Registration Application

Alabama

Upon acquiring motor vehicle, registration with probate judge or county official must occur within 20 calendar days from purchase date.  Proof of insurance is required upon registration, as is current identification documents, which may vary from county to county.


Alaska

A registration application can be made at any local office of the DMV, and an applicant must show proof of insurance and a vehicle title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Arizona

Application is made to ADOT and must include name and residence of owner, date of sale if a new vehicle, vehicle description, and certificate of title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Registration cards issued by ADOT must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

A vehicle belonging to a person must be registered in the county where the person maintains a permanent and actual residence.

Registration may be done via mail, internet, in person, or by an authorized third party.


Arkansas

Application is made to the Office of Motor Vehicles and shall include the owner’s name, bona fide residence, and mailing address, as well as a description of the vehicle.

Registration cards must be carried in the vehicle at all times and shall be displayed upon demand to a police officer or any officer or employee of the Office of Motor Vehicles; a photocopy of the license is deemed in compliance.

Within 30 days of becoming a resident, an owner shall obtain a motor vehicle registration; nonresidents physically present in Arkansas for 6 months shall also obtain motor vehicle registration.

Applications for vehicles less than 10 years old must include odometer mileage disclosure statement.

Applicants may register in person or by mail in the county of residency.

Vehicle owners are required to show a certificate of origin on the vehicle.

Proof of insurance is required for new and renewing applications.


California

Application for original or renewal registration for vehicles and motorcycles is made to the DMV.

Application for initial registration or transfer of registration must be accompanied with a valid certificate of compliance with state air pollution control measures.

Registration card (or facsimile) issued upon registration must be carried with the vehicle and must be presented upon demand to any peace officer.

DMV may suspend, cancel, or revoke registration of a vehicle when notified by an insurance company that coverage has been canceled and when sufficient notice to insured has been given by the insurance company. DMV must give the owner at least 45 days’ notice of intent to suspend, cancel, or revoke registration.

DMV will not accept application for registration if the vehicle is not in the state unless the DMV is satisfied, at the time all documents and fees are submitted, that the vehicle will be registered to a resident of California.

DMV must refuse original, renewal, or transfer of registration if the application contains a false or fraudulent statement, fees have not been paid, the vehicle has failed emissions standards, evidence of financial responsibility has not been provided, or applicable use tax has not been paid.

DMV must refuse renewal registration for delinquent parking violations or failure to pay a lawfully imposed fine, penalty, or bail.

There is no period of grace for late registrations.

DMV will waive all registration renewal late payment penalties on a vehicle which is registered to a member of the U.S. Armed Forces Reserve or National Guard who is called to active service or active duty out of the state.


Colorado

Every owner of a motor vehicle or trailer shall within 45 days of purchase obtain a registration.

Application shall be in writing and signed by the owner.

The application shall include: applicant’s name, the name and correct address of owner, and a description of the vehicle. The description of the vehicle includes: the vehicle identification number, make, model, type, year of manufacture, body color, type of fuel used, and odometer reading.

There is a 30 day grace period for late registration.


Connecticut

Application is made to the commissioner of the DMV, and shall include a current automobile insurance identification card, a certificate of title, certain acceptable forms or ID, a bill of sale, and emissions testing documentation. Registrations must be renewed biannually.

An odometer statement is required at the time of registration.

Vehicles over 10 years old may not, at the discretion of the commissioner, be registered unless they have passed a safety inspection.

Applications for registration of a vehicle by a minor shall not be accepted unless the minor provides proof of financial responsibility and a signature from a spouse, or from parents/guardian if not married.

Registrations expire upon transfer of ownership. The new owner must re-apply.

There is no grace period for late registration.


Delaware

The DOT shall not register or renew the registration of any motor vehicle unless and until the owner makes an application for, and is granted an official certificate of title for the vehicle.

Every owner of a motor vehicle or trailer, within 60 days after taking up residence in the state, shall apply to the DOT and obtain the registration for the vehicle.

There is no grace period for late registration.

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle shall contain the name and address of the owner, and a description of the vehicle including the make, model, type of body, the serial number of the vehicle, and whether it is new or used.

The owner of a trailer may elect to register it for a 2-year period.


District of Columbia

The application shall contain the name of the applicant’s insurance company, the policy number, the applicant’s signature, and other things the DMV may require.

Applicants can request 1- or 2-year registrations.

Applicants must secure the title to a vehicle prior to registering it.

Upon completion of the application, the applicant shall receive 1 registration card and 2 registration plates.

Registration renewal is online only.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

All trailers are to be registered, and the procedures are the same as for other motor vehicles.


Florida

Every owner of a motor vehicle operated or driven on the public roads shall register the vehicle.

The owner of any motor vehicle or mobile home may file an application for renewal of registration with the county tax collector at any time during the 3 months preceding the date of the expiration of the registration period.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Georgia

The application must include the name, place of residence, and address of the applicant; a description of the vehicle; from whom, where, and when the vehicle was purchased; and the total amount of liens with the name and address of the lienholder.

Initial applications for registration must contain satisfactory proof of ownership.

No application shall be accepted and no certificate of registration shall be issued to any motor vehicle which was not manufactured to comply with federal emission and safety standards applicable to new motor vehicles.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

All applications are made to the tag agent of the county wherein the applicant’s vehicle is required to be returned for ad valorem taxation.


Hawaii

The application for registration is made to the director of finance for the county where the vehicle is to be operated and must contain the name, occupation, and address of the owner, a description of the vehicle, and the type of fuel it uses.

Upon registration of a vehicle, the director of finance issues a certificate of registration and a certificate of ownership.

Upon registration of a trailer, a certificate of registration is issued by the county director of finance, but a certificate of ownership is not issued for trailers.

If the address or name of the registered owner of a vehicle is changed from that stated on the application or the certificate of registration, the registered owner must notify the appropriate county finance director, in writing, within 30 days of the change; when the name of the registered owner is changed, along with the notification of such change, the registered owner must submit the certificate of ownership, the current certificate of registration, and proof of the change of name.

An application for registration will not be accepted unless the vehicle is to be operated in the county of application at the time of application, but an application for a vehicle that is not within the state will be accepted provided the vehicle is currently registered in the state and the application is accompanied by the name and local address of the applicant, a description of the vehicle, a copy of the bill of sale, and a written statement signed by the applicant stating that the use tax will be paid within 60 days of arrival of the vehicle in the state.

If a vehicle is moved to another county and is to be operated in that county, the existing registration will remain valid until it expires, at which time the owner must apply for registration to the finance director of the county in which the vehicle is located, whether or not the owner is domiciled or has his principal place of business in that county.

A new unlicensed vehicle that is not within the state may be registered when the application is accompanied by a written certificate signed by the seller stating the name and address of the seller, the purchaser, and a description of the vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Idaho

All applications for registration of motor vehicles (or motor homes) should be made to a county assessor of Division of Motor Vehicles or to the county assessor.

All applications for registration must be signed by the owner and contain an address of residence and a brief description of the vehicle that includes make, model year, and identification number. Applications must also include the owner’s Idaho driver’s license number, identification card number, FEIN, or social security number.

Utility trailers that weigh less than 2,000 lbs. when empty must be registered but are not required to be titled.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Illinois

Application is made to the Secretary of State upon the appropriate forms furnished by the Secretary of State and must bear the signature, name, and address of the owner, a description of the vehicle, information relating to the required insurance coverage of the vehicle, and such further information as may reasonably be required by the Secretary to enable him to determine whether the vehicle is lawfully entitled to registration.

Registration stickers must be displayed at all times and firmly attached to the license plate of the motor vehicle in such a manner that it cannot be removed without being destroyed.

Notice of change of address or name must be made within 10 days to the Secretary of State.

There is no grace period for late registration.

Trailers are subject to the same registration requirements as motor vehicles.


Indiana

Application for registration should be made at the Bureau in the county where the resident lives. The application will request the following: (1) name, residence, and mailing address of the person who owns the vehicle; and (2) a description of the vehicle including the vehicle manufacturer, the vehicle identification number, the type of body of the vehicle, the model year of the vehicle, the color of the vehicle, and anything else the Bureau determines is necessary.

A person must show proof of title and proof of insurance.

An Indiana resident that is an active member of the armed forces assigned outside of Indiana is not required to register, pay excise tax, or pay property tax on his or her vehicles while he or she is absent from the state if that person has registered the vehicle in Indiana in any previous calendar year.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Iowa

A vehicle is registered for the “registration year,” which is the period of 12 consecutive months beginning on the first of the month following the month of the birth of the owner of the vehicle. A vehicle registered for the first time in the state will be registered for the remaining unexpired months of the registration year, and the registration fee will be prorated. The county treasurer may adjust the renewal and expiration date when deemed necessary for administrative efficiency.

A vehicle may be operated without registration plates for 45 days after the date of delivery from a dealer with a “registration applied for” card.

A vehicle’s registration card must be carried at all times in the vehicle.

Application for renewal of a vehicle registration may be made on or after the first day of the month prior to the expiration or registration and up to and including the last day of the month following the month of expiration of registration. The county treasurer will refuse to renew the registration if the treasurer knows that the applicant has a delinquent account, charge, fee, loan, taxes, or other indebtedness owed to or being collected by the state.

A vehicle owner who moves out of state can receive a refund on their registration fees by returning their vehicle plates and proving that they are registered in another state within 6 months of moving.

Delinquencies begin and penalties accrue the first of the month following the purchase of a new vehicle, and 30 days following the date a vehicle is brought into the state.

The owner of the vehicle must inform the county treasurer of the county where the vehicle is registered of a change of address, change of name, or change of fuel type within 10 days.

The registration fee is computed on the month of purchase of a new vehicle, except that the registration fee on a new vehicle acquired outside the state is based on the month that the vehicle was brought into Iowa.

The registration fee for a vehicle from another state or country becomes due in the month that the vehicle is sold or transferred to an Iowa resident or the month that a non-resident owner establishes Iowa residency or accepts employment of 90 days’ duration or longer.

If a vehicle is in storage and the registration is not delinquent, the owner may surrender the registration plates to the county treasurer and will not be obligated to register the vehicle while it remains in storage.


Kansas

A purchaser of a vehicle currently registered in the state may operate the vehicle with its existing license plates for up to 60 days before applying for a new registration for the vehicle.

An applicant for registration shall register by mail, in person, or online to the office of the county treasurer where the applicant resides or has a bona fide place of business.

The application shall contain a brief description of the vehicle and other such information required by the DMV. In addition, the applicant must submit a statement certifying that the applicant has a certificate of title for the vehicle, showing the date and identification number.

New owners have 60 days to register a vehicle in the state, but must immediately apply for a temporary registration from a dealer or from the county treasurer. 

When an owner of a registered vehicle buys a new vehicle, he can use his registration from the old vehicle for up to 60 days prior to applying for a new registration.

An application for registration will not be granted until the applicant has shown proof that the sales tax on the motor vehicle and all personal property taxes have been paid, and has proof of insurance.

Trailers with a gross weight of more than 12,000 lbs. may be issued a multi-year registration for a 5-year period upon payment of the appropriate registration fee, with the fee being 5 times the annual fee. If the weight of the trailer and load being carried does not exceed 2,000 lbs., no registration is required.

Every owner of a motor vehicle, motorized bicycle, trailer, or semitrailer shall apply for registration if the vehicle is based in the state.


Kentucky

An application for vehicle registration is made to the county clerk in the county in which the owner resides, or, if a new vehicle, in the county in which the dealer has his or her principal place of business.

The owner of a new vehicle, the transferee of a vehicle, or the owner of a vehicle brought into the state for permanent use in the state must apply for registration within 15 days.

The application for registration must be accompanied by a bill of sale and a manufacturer’s certificate of title if it is a new vehicle, or the owner’s registration receipt if the vehicle was previously registered in Kentucky.

If the vehicle was last registered in another state, the application must be accompanied by the owner’s registration receipt and bill of sale if the previous state of registration does not require an owner to obtain a certificate of title, or the certificate of title if last registered in a state requiring such certificate.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Renewal of registration may be completed via mail.

A registration certificate will not be issued if the payment of ad valorem taxes are delinquent.

An application will not be accepted if it does not contain a vehicle identification number or motor number.

If a vehicle is destroyed by fire or accident, the owner is entitled to a refund proportionate to the unused amount of the registration fee.

The owner’s copy of the registration receipt must be kept in the vehicle (except motorcycles) at all times.


Louisiana

Every owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or other vehicle must apply for registration at the Department in the parish where he or she lives.

The application will request the following: (1) the address of the owner of the vehicle and the full legal name and license number as it appears on the owner’s drivers license; and (2) a brief description of the vehicle including the engine number, serial number, and the date of sale of the vehicle.

All appropriate registration fees and license taxes must be submitted with the application.

The registration must be kept in the vehicle while it is in operation.

The registration must always correspond with the vehicle’s license plate number.

New residents must apply for registration within 30 days of establishing residency.


Maine

Applications must be made to the Secretary of State.

Applications must include legal name, residence and address of registrant, current vehicle mileage, brief description of the vehicle, maker, vehicle identification number, year of manufacture, and type of fuel, for trucks, truck tractors and special mobile equipment the gross weight.

A new vehicle registration must be signed by the registered owner or owner’s legal representative.

Proof of insurance must be provided to register the vehicle.

There is a 30 day period of grace for late registration.

A trailer exceeding 2,000 lbs. must be registered on the basis of gross weight.


Maryland

Each motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer driven on a highway shall be registered.

No vehicle may be registered until the owner of the vehicle has received a certificate of titleor an application for a certificate of title.

A county Treasurer’s office may be authorized to renew vehicle registrations. Applicants who renew their registrations at these facilities must pay an additional fee.

If an application for registration and certificate of title is accompanied by the required fees, the MVA may issue a temporary registration card and plate to permit the vehicle to be driven pending the completion of a Maryland state safety inspection. The temporary registration is valid for 30 days.

The registration card issued by the MVA shall contain the date of issuance, the name and address of the owner, the registration number assigned, and a description of the vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Massachusetts

Application for the registration of a motor vehicle may be made by the owner.

The application for registration of a motor vehicle shall contain the owner’s name, place of residence and address, date of birth, and the number of the applicant’s license to operate, if one has been issued.

The application for registration shall also contain a brief description of the motor vehicle, including the name of the maker, the vehicle identification number, the character of the motor power, and the type of transmission.

The application for registration shall also include a statement that there are no outstanding excise tax liabilities on said motor vehicle.

A registration fee shall also accompany an application for registration.

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle owned by a minor shall, if not made by the minor, be made by his parent or legal guardian for registration in the name of the minor as owner.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Michigan

The Secretary of State will issue a registration certificate and a certificate of title when registering a vehicle and upon receipt of the required fees.

The registration certificate is delivered to the owner and must contain on its face the date issued, the name and address of the owner, the registration number assigned to the vehicle, expiration date of plate, and a description of the vehicle as determined by the Secretary of State.

A temporary registration may be issued to an owner of a vehicle. The registration shall be valid for 30 days or 60 days from date of issue and shall be in a form as determined by the Secretary of State.

If a person, after making application for or obtaining the registration of a vehicle or a certificate of title, moves from the address named in the application, the person within 10 days after moving must notify the Secretary of State in writing of the old and new addresses.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

The Secretary of State will refuse issuance of a registration or a transfer of registration if the application contains a false or fraudulent statement, the applicant has failed to furnish required information or reasonable additional information requested by the Secretary of State, the applicant is not entitled to the registration of the vehicle under this act, or the applicant has not paid the required fees.

Registrations are issued for permanent, non-expiring plates based on a trailer unit’s weight. New registrations for trailers are permanent and do not expire.

Applications are made to the Secretary of State, upon an appropriate form furnished by the Secretary of State.


Minnesota

Application for an original or renewal registration and listing for taxation is made to the Department on a form provided by the Department.

The application requests the following information from the vehicle’s owner(s): (1) full name; (2) birthday; (3) the address of the primary residence of each owner; (4) the name and address of the person that sold the vehicle; (5) the make and year of the motor vehicle; (6) the manufacturer’s identification number; (7) body type; (8) the weight of the vehicle in pounds; (9) for trailer only, its rated load carrying capacity; and (10) any such other information that the Department may require.

Registration will be refused if the original identification or serial number has been destroyed, removed, altered, covered, or defaced unless the owner can prove in a manner sufficient to the Department that he or she is the owner.

There is a late registration grace period of 20 days for passenger vehicles.

The motor vehicle of any military person who is on active duty is exempt during the active duty time period, and for 30 days after active duty ends.


Mississippi

All vehicles required to pay the road and bridge privilege tax are to be registered with the tax collector in the county or municipality in which they are domiciled or garaged.

Manufactured or mobile homes must be registered with the tax collector of the county where the home is located, within 7 days of purchase or entry into the county.

The road and bridge privilege license tax must be paid annually prior to registration or renewal.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Registration is not required for pole trailers or utility trailers of less than 5,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW).


Missouri

Every owner of a motor vehicle or trailer shall annually file an application for registration.

The application shall contain the following information: a brief description of the motor vehicle or trailer to be registered, including the name of the manufacturer, the vehicle identification number, the amount of horsepower of the motor vehicle, and whether the motor vehicle is to be registered primarily for business; the name, the applicant’s identification number and address of the owner of such motor vehicle or trailer; and the gross weight of the vehicle and the desired load in pounds if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle or trailer.

The DVSB must notify each registered motor vehicle owner by mail, within an appropriate time of the beginning of a new registration period.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Montana

Each owner of a motor vehicle operated or driven on the public highways of the state must apply in the office of the county treasurer in the county where the owner permanently resides at the time of making the application for registration or re-registration.

The application must contain: (1) the name and address of the owner, giving the county, school district, and town or city within whose corporate limits the motor vehicle is taxable, if taxable, or within whose corporate limits the owner’s residence is located if the motor vehicle is not taxable; (2) the name and address of any lienholder; (3) a description of the motor vehicle; and (4) the declared weight of all trailers operating intrastate.

The applicant must pay at the time of making the application to the county treasurer the registration fee and the motor vehicle fees in lieu of tax or registration fees imposed against the vehicle for the current year of registration and the immediately previous year.

Mobile homes, motor homes, trucks exceeding a 1-ton capacity, trailers, buses, some commercial vehicles, government vehicles, and fleet vehicles are subject to staggered registration.

Vehicles subject to staggered registration that exceed a 1-ton capacity must be re-registered annually in the month in which they were first registered.

Owners of vehicles subject to staggered registration with a capacity of 1 ton or less may register the vehicle for a period not to exceed 24 months.

Owners of vehicles subject to staggered registration that are 11 years old or older may permanently register the vehicle.

Owners of vehicles subject to staggered registration have a grace period for registration that exists between the 1st and end of the month. Motor vehicles must be registered not later than the last day of the month corresponding to the anniversary registration period.

The owner of a new or transferred vehicle has a grace period of 20 calendar days from the date of purchase to make application and pay the registration fees, fees in lieu of taxes and other fees, and local option taxes, if applicable, as if the vehicle were being registered for the first time in the registration year.

If the vehicle was not purchased from a licensed motor vehicle dealer, the purchaser may operate the vehicle on public streets and highways without a certificate of registration for 20 calendar days, provided that at all times during that period, a vehicle purchase sticker obtained from the county treasurer or a law enforcement officer, showing the date of purchase, is clearly displayed in the rear window.

Failure to apply for a certificate of registration within 20 days subjects the purchaser of a motor vehicle to a penalty of $10.

Registration fees and new number plate fees do not apply when number plates are transferred to a replacement vehicle.

Montana residents on active military duty stationed outside Montana are not subject to registration fees and fees in lieu of taxes if they file the appropriate application for the exemption with the MVD.

All registrations of motor homes expire annually on April 30. Application for registration must be made by June 15. The owner of a motor home is entitled to operate the vehicle between May 1 and June 15 without displaying a registration certificate for the current registration year, if the owner displays the plates, or plate assigned for the previous year.

The owner of a light vehicle 11 years old or older may permanently register their vehicle upon payment of a $50 fee in lieu of tax, the applicable registration and license fees, a $2 surcharge, and an amount equal to 5 times the applicable fees imposed for: (1) junk vehicle disposal; (2) weed control; (3) former county motor vehicle computer; (4) local option vehicle tax or flat fee; (5) license plates; and (6) senior and disabled persons transportation services. The permanent registration may not be transferred.


Nebraska

An application must be submitted to the county office where the vehicle is garaged.

An application for vehicle registration includes the owner’s name, valid proof of insurance, his or her residence address, a description of the vehicle, and whether and what type of alternative fuel is used to propel the motor vehicle.


Nevada

Applications are to be made in person, and must contain the signature of the owner; his or her residential and mailing address; a declaration of the county where he or she intends the vehicle to be based; a brief description of the vehicle, including the make, model, engine, identification or serial number, whether new or used, the last license number, if known and state of issuance; if new, the date of sale to the person first purchasing or operating the vehicle; proof of adequate insurance; and if required, evidence of emission control compliance.

Applications for new motor vehicles may be made at the dealer where the vehicle is purchased, if that dealer is authorized by the DMV.

Every vehicle being registered for the first time in Nevada must be taxed for the purposes of the governmental services tax for a 12-month period.

New Nevada residents must obtain their driver license and vehicle registration within 30 days.

When registering a vehicle, the applicant must pay all fees for license plates and registration, and pay the applicable taxes. Once this is done, the DMV shall issue the certificate of registration and the license plate or plates.

Registrations expire on midnight of the day specified on the receipt of registration, and the DMV shall mail applications for renewal to the registrant prior to the date of expiration. The applications shall include the amount of the governmental services tax to be collected and a notice informing the registrant of the need to maintain vehicle insurance.

Registrants can renew their registration in person at the DMV or at an authorized inspection station or authorized station or by mail or by electronic means.

If any certificate of registration is lost, the registrant shall apply immediately for a duplicate.


New Hampshire

Motor vehicle registration is a 2-step process. A registration permit must first be obtained from the town or city where the registrant resides. Then, the permit must be taken to a DMV office or municipal agent to complete the state portion of the registration.

The application for the registration of a motor vehicle shall contain: the applicant’s name, mailing address, residential address, birth date, and signature.

The application of any person under the age of 18 to register a vehicle shall be signed by 1 of his parents or a guardian, or in the event there is no parent or guardian, by another responsible adult. This does not apply to a person under the age of 18 years who is emancipated by marriage or who has presented proof of insurance coverage at the time of the application. The person signing may request cancellation by filing written request.

Upon transfer of ownership of any vehicle, its registration shall expire.

No certificate of registration shall be issued to any person under 16 years of age.

There is no grace period for late registration.


New Jersey

Every vehicle driven primarily in New Jersey, whether owned by a resident or non-resident, is required to be registered.

Applications for vehicle registration must be made to the MVC designated agent in the county of residence.

Applications for vehicle registration must contain the name, street address of the residence or business of the owner, mailing address, age of the owner, description of the vehicle that includes the manufacturer and vehicle identification or manufacturer’s number, name of the vehicle’s insurer, and if the vehicle is leased, the name and street address of the lessor.

Registration may be denied without presentation of a certificate of ownership.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


New Mexico

Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer is subject to registration.

Applications are made to the MVD and shall be upon the appropriate forms furnished by the MVD.

The application shall bear the signature of the owner, the name and address of the owner, a description of the motor vehicle, an odometer reading, and a statement of all liens or encumbrances upon the vehicle.

Any owner of a vehicle subject to registration which has never been registered in this state but which has been registered in another state shall have such vehicle examined and inspected for its identification number or engine number by the MVD or an officer or designated agent thereof incident to securing registration, re-registration, or a certificate of title from the MVD. NCIC clearance is also required.

A copy of the vehicle registration shall be kept in the vehicle at all times and shall be made available upon the request of a law enforcement officer.

Changes of address notices must be made within 10 business days of move.

New Mexico has no grace period for late registration.

The MVD may refuse registration or issuance of a certificate of title or any transfer of registration upon the ground that the application contains any false or fraudulent statement; the vehicle is mechanically unfit or unsafe to be operated or moved upon the highways; the MVD has reasonable ground to believe that the vehicle is a stolen or embezzled vehicle; the required fees and/or taxes have not been paid; or because the owner is required to but has failed to provide proof of compliance with a vehicle emission inspection and maintenance program.

Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, and pole trailer when driven or moved upon a highway is subject to the registration and certificate of title provisions.

Trailers not used in commerce and weighing less than 6,001 lbs. may be granted permanent registration upon application and payment of fee.


New York

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle must be made to the DMV upon a form prescribed by the DMV.

The applicant must provide his or her name, driver’s license number, birth date, sex, phone number, mailing address, and residential address as well as the vehicle’s identification number, color, weight, make, year, body type, type of fuel, seating capacity, and odometer reading. Also required is a statement on how the vehicle was obtained as well as information concerning any lien holders.

An applicant for vehicle registration must be at least 16 years of age.

No motor vehicle shall be registered unless the application for registration is accompanied by proof of financial security, which shall be evidenced by proof of insurance or evidence of a financial security bond, a financial security deposit or qualification as a self-insurer.

No motor vehicle shall be operated or driven without first being registered.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


North Carolina

All vehicles, unless exempted, must be registered with the DMV before operating the vehicle.

The following types of vehicles need not be registered: those dealing with manufacturers, dealers, or non-residents; vehicles used only to cross a highway to get from one piece of property to another; implements of husbandry, farm tractors, road construction, or maintenance machinery that are designed for use in work off the highway and are operated on the highway for the purpose of going to and from such non-highway projects; vehicles owned by the U.S. government; farm equipment headed to or from farms or markets; and trailers or semitrailers attached to and pulled by a farm vehicle.

For the requirements of an application for registration, see the APPLICATION section for Vehicle Title.

There is a 15 day grace period for late registration.


North Dakota

All motor vehicles must be registered annually with the DOT.

Applications for vehicle registration must be made to the DOT.

All registration applications must be signed by the owner and contain the owner’s county of residence; address; a brief description of the vehicle including name of the maker, engine, serial, or identification number; whether it is new or used; the last license number known and state in which it was issued; and, upon the registration of the vehicle, the date of sale by the manufacturer or dealer to the person first operating the vehicle.

If the vehicle is being registered from outside the state, the owner must show the certificate of title and registration card or other evidence that satisfactorily proves ownership.

If the vehicle is new, the certificate of origin from the manufacturer must be attached to the application for registration or certificate of title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Ohio

Applications and renewals are made to the office of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles or a deputy registrar on a written or electronic application or a preprinted registration renewal notice for the following year which begins on January 1 of each year and ends on December 31.

Applications must include a brief description of the motor vehicle to be registered; the name and residence address of the owner; the district of registration; whether the motor vehicle is a new or used motor vehicle; the date of purchase of the motor vehicle; proof of payment of fees; social security number is kept on file on the actual registration form. If the applicant is required to have an emissions inspection, an inspection certificate must accompany the application.

The application will be refused if the application is not in proper form or registration fees have not been paid. New vehicles only require certificate of title.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Oklahoma

Every owner possessing a certificate of title shall make an application for the registration of the vehicle with a motor license agent of the Tax Commission.

All applications for registration must contain a full description of the vehicle and the insurance security verification of the vehicle; and the correct name, address, driver’s license number, and insurance policy information, when applicable, of the vehicle owner. Application for registration of a manufactured home is to include the school district in which the home is to be located.

Upon the filing of a proper application and payment of the required fees, the Tax Commission shall assign 1 license plate and/or yearly decal. The decal shall have an identification number and the last 2 numbers of the year of expiration.

The purchaser of a new or used manufactured home shall register the home with the Tax Commission within 30 days of purchase.

There is a period of grace for late registration renewal, until the last day of the month after the renewal is due, during which no delinquent registration penalty is assessed.


Oregon

All vehicles owned by a person in the state are subject to registration.  Exceptions include but are not limited to: farm tractors, road rollers, trolleys, traction engines; bicycles; ATVs; a vehicle that is not operated on the highways; trailers equipped with pneumatic tires that are not operated with a loaded weight of more than 1,800 lbs.; implements of husbandry; vehicles currently registered and titled in another country, state, or territory, unless the owner is a resident of the state or the vehicle is operated on the highways of the state for profit; vehicles owned and operated by the U.S. government and emergency fire-fighting apparatus providing public fire protection.

An application for registration must contain: the owner’s name and residence or business address; a description of the vehicle, including the VIN; and a statement that the applicant is a resident of Oregon, domiciled in the state or required to register under Oregon law.

If the application is for original registration, the applicant must also include a statement that the applicant is in compliance with financial responsibility requirements.

Registration will not be renewed unless the owner is able to certify compliance with financial responsibility requirements.

An application for registration will not be granted unless the applicant simultaneously applies for, or has already been issued, title to the vehicle in Oregon.

Upon registration, the DMV issues a registration card which contains the name of the owner, the make and model year of the vehicle, the VIN, title brand(s) if applicable, and the mileage as reported on the odometer at the time of application for title, if required, along with any odometer message.

The owner of a registered vehicle must carry the registration card in the vehicle at all times.

There is not period of grace for late registration.


Pennsylvania

Application for original or renewal vehicle registration must be made on a form provided by PennDOT.

The application must contain the full name and address of the owner or owners, the make, model, year and vehicle identification number of the vehicle, and any other documents that PennDOT may require.

The vehicle title and a self-certification of financial responsibility must also accompany the application.

The self-certification form of financial responsibility requires: (1) the complete name, address, and telephone number of the applicant; (2) the name of the insurance company which is insuring the vehicle; and (3) the policy number, effective date, and expiration date of the policy of insurance insuring the vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Rhode Island

Every motor vehicle owned by a resident of Rhode Island is required to be registered, including trailers, tent trailers, and travel trailers.

Every application for vehicle registration must be signed by the owner in ink and contain: (1) the name, city, or town of resident, actual residence address, mailing address as it appears on the owner’s driver’s license, business address if the owner is a business; (2) a description of the vehicle that includes the make, model, type of body, number of cylinders, and the serial number of the vehicle, and the engine or other number of the vehicle; (3) a statement whether liability insurance is carried on the vehicle and the name of the carrier, policy number, and effective dates of the policy; and (4) the exact mileage reading on the date of application.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Motor vehicles owned or leased by federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies, motor vehicles not required to be registered in Rhode Island, and a motor vehicle registered in Rhode Island that is used to transport an individual with a medical need, are exempt from window tinting regulations.


South Carolina

Every motor vehicle, trailer, and semitrailer operated on South Carolina highways must be registered.

Newly purchased vehicles must be registered with a new plate or a plate transferred from another vehicle within 45 days of purchase. All vehicles operating on the streets or highways of South Carolina must display a regular license plate or a temporary license plate. The temporary plate is only valid for 45 days from the date of purchase of the vehicle and is available at local DMV offices or county auditor’s offices. During the 45-day period, a copy of the registration for the older vehicle, the bill of sale, title, rental contract, or a copy of any of these documents must be kept in the new vehicle at all times to verify the dates of purchase to law enforcement. Temporary license plates cannot be used to test drive a vehicle or to operate a vehicle until it is sold.

Application for registration must be made on the form prescribed by the Department. Every application must contain the following: (1) the name, residence, and mailing address of the owner or business address of the owner if a firm, association, or corporation and the county, municipality, if applicable, and school district in which the applicant resides; (2) a description of the vehicle including the make, model, type of body, number of cylinders, serial number, and engine or other number of the vehicle, whether the vehicle is new or used, the date of sale by the manufacturer or dealer to the person intending to operate such a vehicle, in the event a vehicle is designed, constructed, converted, or rebuilt for the transportation of property, a statement of the load capacity for which it is to be registered; and (3) any additional information as may reasonably be required by the Department to enable it to determine whether the vehicle is lawfully entitled to registration and licensing.

In addition to the information required above, if the application is for a motor vehicle which has been transferred from a previous registrant to the applicant, the applicant must complete the odometer disclosure statement on the application.

In addition to the other registration requirements, the Department must collect a federal employer identification number or social security number when a vehicle is registered with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) of more than 26,000 lbs. or as a bus common carrier.

A signed statement must accompany the application stating that all county and municipal taxes legally due by the applicant on the vehicle being registered have been paid.

There is a 45 day grace period for late registration.


South Dakota

Every owner of a motor vehicle, motorcycle, truck tractor, road tractor, trailer or semitrailer, or recreational vehicle or trailer, which is operated or driven on the public highways, must present to the county treasurer an application for the registration of that vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Tennessee

An application for registration must be made to the county clerk in the county of the residence of the owner, or where the vehicle is to be based or operated.

The owner must have proper title to a vehicle prior to registration.

The application for renewal is made to the county clerk of the county of the owner’s residence.

The application for renewal may be made via mail and must be postmarked no later than 20 days before the expiration date.

There is no grace period for late registration.

No registration or renewal of registration may be issued unless the application is accompanied by evidence of compliance with the state’s financial responsibility law.

Upon receipt of a registration certificate, the owner must sign the certificate and it must be carried at all times in the vehicle to which it refers or by the person driving. The use of a duplicate or facsimile, in order to ensure the preservation of the original, is acceptable.

Whenever the address of a vehicle owner changes from that named on a registration or title certificate, the owner must, within 10 days, notify the DOS of the change.

Homemade and materially reconstructed trailers may not be registered or titled unless the DOS certifies that such trailer complies with applicable safety standards.


Texas

The owner of a motor vehicle or trailer must apply for the registration of the vehicle for each registration year in which the vehicle is used or to be used on a public highway. The application must be made to the DMV through the county assessor-collector of the county in which the owner resides.

Military personnel, who are residents of Texas, were stationed in another nation, and own a vehicle that was either registered by a branch of the U.S. Armed Forces or in the nation where the person was stationed, have 90 days to register the vehicle upon their return to Texas.

An application for a vehicle registration must contain the full name and address of the owner of the vehicle, a brief description of the vehicle, and be signed by the owner.

An application for registration of a new motor vehicle must include information required by DMV rule, such as the vehicle’s trade name; year model; style and type of body; weight, if the vehicle is a passenger car; net carrying capacity and gross weight, if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle; vehicle identification number; and date of sale by the manufacturer or dealer to the applicant.

An applicant for registration of a commercial motor vehicle or trailer must submit an affidavit showing the weight of the vehicle, the maximum load to be carried on the vehicle, and the gross weight for the vehicle which is to be registered.

The DMV will not register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle for which a certificate of title is required unless the owner obtains a title or presents satisfactory evidence that a title was previously issued to the owner by the Texas DMV or another jurisdiction.

The owner of a motor vehicle must present proof of insurance or other evidence of financial responsibility before a vehicle will be registered.

An application for registration must be made during the 2 months preceding the date on which the registration expires.

A county assessor-collector or the DMV may refuse to register a motor vehicle if the assessor-collector or the DMV receive information that the owner of the vehicle owes the county money for a fine, fee, or tax that is past due.

There is a 5 working day period of grace for late registration.


Utah

A person may not operate, and an owner may not give another person permission to operate, a motor vehicle unless it has been registered.

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle shall be made by the owner of the vehicle to the DMV on a form furnished by the DMV.

The application for registration shall include: the signature of an owner of the vehicle to be registered; the name, residence and mailing address of the owner, or business address of the owner if the owner is a firm, association, or corporation; a description of the vehicle including the make, model, body type, the model year as specified by the manufacturer, the number of cylinders, and the identification number of the vehicle; and any other information required by the DMV to determine whether the owner is entitled to register the vehicle.

The DMV shall require that the applicant or person making the application for registration has a valid driver’s license.

Prior to registration a vehicle must have: an identification number inspection done by a licensed dealer or a qualified identification number inspector; passed the safety inspection, if required in the current year; passed the emissions inspection, if required in the current year; paid property taxes, the fee, or received a property tax clearance; paid required sales and use tax; paid the automobile driver education tax; paid the uninsured motorist fee, if applicable; and a valid certificate of title for the vehicle being registered.

A registration card shall be signed by the owner in ink in the space provided and carried at all times in the vehicle to which it was issued.

The application for registration shall not contain any false or fraudulent statements. Such statements shall result in refusal of registration to the applicant.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

A trailer of 750 lbs. or less unladen weight and not designed, used, and maintained for hire or for the transportation of property or persons is not required to be registered.


Vermont

Application is made to the commissioner of the DMV, and the application must attest that the vehicle is properly equipped and in good mechanical order. Along with the application, the applicant should also send the required registration fees and evidence of ownership.

The DMV will issue a certificate of registration on which will appear the name of the registrant, his address, a brief description of the vehicle registered, and the date of registration. The DMV also will assign to each motor vehicle registered a distinctive license plate.

A person shall not operate a motor vehicle nor pull a trailer or semitrailer unless the registration certificate is carried in some easily accessible place in such motor vehicle. In case of the loss, mutilation, or destruction of such certificate, the owner of the vehicle shall notify the DMV and remit a fee whereupon a duplicate certificate shall be furnished to the owner.

A person who registers a motor vehicle of which he is not the bona fide owner shall be fined $500, or imprisoned for not more than 2 years, or both.

Residents must register motor vehicles owned or leased for a period of more than 30 days and operated by them. A “resident” means any person living in the state who intends to make the state his or her principal place of domicile either permanently or for an indefinite number of years. Persons who live in the state for a particular purpose involving a defined period of time, including students, migrant workers employed in seasonal occupations, and persons employed under a contract with a fixed term, are not residents for the purposes of this title only. Any foreign partnership, firm, association, or corporation having a place of business in this state shall be deemed to be a resident as to all vehicles owned or leased and which are garaged or maintained in this state.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Virginia

The registration application must include a description of the vehicle and a statement of all liens of the vehicle.

No motor vehicle subject to an emissions test may be registered until it has passed such test or been issued a waiver.

Whenever any person who has applied for or obtained the registration or title to a vehicle moves from the address shown in his or her application, registration card, or certificate of title, he or she shall notify the DMV of the change of address within 30 days.

The DMV may reject an application for the registration of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer or certificate of title when the applicant has neglected or refused to furnish the DMV with the information required on the appropriate official form or other information required by the DMV; the required fees have not been paid; the vehicle lacks required equipment or contains prohibited equipment; or there is reason to believe that the application or accompanying documents have been altered or contain false statements.

There is no period of grace for late registration. However, there is a 90 day grace period for active duty military personnel stationed outside the United States and their accompanying spouse and dependents.


Washington

Registration applications must be made to the DOL or an agent of the DOL including county auditors.

Vehicle license plates and registration will not be issued unless the applicant simultaneously applies for a certificate of ownership or proves that a certificate of ownership has already been issued.

A resident of the state must register a vehicle that is to be operated on the highways of the state. New Washington residents have 30 days from the date they become residents to register their vehicles. A resident is a person who shows intent to live or be located in the state on more than a temporary or transient basis. Evidence of residency includes but is not limited to registering to vote in the state, receiving public assistance benefits from the state, or declaring residency for the purpose of obtaining a state license or in-state tuition.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Temporary permits are available when an application is pending and also may be issued by an authorized vehicle dealer. The temporary permit must remain affixed to the vehicle until the receipt of permanent license plates.

Temporary dealer licenses are effective for 45 days.

Vehicle licenses and license plates may be renewed for the subsequent registration year up to 18 months before the current expiration date and must be used and displayed from the date of issue or from the day of the expiration of the preceding year, whichever date is later.

The certificate of license registration must be signed by the owner and carried in the vehicle at all times.


West Virginia

Every owner of a vehicle subject to registration requirements must make an application to the DMV on the forms provided. The application must contain: (1) the signature of the owner or authorized agent; (2) the name, bona fide residence, and mailing address of the owner; (3) the county where the owner resides; (4) a description of the vehicle including the make, model, type of body, the manufacturer’s serial or identification number, or any other number, as determined by the DMV; and (5) a statement verifying that the vehicle is insured for the period of the registration.

A certificate of registration or registration plates may not be issued unless the applicant has received, or at the same time makes an application and is granted, a certificate of title for the vehicle.

A transferee of a vehicle title or interest may operate the vehicle under the registration of the previous owner for a period of 10 days from transfer, provided the previous owner gives written permission.

Unless otherwise specified, every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, pole trailer, and recreational vehicle when driven or moved on the highway is subject to the registration and title requirements.

Factory-built homes are subject to title requirements.

Upon registration, the DMV shall issue a registration card to the owner containing the following information: (1) the name and address of the owner; (2) the date of issuance; (3) the registration number assigned to the vehicle; and (4) a description of the vehicle.

There is no period of grace for late registration.


Wisconsin

Application for original and renewal registration is made to DOT, and application forms are available at the regional DOT office or online.

Application for original registration must contain the name and birth date of the owner; the name of the town, city, or village in which the owner resides; the owner’s business or residential address; and a description of the vehicle, including make, model, color, and identification number.

An application for registration will not be accepted unless a valid certificate of title has been issued to the applicant.

At least 30 days prior to expiration of the registration, the DOT must mail a notice of renewal and an application form for renewal to the last known address of the registrant.

If the applicant for registration is under age 18, the application must be accompanied by a signed statement from the applicant’s parents or person having legal custody which states the applicant has their consent to register the vehicle.

Whenever a person moves from the address named in the application for registration, or when the person’s name changes, the person has 10 days to notify the DOT in writing of the old and new addresses or names.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

Trailers and camping trailers weighing 3,000 lbs. or less and trailers that are not operated in conjunction with a motor vehicle are exempt from registration.


Wyoming

A person may not operate, and an owner may not give another person permission to operate, a motor vehicle unless it has been registered.

An application for the registration of a motor vehicle shall be made by the owner of the vehicle to the DMV on a form furnished by the DMV.

The application for registration shall include: the signature of an owner of the vehicle to be registered; the name, residence and mailing address of the owner, or business address of the owner if the owner is a firm, association, or corporation; a description of the vehicle including the make, model, body type, the model year as specified by the manufacturer, the number of cylinders, and the identification number of the vehicle; and any other information required by the DMV to determine whether the owner is entitled to register the vehicle.

The DMV shall require that the applicant or person making the application for registration has a valid driver’s license.

Prior to registration a vehicle must have: an identification number inspection done by a licensed dealer or a qualified identification number inspector; passed the safety inspection, if required in the current year; passed the emissions inspection, if required in the current year; paid property taxes, the fee, or received a property tax clearance; paid required sales and use tax; paid the automobile driver education tax; paid the uninsured motorist fee, if applicable; and a valid certificate of title for the vehicle being registered.

A registration card shall be signed by the owner in ink in the space provided and carried at all times in the vehicle to which it was issued.

The application for registration shall not contain any false or fraudulent statements. Such statements shall result in refusal of registration to the applicant.

There is no period of grace for late registration.

A trailer of 750 lbs. or less unladen weight and not designed, used, and maintained for hire or for the transportation of property or persons is not required to be registered.

All applications are made to the tag agent of the county wherein the applicant’s vehicle is required to be returned for ad valorem taxation.

The application must include the name, place of residence, and address of the applicant; a description of the vehicle; from whom, where, and when the vehicle was purchased; and the total amount of liens with the name and address of the lienholder.

Initial applications for registration must contain satisfactory proof of ownership.

No application shall be accepted and no certificate of registration shall be issued to any motor vehicle which was not manufactured to comply with federal emission and safety standards applicable to new motor vehicles.


Puerto Rico

For registry of motor vehicle, content information must include (1) vehicle description; (2) name and address of owner; (3) information relating to alienating act or lien; (4) identification information assigned; (5) authorized use verification; and (6) annual license fee payment.

Provisional registry allows vehicle owner to register car without document of ownership and to operate vehicle on public thoroughfares for a period of 30 days.

For registry of trailers, content information must include (1) identification assigned to trailer; and (2) information relating to owner, liens, and use characteristics. A trailer, for these purposes, is a vehicle not propelled by motor power and drawn by another vehicle.


Alberta

A person may not operate a motor vehicle or trailer on the highway unless a certificate of registration has been issued.

A temporary registration in the form of an in-transit permit issued by another jurisdiction in Canada permits the operation of a motor vehicle in Alberta if: (1) the operator carries the in-transit permit while operating the vehicle; (2) the operator of the vehicle acts in accordance with the terms and conditions of the in-transit permit; and (3) the owner of the vehicle possesses a valid financial responsibility card (insurance/pink card).

Prior to obtaining a certificate of registration or permit for a motor vehicle or trailer, the Registrar or license issuer may require that the applicant produce: (1) proof of ownership; (2) a financial responsibility card (insurance/pink card); (3) an inspection certificate, as required; and (4) personal identification.

Persons under the age of 18 may only be issued a certificate of registration upon satisfying the application requirements: (1) the application is signed by a parent or guardian; or (2) the applicant proves self-supporting ability or proof of marriage.

The owner must have valid insurance on the vehicle and the registration must contain the insured’s name (either exclusively or jointly with another individual).

The driver, owner, or person with the care and control of a motor vehicle must produce the vehicle registration certificate or permit on demand of any police officer.

A person may not operate a trailer on the highway unless there is an existing certificate of registration.


British Columbia

An application for registration and licensing must be made to an ICBC Appointed Agent (an Autoplan Agent). In British Columbia (BC), registration refers to maintaining a registry of vehicle ownership and licensing refers to annual licensing/operating authority and annual fee payment.

All trailers operated in BC must display a valid license plate. Out-of-province licenses of trailers are treated the same as motor vehicle licenses as outlined above.


Manitoba

With exceptions, it is not permissible to operate a motor vehicle or a trailer on the highway without a valid registration card issued in Manitoba.

An application for registration certificate must be made to the registrar.

The registrar may require proof of vehicle ownership; personal identification; or birth date verification prior to issuing a registration certificate.

A vehicle shall not be registered unless the insurance premium required by law has been paid and a vehicle inspection certificate has been filed with the registrar.

The registrar may issue a combined registration card and insurance certificate.

A person under 16 years of age may not register a vehicle.

A person under the age of 18 may not register a vehicle unless the application is signed: (1) by both parents; (2) by 1 parent if the other parent is deceased or it is not practical or desirable to obtain the signature of both; (3) by the legal guardian; or (4) by the applicant’s employer, if the applicant’s parents are deceased and there is no legal guardian.

A vehicle may only be registered in the name of the vehicle owner who: (1) alone or jointly with others has exclusive use of the vehicle, or exclusive use of the vehicle under a lease or other agreement for a period of more than 30 days; and (2) is a resident of Manitoba; has an office or principal place of business outside of Manitoba but is engaged in business in the province where the vehicle is primarily used; or is the operator of a public service vehicle or commercial truck.


New Brunswick

The application must be made to the Registrar on the appropriate form, must bear the applicant’s signature, and must be written in ink.

The application must contain: (1) the name, bona fide residence and mailing addresses of the owner; (2) a description of the vehicle including the make, model, type of body, serial, or identification number; and (3) any other information reasonably required by the Registrar.

There is no period of grace for a late registration.

Upon vehicle registration, the Registrar shall issue a registration certificate to the owner of the vehicle.

The registration certificate shall contain: (1) the name and address of the owner; (2) the registration number assigned to the vehicle; (3) a description of the vehicle; and (4) on the reverse side of the certificate, an endorsement form for vehicle transfer.

A registration certificate for a vehicle leased for over 30 days must contain, in place of the name of the owner, the name of the owner together with the name and address of the lessee under the lease.

It is not permissible to operate a motor vehicle unless a registration certificate has been issued for the vehicle, and the original or photostatic copy of the registration certificate is carried in the vehicle or on the driver at all times.

A motor vehicle liability insurance card must be carried in the vehicle or on the driver when the vehicle is operated on the highway.

The Registrar may issue a permit to an applicant to operate the vehicle in New Brunswick on a temporary basis.

The owner of a motor-driven cycle must register the cycle. Upon registration, the owner shall be issued 1 registration plate. The age requirement for the registration of a motorcycle is 16 years of age or older.

The registration for vehicles expires on midnight of the same day 1 year after the day of initial vehicle registration, except for commercial vehicles with a weight in excess of 4,500 kg and vehicles engaged exclusively for the hauling of unprocessed farm products.

The registration, registration certificate, and registration plate are valid for a 1-year period.


Newfoundland and Labrador

Before a motor vehicle can be operated in Newfoundland and Labrador, it must be registered on a form prescribed by the Registrar. The application will request the following: (1) the name, place of residence, and mailing address of the owner of the vehicle; (2) a description of the vehicle including but not limited to the make, model, type of body, the manufacturer’s serial number, and the date of sale; (3) the weight of the vehicle; (4) where the owner is applying for the first time for the registration of the vehicle described in the application, the amount of the purchase price, and whether any taxes have been paid; and (5) any other information the Registrar may require.

The appropriate fees must accompany the application.

No period of grace for late registration.

Trailers must be registered in Newfoundland and Labrador.


Northwest Territories

An owner must provide proof of a residential address in the Northwest Territories, photo identification, proof of ownership, and satisfactory proof of insurance for the vehicle.

Currently, the RLSD will not issue a certificate of registration for a motor vehicle if there are more than 90 days before the date of expiration unless there are extenuating circumstances.

An owner of a motor vehicle that is registered under the laws of another jurisdiction must obtain a certificate of registration for the vehicle by the day that vehicle has been in the Northwest Territories for 91 consecutive days regardless of whether the vehicle is operated on a highway.

A non-dealer certificate of registration expires on the earliest of the following days: (1) the day specified by the RLSD in the certificate; (2) the day that the vehicle is transferred to a new owner; or (3) 60 days after the death of the person named in the certificate, or, where the owner is a corporation, 90 days after the dissolution of the corporation.

The certificate of registration and proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle.

The Registrar can now extend the validity of a driver’s license by up to three months or renew a driver’s license one year in advance of expiry.


Nova Scotia

Unless an exemption is granted by law, every motor vehicle in Nova Scotia must be registered with the Department.

The application for a certificate of registration must be on a form prescribed by the Department. This form must contain the following information: the name and make of the vehicle; the vehicle’s serial number; any distinguishing marks on the vehicle; whether it is new or used; and any other information the Department requires.

When a vehicle is registered, the Department will issue the owner a permit which will include the license plate number, the name and address of the owner, a description of the registered vehicle, and anything else the Department determines is necessary.

There is no period of grace for late registration or plate renewal.


Nunavut

The owner of a motor vehicle may apply to the Registrar to have a certificate of registration, registration permit, in transit permit, license plate or validation sticker issued for that motor vehicle. The Registrar shall not issue a certificate of registration for a motor vehicle to a person who is named on a valid certificate of registration for the same motor vehicle if there are more than 90 days before the date of expiry on the valid certificate unless the Registrar is satisfied that there are circumstances that justify issuing a certificate earlier

The certificate of registration and proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times.


Ontario

Ontario does not issue titles to vehicles.

No person may drive a motor vehicle on a highway unless there is a currently validated permit for the vehicle and number plates are displayed on the vehicle.

Vehicle owners must apply for vehicle permits and inform the MTO of name changes at a Driver and Vehicle License Issuing Office (DVLIO). Vehicle owners may change their address and obtain validation stickers and license plates at a Service Ontario kiosk.

The owner or lessee of a vehicle has 6 days to notify the MTO of a change of name or address.

Upon becoming a resident of Ontario, a person has 30 days to obtain an Ontario permit and plates for the person’s vehicle provided that person has complied with the registration provisions of the person’s former jurisdiction.

All applicants must provide the original copy of the vehicle registration permit and a bill of sale if the permit is not in the owner’s name, a Safety Standards Certificate (SSC), a Drive Clean Vehicle Emissions Pass Report if required, proof of Ontario insurance, and a sales tax receipt or exemption declaration.

Validation of a permit will be refused if there are any outstanding fees or taxes, parking fines, or photo-radar red light camera fines related to the vehicle.

A permit for a passenger car, a motorized mobile home, an historic vehicle, a motorcycle, or a motor-assisted bicycle may be validated for a period of not less than 3 months and not more than 26 months.


Prince Edward Island

Unless the law grants an exemption, every motor vehicle in Prince Edward Island must be registered with the Department.

The application for a certificate of registration must be on a form prescribed by the Department. This form must contain the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the vehicle owner; (2) the make of the vehicle, the vehicle’s serial number, any distinguishing marks on the vehicle, and whether it is new or used; and (3) any other information the Department requires.

When a vehicle is registered, the Department will issue the owner a permit, which contains the vehicles, registration number, the name and address of the owner, a description of the registered vehicle, and anything else the Department determines is necessary.


Quebec

Every road vehicle must be registered except vehicles specifically exempted.

Every owner of a road vehicle must apply to the SAAQ for its registration upon taking possession of it.

An owner may obtain a 10-day temporary registration for a vehicle sold by a dealer.

A vehicle owner who establishes residence in Québec must apply to the SAAQ for the vehicle’s registration within 90 days.

Drivers have no grace period for late registration.

A vehicle’s registration expires when the owner ceases to own the vehicle.

The owner of a vehicle must pay the registration fees and the insurance contribution fee prior to obtaining registration and the right to use the vehicle on a public highway or on private land open to public traffic.

An applicant must supply the applicant’s name, address, birth date, status, vehicle description, net weight, name of the lessor if applicable, category of the vehicle, use of the vehicle, professional activity or legal personality of the owner if applicable, and the territory where the vehicle is used.


Saskatchewan

In order to register and insure a vehicle in Saskatchewan, an applicant must provide the appropriate documentation to satisfy identification requirements, proof of ownership, and a valid Saskatchewan inspection (some exceptions apply). Provincial Sales Tax (PST) may also be payable at the time of registration.

New residents will have 90 days after moving to Saskatchewan, or until the current vehicle registration expires (whichever occurs first), to obtain Saskatchewan registration and insurance.  The 90 day time frame does not apply to commercial and farm vehicles, which must obtain Saskatchewan registration and insurance immediately upon establishing residency.

The Department may refuse to issue a certificate of registration if, in the opinion of the Department, the applicant is unable to satisfy the identification requirements, the vehicle is unsafe for operation on provincial roadways, the vehicle is ineligible for registration in Saskatchewan, the applicant has failed to provide all documentation and information requested by the Department, or the applicant has made any false statement on the registration application.

All trailer and semi-trailers must be registered with the Department.


Yukon

A certificate of registration or permit issued by the CTS is required to operate a motor vehicle or trailer on a highway unless otherwise exempted.

A motor vehicle or trailer must be registered in the Yukon within 7 days of being brought into the territory for the first time in the previous 12 months unless otherwise exempted.

The owner of a motor vehicle must provide proof of insurance and a bill of sale signed by the seller to register the motor vehicle. If the vehicle is new, the owner must also provide a New Vehicle Information Statement (NVIS) form or the original factory invoice if the NVIS is not available.

The vehicle must be registered for a period of between 3 months and 15 months unless the vehicle is a commercial vehicle that weighs 4,500 kg or more, in which case the vehicle must be registered for a period of between 6 and 18 months.