trucks with a GVWR less than 12,000 lbs., motorcycles, motorized bicycles, and recreational vehicles are registered for 12 consecutive months from the month of initial registration. The registration expires at midnight on the last day of the last month of the 12-month period of registration.

For all other vehicles, registration expires December 31 of each year.

In every year where a new license plate is not issued upon registration, the owner will receive a decal to be affixed to the rear license plate indicating the county of registration and the year of expiration.

Registration expires upon the transfer of ownership, and does not transfer to the new owner.


Kentucky

All motor vehicles, including motorcycles, with a Gross Vehicular Weight (GVW) of 6,000 lbs. or less, first registered or needing renewed registration after January 1, 1983, are on a system of year-round registration based upon the birth month of the owner and evidenced by a license plate bearing an adhesive insignia.

Upon the owner’s request and payment of the appropriate pro-rated fee, a vehicle may be registered for 2 years, with the registration and license plate valid through the last day of the month of the owner’s birthday in the second year of the vehicle’s registration.


Louisiana

Renewals of registration or the license tax may be made by mail, or online.


Maine

Registration expires on the last day of the month, 1 year from the month of issuance.


Maryland

A vehicle owner is required to carry the registration card in the vehicle at all times while operating the vehicle. A vehicle owner must display the registration card on demand of a police officer.

Registration expires at midnight on the date indicated on the registration card.

Holders of vehicle registrations have 30 days to apply for a corrected registration after a change of name or residence.

The registration of a vehicle expires upon transfer of title, unless the owner gives the transferee written permission to use the existing plates. A transferee that has been given permission to use the existing plates may not use them for more than 10 days. Within 10 days, the transferee shall return the plates to the MVA or the former owner. The former owner may transfer the plates from one vehicle to another. The transferee must apply for and obtain a new registration prior to using the vehicle on a highway.

Each registration renewal shall be for 2 years for non-commercial vehicles.

Vehicle registration classifications:

  • Class A: Passenger cars and station wagons.
  • Class B: “For hire” vehicles.
  • Class D: Motorcycles.
  • Class E: Single unit trucks with 2 or more axles (includes tow trucks).
  • Class F: Truck tractors.
  • Class G: Trailers and semitrailers.
  • Class L: Historic motor vehicles.
  • Class M: Multipurpose passenger vehicles.
  • Class N: Street rod vehicle
  • Class P: Passenger buses, charter or for hire.


Massachusetts

The registration of every motor vehicle shall expire at midnight of the expiration date appearing on said certificate of registration.

In no event shall a registration be valid for less than a period of 12 months.

Every person operating a motor vehicle shall have the certificate of registration for the vehicle and for the trailer upon his person or in the vehicle in some easily accessible place.


Michigan

A vehicle registration issued by the Secretary of State expires on the owner’s birthday. If the owner’s next birthday is at least 6 months but not more than 12 months in the future, the owner shall receive a registration valid until the owner’s next birthday.

The Secretary of State, upon request, may issue a vehicle registration for more than 1 year.

The registration for a motorcycle expires on the owner’s birthday.

Registration must be carried at all times by the driver of the vehicle.


Minnesota

The following registration types are typical of passenger vehicles. Park trailer and mobile homes are not plated.

  • Pass – All passenger automobiles and vans, station wagons, ambulances, and hearses. Also all pickup trucks with a manufacturer’s rated capacity of 3/4 ton or less.
  • M – All motorcycles, motorbikes, mini-bikes, and motor-scooters.
  • Mp – All motorized bicycles, which do not exceed 50 cubic centimeters or 2 brake horsepower.
  • Rv – Self-propelled vehicle is a vehicle with permanently installed life support systems designed to be used for temporary living quarters while engaged in recreational or vacation activities which uses the public streets or highways incidental to such activities and is not used as the residence of the owner or occupant.
  • Rl – Towed vehicle used for temporary living quarters while engaged in recreational or vacation activities which uses the public streets or highways incidental to such activities and not used as the residence of the owner or occupant. Limited to trailers up to 102” in width and 45’ in length.
  • Ct – Trailer with a gross weight of more than 3,000 pounds (except those registered in the b (utility), recreational, farm, or semi trailer classes) or an equipment dolly used to transport the owner’s construction machinery, equipment, implements and other objects used on a construction project, but not to be incorporated in or to become a part of a completed project.
  • B – Trailer with a maximum gross weight of 3,000 pounds (except those registered in the recreational or farm classes). Permanent registration.


Mississippi

Passenger car registrations must be renewed annually.


Missouri

Registration for every motor vehicle shall be annual.


Montana

Registration must be renewed annually, and license fees must be paid annually. Except for vehicles subject to a staggered registration period, all registrations expire on December 31 of the year in which they are issued. The application for registration or re-registration must be filed with the county treasurer not later than February 15 of each year.


Nebraska

The registration period for motor vehicles shall expire on the 1st day of the month 1 year from the month of issuance, and renewal shall become due on such day and shall become delinquent on the 1st day of the following month. Registration may be renewed up to 30 days prior to the expiration date.

Any owner who has 2 or more vehicles required to be registered, may register all such vehicles on a calendar-year basis or on an annual basis for the same registration period beginning in a month chosen by the owner.


Nevada

Staggered; expires on a 365-day basis. Any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer operated by a resident must be registered.

Mobile homes and mopeds need not be registered.

Motor vehicle registrations are valid for 1 year.  Trailers and semi-trailers may be registered for 3 years.


New Hampshire

The registration of a motor vehicle shall expire at midnight on the last day of the month in which the first anniversary of the registrant’s birth following the date of issue is observed.

20-Day Registration: Any resident who intends to purchase a vehicle in another state, from another person, or who is unable to register a vehicle because of limited hours of operation of the town clerk in the town where the person resides, may apply to the DMV for a registration to drive the vehicle on the roads of the state for a maximum period of 20 days. The resident shall appear in person at the DMV to obtain such registration and shall sign under penalty of perjury a statement that the vehicle meets all New Hampshire inspection requirements, and in the case of a person seeking an extension of his registration, that he was unable to register the vehicle because of the limited hours of the town clerk, before the 20-day registration may be issued. This type of registration is valid for 20 days. Only one 20-day registration shall be issued during any one calendar year for a vehicle.

In-Transit Registration: The owner of any vehicle intended to be driven upon the roads of the state only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to another jurisdiction where it is to be registered may apply to the DMV for the issuance of an in-transit registration for such vehicle. The application shall be made on a form furnished by the DMV. If satisfied that the vehicle is to be driven as provided in this section, the DMV shall assign to such vehicle a distinctive number and deliver to the applicant an in-transit registration valid for a period of 20 days from the date of issuance. The registration shall specify the terms and conditions under which the vehicle may be driven upon the roads, and no such vehicle shall be operated in violation of such terms and conditions.  An in-transit registration is only issued for private sale purchases from a NH resident and is only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to its intended destination.


New Jersey

Registrations shall expire every 12 months. New dealer purchased vehicles shall be issued a 4-year registration and thereafter will expire every 12 months.

Renewal of motorcycle registrations will take place on a date set by the director of the MVC, but in no case shall that expiration date be earlier than April 30 nor later than October 31.

Renewal application forms for passenger automobiles will be sent to the last address of owners on record with the MVC.

Application for renewal of a passenger automobile or motorcycle registration may be directly made to any agent of the MVC.

Temporary registration may be issued for a 20-day period to any person purchasing an automobile in New Jersey while en route to another state. Renewal is not permitted.


New Mexico

Renewals of registration are for a 1-year period, but may be extended to a 2-year period for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 lbs.

The MVD will notify each registered vehicle owner by mail at the last known address within an appropriate period prior to the beginning of the registration period to which the owner has been assigned. The notice shall include a renewal-of registration application form specifying the amount of registration fees due and the specific dates of the registration period covered by the renewal application.

Every manufactured home must be titled and registered and shall be issued a registration plate.


New York

Vehicle registration expires every 2 years from the date that the vehicle was first registered in New York. Registration renewal may be done by mail, over the phone, online, or at any DMV office. The DMV will send a renewal notice 45 to 60 days before the expiration date.

The owner of a vehicle to be operated only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to a jurisdiction within this state or to any other state, where the vehicle will be registered, may file with the DMV or any county clerk, an application for an in-transit permit. The in-transit registration is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.


North Carolina

Staggered registration system.

A safety/emissions inspection is required before any vehicle can be registered in the state.

Upon receipt of a valid application for registration, the DMV shall issue a registration card. The card shall contain the name and address of the owner, space for the owner’s signature, the registration number assigned to the vehicle, and a description of the vehicle. The owner shall sign the registration card and keep it in the vehicle at all times.

The registration must be renewed annually. The owner of a vehicle may renew the registration by filing an application with the DMV and paying the required fee.

Annual vehicle inspections, registration renewals and vehicle property taxes are due the same month each year. Vehicle owners receive a statement that lists both vehicle registration fees and taxes due 60 days prior to their vehicle’s registration expiration. Only one payment, made either in person, online or by mail, is required to pay both the annual tag and tax for a vehicle.

When the DMV renews a vehicle registration, it shall send the owner a new registration card and either a new license plate or a registration renewal sticker for the plate.

A person must notify the DMV of a change of address or name within 60 days of the change.


North Dakota

The registration of a motor vehicle whose registered gross weight does not exceed 10,000 lbs. expires on the last day of the month which is the anniversary of the month it was originally registered and may be renewed annually. This excludes pickups with an open box-type bed not exceeding 9 feet (2.74 meters) in length. The registration of a pickup whose registered gross weight does not exceed 20,000 lbs. expires on the last day of the month which is the anniversary of the month it was originally registered and may be renewed annually.

Vehicle registration may not transfer upon ownership of the vehicle.

Temporary registration may be provided to the purchaser of a vehicle valid for 30 days.


Ohio

Registration must be renewed annually.

Registration can be renewed within 90 days of expiration. The Registrar will mail a renewal notice at least 45 days before the expiration date.


Oklahoma

The certificate of registration for a commercially registered motor vehicle shall be carried at all times in the vehicle, and shown on demand of any law enforcement officer.

The annual registration period for manufactured homes and vehicles registered with permanent non-expiring license plates begins on January 1 of each year.

The full registration fee is required for vehicles registered between January 1 and March 31, 75% of the fee is due for vehicles registered between April 1 and June 30, 50% for vehicles registered between July 1 and September 30, and 25% for vehicles registered between October 1 and November 30. Vehicles registered in the month of December shall be registered for the following year.

All other vehicles, including passenger vehicles, are registered annually on a staggered system. Twelve registration periods are set up, with each period lasting 1 month.

Most registration types may be renewed via mail and some may be renewed online. Additional fees apply. The Tax Commission provides registration renewal notification via a mailed postcard or, at the owner’ option, email.


Oregon

Vehicle registration may be 1 of 5 types:

  • Quarterly registration (up to 4 calendar quarters): truck tractors, ambulances, armored cars, hearses, self-propelled cranes, commercial busses weighing 8,001 pounds or more; heavy motor vehicles including motor trucks, non-commercial buses, charitable non-profit vehicles weighing 10,001 pounds or more; manufactured structure toters and trucks registered as farm vehicles.
  • Annual registration:  for rent trailers (also can register for a 5-year period).
  • Two year (biennial): campers; low speed; mopeds; motor homes; fixed loads; motorcycles; passenger; snowmobiles; trailers (light, special use, travel).
  • Four-year initial registration: Certain new vehicles are required to be issued 4-year initial registration if it is a new vehicle (being titled with an MCO) and new plates are being issued at the same time. If a vehicle is subject to 4-year registration, the vehicle must have 4-year registration; there is no option to obtain only 2 years, except for vehicles owned by rental/leasing companies.
  • Permanent registration: special interest; antique; disabled veteran; heavy trailer; government (until ownership changes); school bus.


Pennsylvania

Vehicle registration expires on the last day of the month as designated on the registration card.

Application for renewal of registration will be mailed to registrant at least 60 days before the expiration.

The returned application must be accompanied by a self-certification of financial responsibility and the applicable fees.

After PennDOT receives the completed application and appropriate fees, PennDOT will issue a renewed registration card.

Upon receiving the registration card, the registrant must sign his or her name to the card.

The registration card must be kept with the vehicle at all times.

Seasonal Registration offers flexibility to vehicle owners by providing for seasonal operation of a motor vehicle in Pennsylvania.  Vehicle owners or a lessee of a passenger vehicle, motorcycle, motor home, truck or farm vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of not more than 14,000 pounds may register for less than a full year and temporarily discontinue vehicle insurance without having to return the registration plate to PennDOT.


Rhode Island

All vehicle registrations, cards, and plates expire at midnight on March 31st each year, unless issued under the staggered registration system.

Renewal is made to the division at any time prior to expiration of the registration. Upon renewal, a sticker for each plate to be placed at the bottom right-hand corner of the plate will be provided. Owners must be issued a new fully reflective plate no less frequently than every 10 years.

Before obtaining an original or transferral registration for a vehicle in Rhode Island, the owner must furnish proof of payment of any taxes due.


South Carolina

A vehicle must be registered every 2 years.

A person cannot renew his or her motor vehicle registration if he or she has not paid his or her property taxes.


South Dakota

Annual registration of vehicles is staggered throughout the year, excluding the months of April, October, and December.


Tennessee

Registration is based on a staggered system and the registration period is valid for 12 months and expires on the last day of the last month of the registration period.

If ownership of a vehicle is transferred prior to the expiration of the registration period, the registration expires and the new owner must apply to have the vehicle registered. The previous owner may apply to the DOS, through the county clerk, for the registration of another vehicle under the old registration number.


Texas

Vehicle registration is annual, based on weight and applicable county and local fees.


Utah

Registration renewal is on a staggered system. Every vehicle is registered for a 12- or 6-month time period, beginning with the 1st day of the calendar month of registration and expiring on the last day of the same month in the following year. If the last day of the registration period falls on a day in which the county offices are not open for business, the registration of the vehicle is extended to midnight of the next business day. The application for registration renewal shall be accompanied by an emissions inspection and safety certificate.


Vermont

One- and two-year registrations are available.


Virginia

Registration expires on the last day of the 12th or 24th month next succeeding the date of registration. Every registration shall be renewed annually or biannually on application by the owner and by payment of the fees required by law. A $10 late fee is assessed on all registration renewal transactions that occur after the expiration date. However, there will be a 10-day grace period for transactions conducted by mail to allow for administrative processing.

The operator of any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer being operated on the highways in the Commonwealth shall have in his or her possession the registration card issued by the DMV or the registration card issued by the state or country in which the motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is registered; and his or her driver’s license, learner’s permit, or temporary driver’s permit.

The registration card shall contain the date issued; the registration number assigned to the motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer; the name and address of the owner; a description of the registered motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer; and other statements of fact as may be determined by the DMV.

There is a $1 per year discount for each year of a multiyear registration. In addition to any other fee imposed and collected by DMV, a service charge of $5 shall be charged for any registration renewal carried out in any of its customer service centers, if the transaction is one that can be conducted by mail, telephone, or electronic means.


Washington

Passenger vehicle registrations must be renewed annually.


West Virginia

Every vehicle registration card and plate expires at midnight on the last day of the month when the registration period ends.

The expiration dates of registrations are staggered throughout the year.


Wisconsin

Wisconsin follows a staggered registration system.

Following the initial registration of a new vehicle by a retail purchaser, a minimum of 1 model year must elapse before the vehicle is subject to emission inspection once again.

Registration is usually annual, but may also be done on a quarterly or consecutive monthly basis for certain vehicles.

Motorcycles, mopeds, and farm trucks weighing 12,000 lbs. or less are registered only on a biennial basis.


Wyoming

Every owner of a non-commercial vehicle must apply for registration of and license plates for the vehicle annually not later than the last day of the annual registration month if the vehicle is currently registered by that owner in the state.

“Annual registration month” means: (1) for a vehicle currently registered in this state, the month in which the registration expires; (2) for a newly acquired vehicle, the month of acquisition; and (3) for any other vehicle, the month in which the vehicle was initially required to be registered in the state.


Puerto Rico

Owner of motor vehicle or trailer may not operate vehicle on public highway unless vehicle is registered, except when transferring vehicle from one private party to another.

For vehicles or trailers registered for the first time, payment of fees is based on staggered system.

Annual renewal and payment of fees are due on the month vehicle was first registered in the motor vehicle registry system.


Alberta

A certificate of registration must be renewed annually and may be reissued before its expiration date.

Vehicle registration expires on the last day of the expiration month for persons or organizations according to the following. The date is established by associating the first and/or second character of the applicant’s last name or the company name. The prefix ‘The’ in a company name shall be ignored when establishing the expiration date, and the first character after the word ‘The’ will be used. All numerical named applicants shall be assigned the expiration month of January. January=A, I, J, Ke, U, X, #; February=M, Q; March=B, Y; April=D, G; May=C, N; June=Cl, H, Sc; July=Av, Be, L, Sz, V, Z; August=E, Gr, R; September=F, Po, T; October=S; November=K, P; December=Me, O, W.

Registration period shall normally be no longer than 18 months. Vehicles registered in a passenger class category shall be the only exception, with a 30-month maximum registration period. Commercial plates with an annual fee of more than C$500 may qualify for a quarterly registration program.

When the ownership of a vehicle passes by reason of death, the registration of the vehicle does not expire for that registration year and the following persons may operate the vehicle under the deceased person’s registration: (1) spouse of the deceased; (2) a person having proper temporary custody of the vehicle until the grant of probate; and (3) the personal representative of the estate of the deceased.


British Columbia

Passenger vehicles must be registered, licensed, and insured within 30 days of arrival if in BC for non-touring purposes.

If the vehicle is to be imported into BC from another country, contact the Registrar of Imported Vehicles (www.riv.ca or 1-888-848-8240) to determine the importation procedures and requirements.

BC License and insurance expires at midnight on the date indicated on the insurance certificate and on the license plate decal. No grace period.


Manitoba

N/A.


New Brunswick

N/A.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Vehicle renewal applications are mailed approximately 45 days prior to the expiration of the vehicle registration.

The vehicle registration expires the last day of the month shown on the registration document.

The application for renewal includes the registration fee and any additional fees owed to the government such as outstanding fines or reinstatement fees.

Vehicles can be registered online.


Northwest Territories

Vehicle renewal applications are mailed approximately 45 days prior to the expiration of the vehicle registration.

The vehicle registration expires the last day of the month shown on the registration document.

The application for renewal includes the registration fee and any additional fees owed to the government such as outstanding fines or reinstatement fees.

Vehicles can be registered online.


Nova Scotia

Vehicle registrations are issued on a staggered system.

A vehicle registered expires on the date specified when the vehicle is registered.


Nunavut

A person may apply for a certificate of registration for the following classes of motor vehicles for a minimum period of seven months and a maximum period of 18 months: private vehicle; motorcycle; and trailer.

Registrations are validated annually by license plate stickers.


Ontario

N/A


Prince Edward Island

Every registration permit and license plate issued expires at midnight on the birthday of the registered owner.


Quebec

The owner must pay duties, fees, and an automobile insurance contribution each year during the same period, determined on the basis of the owner’s name or type of vehicle.


Saskatchewan

Every Certificate of Registration will expire at midnight on the expiry date listed on the certificate, unless indicated as continuous.

The Department has a number of registration terms available. Customers can register and insure their vehicles on an annual basis, on a short term basis (28 days to 364 days) or they can pay monthly through automatic withdrawals from their checking account.

Registration permits, which allow a motorist to drive an unregistered vehicle for short time periods, can be purchased for a 24 hour or 8 day time frame. Registration permits expire on the date and time indicated on the permit. Proof of ownership and identification are required prior to purchasing a registration permit. Insurance is provided subject to the Automobile Accident Insurance Act.


Yukon

Vehicle registrations are issued on a staggered system.

A vehicle registered expires on the date specified when the vehicle is registered.