Plate Disbursement

Alabama

License plates for automobiles and pickup trucks with 2 axles and a gross weight not greater than 12,000 lbs. are valid for 5 years.

During the 5-year license period, tabs, stamps, or devices as determined by ADOR must be affixed to the vehicle to indicate expiration.

Person changing county residence must purchase new license plate upon expiration of previous license plate or at return of old license plate.

All plates shall be treated with reflective material.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue.

One license plate is issued and must be placed at rear of vehicle.

Distinctive license plate and placard provided for handicapped individual if medical proof submitted.


Alaska

Two plates are required on vehicles. Plates will feature either blue lettering on a yellow field or the “Gold Rush Centennial” design, which is black lettering on a blue sky with white mountains and trail climbers.

License plates are reflectorized.

Plates are validated biennially with a sticker that is placed on the rear license plate.

Disability plates are available upon application and a medical certificate.


Arizona

ADOT shall issue 1 plate per vehicle registered.

Every plate shall be coated with reflective material.

The color scheme for plate is blue and white with a Grand Canyon background.

Plates are validated with tabs.

Mutilated or illegible license plates shall be returned to ADOT for replacement plates.

New or replacement plates may be received via mail.

Special plates for disabled drivers are available upon application.


Arkansas

From January 1, 1998, no plate shall be issued or renewed without satisfactory proof of insurance.

Upon registration, the owner of every vehicle shall receive a permanent license.

Every plate shall be reflectorized and shall have imprinted a multicolor reflectorized graphic design or logo.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue on white.

No identical plates shall be issued for more than 1 vehicle.

Special personalized plates are available for an additional $25.00 fee.

Special license plates are available for disabled drivers, but must have doctor’s certification of disability.

Owners of permanent license plates may renew their registrations in person or by mail at a county revenue office, or by fax within 45 days of the date of expiration.

Plates must have sticker bearing expiration date.

An applicant may renew license plates in the county where he resides in person or by mail to the revenue collector.


California

The DMV issues 2 reflectorized license plates per motor vehicle registered, except for motorcycles, and 1 license plate for all other vehicles (trailers, semitrailers, etc.) required to be registered.

When 2 plates are issued, 1 must be displayed on the front, the other on the rear; when only 1 is issued it must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white, yellow on black or blue, and blue on white.

Special plates are issued for historic vehicles, current or retired members of the Legislature, street rods, diplomats, disabled persons, members of the media, qualifying tax exempt organizations, various current and retired public employees, and special organizations.

License plates must be illuminated so as to be visible from a distance of 50 feet.

Special license plates or placards for disabled drivers are available upon application with medical certificate to DMV.


Colorado

License plates are distributed with registration of vehicle. Two plates are ordinarily issued. Plates are validated with stickers.

Every license plate shall expire on the last day of the month at the end of each 12-month period.

The color scheme for license plates is white and green or green on white.

Special license plates for disabled drivers are available upon application with medical certificate and Colorado identification on driver’s license to clerk and recorder of county in which the applicant resides, except in Denver where obtained from the Denver Motor Vehicle Department.


Connecticut

Two license plates are required. Registration stickers are not required (discontinued in 2011).

Each plate issued by the state shall be reflectorized and shall bear the words “Constitution State” and “Connecticut.” The color scheme for license plates is white on blue.

Special plates for disabled persons are available upon application with medical certificate to any DMV branch office.


Delaware

The number and registration plates shall be the property of the state and shall be furnished by the DOT for each registered motor vehicle without additional cost to the owner.

The DOT shall furnish 1 reflectorized, numbered plate for each vehicle registered.

The color scheme for license plates gold on blue.

License plates are validated with stickers.

Handicapped license plates may be issued only if applicant submits proof satisfactory to the DOT.


District of Columbia

License plates shall be disbursed at the time of registration.

All vehicles other than motorcycles and trailers shall have 2 reflectorized license plates, 1 on the front and 1 on the rear of the vehicle.

D.C. registration stickers should be placed on the lower left interior corner of the driver’s side windshield.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue on white.

Personalized license plates are available for a fee.

Plates and special windshield I.D. cards for disabled drivers are available from the DMV.


Florida

Upon the receipt of an initial application for registration, the DMV shall assign a motor vehicle a reflectorized license plate bearing the registration license number.

License plates are valid for 10 years and when issued will be issued with validation stickers indicating the expiration month and year. The plates will expire on midnight of the owner’s birthday. At the end of 10 years, upon renewal, the plates shall be replaced.

The color scheme for license plates is green on white or orange on white.


Georgia

License plates and revalidation decals are issued only upon applications made to the local tag agent.

The owners of new or unregistered vehicles are allowed 7 business days after the date of purchase to purchase a tag and/or renewal decal.

License plates and revalidation decals may be purchased by mail.

Metal license plates issued on or after January 1, 1997 are used for a period of 5 years, and a revalidation decal is issued in those years in which a metal plate is not issued.

The color scheme for license plates is black and white with peach emblem.

Defaced or illegible plates or renewal decals must be turned in at the time the replacement tag and/or renewal decal is issued. If replacement tags or decals were obtained for lost or stolen tags or decals, the original tags or decals must be immediately turned in to the Internal Administration Unit (IAU) of the DOR.

All passenger cars, including station wagons and other utility vehicles, including motorcycles, motor scooters, and buses, must display the reflectorized license plate assigned to it on the rear of the vehicle.

All trucks and trailers must, where practical, display the license plate on the rear of the vehicle. However, if the truck or trailer routinely engages in activities wherein it is inevitable that a license plate attached to the rear would be defaced, destroyed, or lost, the plate may be attached to the front.

Every motor vehicle must at all times have the license plate assigned to it firmly attached in such a manner that it will not swing and that it will be plainly visible. It is the duty of the operator to keep the license plate legible at all times. No license plate may be covered with any material unless the material is colorless and transparent.

Applicants for a disabled persons license plate must submit to the county tax commissioner or tax collector a certificate from a doctor certifying that the applicant has permanently lost the use of a leg or both legs, or an arm or both arms, or any combination thereof, or is so severely disabled as to be unable to move without the aid of crutches or a wheelchair.


Hawaii

Two plates are issued by the director of finance upon original registration; motorcycles and trailers receive only 1 plate. License plates are validated with stickers.

The color scheme for license plates is a rainbow design.

Special plates are issued for consuls and official representatives of foreign governments at no charge.

Special plates are also authorized for owners of an amateur radio station license and for disabled persons.

Regulation plates must be surrendered to the county civil defense agency upon receipt of special plates.

Special plates are issued for antique motor vehicles and are used in lieu of standard plates.

Upon the transfer of ownership of a vehicle or upon the expiration or revocation of an amateur radio station license, a holder of special plates must surrender them to the administrator of the county civil defense agency.


Idaho

Two reflectorized license plates are issued except in the case of a motorcycle, all-terrain vehicle, or vehicles displaying year of manufacture, old timer, classic car, or street rod license plates. License plates are to be displayed on both the front and rear or rear only if given 1 plate. License plates are to be displayed for the current registration year with an annual registration sticker on each license plate.

The color scheme for most license plates is black on red, white and blue.

Personalized license plates are available and must have numbers, letters, or any combination thereof with no more than 7 characters.

Special license plates may be issued but must utilize the same red, white, and blue background as the standard issue of license plates. The word Idaho must be on every plate but identification of county and inscription of “Scenic Idaho” may be omitted. No slogans infringing on trademarks of the state are permitted, unless otherwise provided, subject to approval by the Idaho Legislature.

Disability license plates and placards are issued for persons with disabilities. The license plate is the same size and color as other license plates and displays the international accessible symbol. The license plate must also display the registration number of the vehicle. An application for special license plates or cards must be made to the DMV and include written certification by a licensed physician verifying the applicant’s impairment qualifies as a disability.


Illinois

Plates issued for a motor vehicle other than a motorcycle, trailer, truck, or bus must display 2 reflectorized license plates, 1 on the front and 1 on the rear, and be securely fastened in a horizontal position to the vehicle for which it is issued so as to prevent the plate from swinging and at a height of not less than 12 inches from the ground, measuring from the bottom of such plate.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white with red letters.

Special license plates for disabled drivers are available upon application, with medical certificate, to the Secretary of State.


Indiana

When registration is completed, the Bureau will provide the registrant with one license plate or renewal tag that is sent through the mail, or other indication of registration.

License plates are validated by stickers.

The color schemes for standard license plates are 1) blue with white lettering and the Indiana logo, or 2) red, white, and blue American flag design with ‘In God We Trust’ in white lettering.

Special plates for disabled drivers are available upon application, with affidavit of disability, to Bureau of Motor Vehicles.


Iowa

After receiving the registration and title application accompanied by the appropriate fee, the county treasurer will issue 1 license plate for a motorcycle, autocycle, motorized bicycle, or trailer, and 2 license plates for every other motor vehicle. The registration plates, including special plates, are assigned to the owner of the vehicle.

A person who acquires a vehicle which is currently registered or from a dealer’s inventory may operate the vehicle without plates for 30 days if ownership evidence is carried in the vehicle.

A person who acquires a vehicle which is currently registered or from a dealer’s inventory and who has possession of plates may operate the vehicle for 45 days if ownership evidence is carried in the vehicle.

The registration plate for a motorcycle, autocycle, motorized bicycle, or trailer must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle.

Annual validation stickers are issued after payment of registration fees for each set of plates. The stickers are to be displayed on the lower left corner of the registration plates, except for motorcycles and small trailer plates, where the stickers are to be displayed on the upper left corner of the plate.

The color scheme for license plates is black on a white scenic background.

Three-year or permanent registration plates are issued for trailers. Payments for permanent plates may be made at 5-year intervals or on an annual basis.

Special license plates are available for persons with disabilities.


Kansas

The license plate shall display the registration number assigned to the vehicle, the name of the state, and the year or years for which it is issued.

In every calendar year ending in a “5” or “0,” the DMV shall furnish 1 license plate for each vehicle. In the intervening 4 years, the division shall furnish 1 decal for the license plate each year showing the expiration date.

Two personalized license plates may be issued to the owner of a passenger vehicle or truck up to 20,000 lbs. GVWR upon application for such a plate. Owners of motorcycles may receive 1 personalized plate.

License plates shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle. Owners of specialized plates shall place 1 in the front of the vehicle and 1 on the rear of the vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates shall be gold and blue on white.

Veterans with a 100% disability are eligible to receive free, distinctive license plates.

Holders of amateur radio licenses and owners of antique vehicles are eligible for a specialized license plate, upon payment of a fee.

Special license plates for handicapped individuals are available upon application, with medical certificate, to County Treasurer’s office.

The DMV shall furnish to the owner of every registered vehicle 1 reflectorized license plate.


Kentucky

One reflectorized plate is issued for the rear of the vehicle that must be illuminated during hours of darkness.

The county clerk issues a decal or decals, to be placed on the license plate, corresponding to the month and year of expiration shown on the registration certificate.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on a scenic background.

Specialized and personalized plates are available.


Louisiana

The Department issues 1 reflectorized license plate for private passenger vehicles.

Every license plate must display the registration number assigned to the owner, the name of the state, and the registration time period.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white.

License plates are validated by stickers.

License plates must be securely fastened to the vehicle, no less than 12 inches from the ground, and clearly legible.

Special license plates can be issued for a variety of groups and organizations.

A special license plate for the disabled is available upon application, with doctor’s certificates, to any motor vehicle office.


Maine

License plates are issued by the Secretary of State and are renewed annually.

License plates must be on the front and rear of each vehicle except for motorcycles and trailers which must have their plate attached to the rear.

The standard color scheme for license plates is a green shaded background, black letters and numbers with an illustration of a chickadee, pine cone and tassel.

License plates are validated by stickers.

Personalized license plates may be issued and may contain a combination of letters and numbers not to exceed 7 characters.

License plates issued to motorcycles must include the words “Ride Safe.”

Special license plates are available for disabled drivers, upon application, with physician’s certificate, to BMV.


Maryland

Upon registration of a vehicle, the MVA shall issue registration plates. Motorcycles, tractor vehicles, and trailers are to be issued 1 license plate, and every other vehicle shall be issued 2 plates.

On vehicles for which 2 plates are required, 1 plate shall be attached to the front of the vehicle and the other plate shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle.

On vehicles receiving just 1 plate, it shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle, with the exception of a tractor vehicle which is attached to the front.

Validations tabs are to be placed on the registration plates upon renewal of the vehicle registration.

Registration plates may be reflectorized, and shall have a durability of at least 5 years.

The color scheme for license plates is blue and red on white.

Vehicle dealers may issue 1 temporary registration plate to new owners, with the VIN and date of expiration clearly written on the tag.

Temporary plates expire upon the first to occur of the following: receipt of annual registration plates, rescission of the contract to buy the vehicle, or 60 days from issuance.

Personalized registration plates are available for an additional fee.

Persons presenting sufficient proof of a disability may obtain special disabled license plates.


Massachusetts

License plates are provided upon vehicle registration.

RMV provides 2 license plates per motor vehicle registration and 1 license plate per trailer registration.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue on white.

License plates are validated with decals.

Handicap plates or placards for the disabled are available upon application with medical certificate to Medical Affairs Section, Registry of Motor Vehicles. Road test may be required if medical professional is unable to certify competency to operate safely.


Michigan

The plate is required to be attached to the rear of the vehicle. The plate must be attached at a height of not less than 12 inches from the ground, measured from the bottom of the plate, in a place and position which is clearly visible.

The color scheme of the standard license plate is blue on white.

Plates are validated by stickers.

Special license plate or windshield placard disabled drivers is available upon application with doctor’s statement to Secretary of State.

The Secretary of State shall issue to the owner 1 registration plate.

Vehicle registration plates become ineligible for renewal 10 years after they are issued. An owner of a registered vehicle with a registration plate that is ineligible for renewal must acquire a replacement plate upon paying appropriate fees.


Minnesota

When the applicant pays the registration tax, the Department will issue reflectorized license plates bearing the state name and vehicle number assigned. The color scheme for license plates is blue on white.

Single plates for rear display are issued to trailers, motorcycle/mopeds, dealers in transit, collector classes, and vehicles that are of model year 1972 or earlier, not registered in Collector class, and used for general transportation purposes.

Single plates for display on the front of the vehicle are issued to tractors and truck-tractors, tractor-trailer combinations, and farm class vehicles.

If the vehicle is a trailer with 3,000 pounds or less GVW with lifetime registration, the numbered plate or sticker must be adhered to the side of the trailer frame tongue near the hitch.

All other classes are required to display registration and will be issued 2 license plates to be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle.

License plates are validated with stickers.

Special license plates for the disabled are available upon application with doctor’s certificate.


Mississippi

The State Tax Commission is authorized to issue and renew reflectorized license tags.

A license tag on a motor vehicle or trailer may be renewed for 5-year periods, except for vehicles registered in excess of 10,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW).

During each intervening year of the period tags are issued, the State Tax Commission will issue 1 decal, in lieu of tags, that specifies the month and year that the tag will expire.

License decals shall indicate the month and last 2 figures of the year the license tag will expire and shall be color-coded to make it easier to distinguish month from year.

The color scheme for license plates is yellow on green.

Personalized license tags may be issued as long as they are the same color as regular license tags and have the name of the county and not more than 7 letters and/or numbers.

Special license tags, decals, and windshield placards are available upon application to persons with a disability that limits or impairs the ability to walk. Application is to be made to the State Tax Commission.


Missouri

The DVSB distributes license plates to each motor vehicle in the state. Each type of vehicle is considered a separate class.

A set of two reflectorized license plates is issued with the certificate of registration.

Each set of license plates shall bear the name or abbreviated name of this state, the words “SHOW-ME STATE,” the month and year in which the registration shall expire, and an arrangement of numbers or letters, or both, as shall be assigned from year to year by the DVSB.

The color scheme for license plates is blue and green on white.

License plates are validated with stickers

Special plates for qualified disabled veterans will have the “DISABLED VETERAN” wording on the license plates in preference to the words “SHOW-ME STATE” and special plates for members of the national guard will have the “NATIONAL GUARD” wording in preference to the words “SHOW-ME STATE.”


Montana

Unless otherwise exempted, a person may not operate a motor vehicle on the public highways of the state unless the vehicle is properly registered and has the proper reflectorized number plates conspicuously displayed, 1 on the front and 1 on the rear of the vehicle, each securely fastened to prevent it from swinging and unobstructed from plain view.

A person may not purchase or display on a vehicle a license plate bearing the number assigned to any county other than the county of the person’s permanent residence at the time of application of registration.

All number plates are issued for a maximum period of 4 years. In years when number plates are not issued, the MVD will provide non-removable stickers bearing appropriate registration numbers that must be affixed to the rear license plate.

License plates are validated by decals.

Any purchaser of a motor vehicle may obtain a temporary window sticker from the country treasurer if he or she is unable to complete the process of applying for a Montana title at the time he or she applies for registration of the vehicle because the certificate of ownership is lost, in the possession of third parties, or in the process of reissuance. The sticker is valid for 60 days and must be displayed on the upper left-hand corner of the rear window.

The color scheme for license plates is blue with color graphics.

Personalized license plates are available as are special plates for veterans, collectors, amateur radio operators, disabled veterans, alumni of Montana colleges and universities, and organizations.

Special permits for disabled persons are available, as well as disabled plates.


Nebraska

The DMV shall furnish to every person whose motor vehicle is registered fully reflectorized license plates upon which shall be displayed the registration number, consisting of letters and numerals assigned to such motor vehicle in figures not less than 2 1/2 inches nor more than 3 inches in height, and also the word “Nebraska.”

Two plates shall be displayed on all vehicles except motorcycles, autocycles, minitrucks, truck-tractors, trailers, buses, special interest, and those registered as apportioned or displaying dealer plates. When one plate is displayed it shall be prominently displayed on the rear of the vehicle.

Effective January 1, 2017, the DMV shall issue one license plate for passenger cars that are manufactured to only display one plate. A decal authorizing the single plate shall be issued and displayed on the driver’s side of the windshield.

The DMV shall, without the payment of any extra fee, issue license plates for 1 motor vehicle and 1 motorcycle to any handicapped or disabled person.

The DMV shall furnish to every person whose motor vehicle is registered 1 or 2 renewal tabs that shall bear the year for which furnished and be so constructed as to permit them to be permanently affixed to the plates.

The color scheme for license plates is green/yellow on white for general passenger vehicles. This color scheme will discontinue January 1, 2018.  Beginning January 1, 2017 the color scheme for license plates will be gray, blue, and black on white for general passenger vehicles. There are also a variety of specialty license plates that utilize other color and design schemes.

Disabled license plates are available by application through DMV.


Nevada

The DMV shall furnish 2 license plates to every registered motor vehicle other than a motorcycle and 1 should be placed on the front and 1 on the rear.

The DMV may issue license plate stickers or tabs upon renewal of registration. Effective July 1, 2016, license plates shall be reissued every 8 years.

License plates assigned to a passenger car or truck must contain a space for the name of a county or other identification, and a designation which consists of a group of 3 numerals followed by a group of 3 letters.  Personalized plates may have up to seven letter/number combinations.

One license plate will be assigned to motorcycles; it is to be mounted on the rear of the motorcycle, and shall consist of 6 letters or numerals.

Each license plate must be of sufficient size to be plainly readable from a distance of 100 feet during daylight, and treated to reflect light and to be at least 100 times brighter than conventional painted number plates.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on sunset.

Personalized plates are available for an added fee for passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles, or trailers.

Specially designed plates are available for an added fee for a wide range of themes.

Special license plates and permits for disabled drivers are available by application to DMV.

License plates for registered trailers will be manufactured in 2 sizes, with the smaller size being issued to trailers with a GVWR less than 1,000 lbs. The smaller plates will have 6 numbers, and the larger plates will have 1 letter and 5 numbers.


New Hampshire

The DMV shall design and issue to every person whose vehicle is registered a license plate or plates.

Every vehicle driven on any road, if required to be registered, shall have one or more reflectorized number plates displayed with any current validation sticker issued by the DMV or an authorized agent.

Registration plates for passenger vehicles shall display the state motto “Live Free or Die.”  Plates are required to be kept clean.

Special license plates or hanging placards for disabled drivers are available by application to DMV. Letter from physician attesting to disability and possession of New Hampshire driver’s license or non-driver ID is required.  All applicants must prove residency.


New Jersey

Issuance of license plates may be denied without presentation of a certificate of ownership.

Two plates are issued.

The color scheme for license plates is black on goldfinch & pale yellow.

Special license plates and windshield placards for disabled drivers are available at no fee by application to the MVC.


New Mexico

One reflectorized plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle not less than 12 inches from the ground.

After the initial registration, license plates are validated by a sticker when the required registration renewal fees have been paid.

The color scheme for license plates is red on yellow

Disabled license plate available by submitting application, accompanied by medical statement from licensed physician attesting to disability to Vehicle Services Bureau. Disabled placards movable from vehicle to vehicle are also available at local field offices with appropriate medical form completed by physician.


New York

Upon registration, the DMV will issue 2 reflectorized, numbered plates to the owner of any motor vehicle and 1 numbered plate to the owner of any trailer or motorcycle. The plates shall have a distinct number that corresponds with the registration number on the registration certificate.

The plates shall be securely fastened on the vehicle, 1 on the front and 1 on the rear, at a height not more than 48 inches and not less than 12 inches from the ground.

The plates shall be kept in a clean condition so as to be easily readable and shall not be covered by glass or any plastic material.

The DMV shall assign to such motor vehicle used for transporting persons with disabilities distinctive numbered plates, called disabled person plates.

The DMV may issue special number plates to applicants in the same manner that regular plates are issued but with the payment of an increased fee.

Numerous distinctive license plates are available. Please check with the DMV or online at dmv.ny.gov to view the selection of plates available.

Disabled license plates available upon application to DMV. Doctor’s statement attesting to disability must accompany application.

The color scheme for license plates is white, blue on white, or blue on gold.

Plates are validated by windshield sticker.


North Carolina

Upon registration, the DMV shall issue 1 reflectorized registration plate for a motorcycle, trailer, semitrailer, and every other motor vehicle.

Every license plate shall have the registration number assigned to the vehicle, the name of the state of North Carolina, and year number for which it is issued or for the expiration date.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue on white.

License plates are validated by stickers.

Commercial plates must also bear the word “commercial,” unless it is a trailer or is licensed for 6,000 lbs. or less.

Vehicle owners may pay a prorated fee for license plates issued for less than a year. If the plate is issued between April 1 and June 30, the owner will pay 75% of the fee. Between July 1 and September 30, he or she owes 50% of the fee, and from October 1 to December 31, 25% of the fee.

Handicapped plates are available at DMV branch offices throughout the state.


North Dakota

Two reflectorized number plates are issued by the DOT for each registered motor vehicle, and 1 number plate for each registered motorcycle, trailer, or housetrailer.

License plates that are marked to indicate the mobility impaired are available without additional charge upon application and payment of the regular license fee.

The color scheme for license plates is black on blue and gold.

Personalized plates with not more than 7 numerals, letters, ampersands, or combination thereof are available upon application. Personalized motorcycle plates may not contain more than 6 characters.

An annual registration tab or sticker for the current registration year must be displayed on each plate.

License plates are issued upon payment of registration fees.

Mobility impaired placard or license plates are issued by the Motor Vehicle Division upon completion of Form SFN 2887.


Ohio

Plates must be displayed on both the front and the rear for all motor vehicles, and on the rear only for motorcycles and trailers. All license plates shall be securely fastened so as not to swing, and shall not be covered by any material that obstructs their visibility.

The color scheme for license plates is red with sunburst in white and blue background

License plates are validated by a sticker.

Disability license plates or disability parking placards are available by application with documentation of disability and prescription for disability placard from physician or chiropractor to BMV or local deputy registrars.


Oklahoma

The license plate shall be affixed to the rear of the vehicle.

The yearly decal will validate the license plate for each registration period.

The license plate and decal shall be of such size, color, design, and numbering as the Tax Commission directs. Each license plate shall have a space for the placement of the yearly decals.

Temporary license plates placed on newly purchased vehicles are valid for up to 30 days.

Personalized license plates will be issued with a maximum of 7 letters or numbers, or a combination of 4 letters and 3 numbers. No punctuation marks or symbols are allowed.

Personalized license plates for motorcycles will be issued with a maximum of 6 letters or numbers, or a combination of 4 letters and 2 numbers.

Disabled license plates issued upon application to Oklahoma Tax Commission – no additional charge.


Oregon

Upon filing of an application for registration and payment of the appropriate fees, the DMV will issue 1 license plate for a moped, motorcycle, travel trailer, camper, antique vehicle, or vehicle of special interest. Two reflectorized license plates are issued for all other vehicles.

In lieu of new plates, the DMV issues stickers upon renewal of registration.

Special plates are available for special groups and vehicles including veterans’ organizations, institutions of higher education, nonprofit groups, amateur radio operators and special vehicles. Personalized plates are also available.

Disabled person parking placards issued upon application to DMV, with certification by licensed physician attesting to permanent or temporary disability.

License plates have a graphic background.


Pennsylvania

PennDOT will issue 1 registration plate when a car is registered in Pennsylvania.

Registration plates and motorcycle decals are available to persons with disabilities and severely disabled veterans by application to the Bureau by completing Form MV145 or Form MV145V for veterans with a reduced fee of $11.00. Notarization is required.

No fee required for severely disabled veterans motorcycle decal.

Disabled parking placards are available by application to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. No fee is required. Notarization and Form MV145A.

The color scheme for registration plates is blue, white, and yellow, with blue letters and numbers.

It is unlawful to display on any vehicle a registration plate which is otherwise illegible at a reasonable distance or is obscured in any manner.


Rhode Island

Plates are provided upon vehicle registration, 1 fully reflective plate for each motorcycle or trailer and 2 fully reflective plates for every other motor vehicle.

A temporary plate may be issued that allows the operation of a vehicle on the public highways for a period of 5 days from the date of issue.

On a motor vehicle, plates must be attached 1 in the front and 1 in the rear. On a motorcycle or trailer, plates must be attached at the rear of the vehicle.

Handicapped parking placards or stickers may be issued upon application and proof of a disability. The placard or sticker shall be renewed every 3 years for individuals with a long-term or permanent disability.

The color scheme for license plates is grey-blue on off white.

License plates are validated by stickers.


South Carolina

The Department upon registering and licensing a vehicle must issue to the owner 1 license plate. This license plate must be attached to the outside rear of the vehicle, except that on truck tractors and road tractors the license plate must be attached to the outside front of the vehicle. New replacement plates are issued every 10 years.

License plates are revalidated by stickers.

The license plate color scheme is blue, orange and white with black characters.

A disabled license plate or placard is available from DMV by completion of RG-007. $1 fee for each placard. Only one placard may be issued to each applicant.


South Dakota

Once a vehicle has been properly registered, the county treasurer will issue the vehicle’s owner reflectorized 2 license plates to be placed on the front and rear of the vehicle. The county treasurer will mail the license plates to an applicant upon request if that applicant pays the appropriate fees. Motorcycles are only required to display one plate.

Disabled license plates available upon application to the department.

The color scheme for license plates is red, white and blue on white background.

License plates are validated by a sticker.


Tennessee

The county clerk issues 1 reflectorized plate per motor vehicle upon successful application for registration.

The license plate issued for passenger cars, including trucks with a manufacturer’s ton rating not exceeding 1/2 ton and having a pickup body style, motorcycles, trailers, and also those issued for motor homes, must be attached to the rear of the vehicle. License plates issued for all other vehicles must be attached to the front of the vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is black on white.

License plates are validated with stickers.

Disabled license plates are available by application through the county clerk’s office with physician’s statement attesting to disability. Placards are available through county clerk or Department of Safety.

No tinted materials may be placed over a license plate even if the information on the license plate is not concealed.  On motor vehicles factory-equipped to illuminate license plates, the plates must be illuminated at all times that headlights are on.


Texas

Two license plates are issued for a 5-year period. Validation stickers are issued each year after the 1st year when a license plate or set of plates was issued.

The validation stickers must be attached to the inside of the vehicle’s windshield within 6 inches of the place where the motor vehicle inspection sticker is required to be placed. If the vehicle does not have a windshield, the DMV will issue a sticker for attachment to the rear license plate.

Numerous specialty license plates are available.

Permanently disabled drivers have the option of applying for specially designated plates or placards designed to hang from the rearview mirror. An applicant may receive 2 disabled person plates or 1 placard and/or 1 set of plates. An additional set of plates may be obtained for specially equipped vehicles for persons who have lost the use of 1 or both legs.

The license plate color scheme is red and blue on white.


Utah

The DMV upon registering a vehicle shall issue to the owner 1 license plate for a motorcycle, trailer, or semitrailer and 2 identical reflectorized license plates for every other vehicle. Each license plate shall have displayed on it: the registration number assigned to the vehicle for which it is issued; the name of the state; a designation of the county in which the vehicle is registered; and a registration decal showing the date of expiration.

Each original license plate that is not a special issuance plate shall be a statehood centennial license plate or a “Ski Utah” license plate. The color scheme for license plates is blue on orange and blue.

A person who is the registered owner of a vehicle may, upon payment of a fee, apply to the DMV for personalized license plates.

The owner of a motor vehicle that is a model year 1973 or older may apply to the DMV for permission to display an original issue license plate of a format and type issued by the state in the same year as the model year of the vehicle.

Every license plate shall at all times be securely fastened in a horizontal position at a height not less than 12 inches from the ground and maintained free from foreign materials and clearly legible from a distance of at least 100 feet during daylight. License plates may be reasonably obscured by a trailer hitch, a wheelchair lift or wheelchair carrier, a trailer being towed by the vehicle, a bicycle rack, ski rack, or luggage rack, or a similar cargo carrying device.

Disabled plates and placards are available by application to Customer Service Division. Affidavit by owner and disability certification by physician are required to accompany application.


Vermont

The DMV shall issue to each motor vehicle a distinctive number that shall be displayed on plates.

All number plates shall be the property of the state.

A motor vehicle operated on any highway in this state shall have displayed in a conspicuous and un-obscured place either 1 or 2 plates. If 1 plate is issued, the plate shall be attached securely to the rear of the vehicle. If 2 plates are furnished, 1 shall be secured to the rear and 1 shall be secured to the front of the vehicle.

A person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless number plates and a validation sticker are displayed. A registration validation sticker shall be unobstructed.  For vehicles issued registration plates with dimensions of approximately 12 × 6 inches, in the lower right corner of the rear registration plate; and for vehicles issued a registration plate with a dimension of approximately 7 × 4 inches, in the upper right corner of the rear registration plate.

Specialized plates are available.

Disabled cards and license plates are available by application to DMV.

The color scheme for license plates is white on green.


Virginia

Two reflectorized plates must be attached to both the front and the rear of the motor vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white.

License plates are validated by stickers.

For a motorcycle, moped, or trailer, the plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle.

Handicapped license plates are available by application to DMV or Customer Service Center.

The use of any bracket, holder, mounting, or frame that obscures the alpha-numeric license number, the name or abbreviated name of the state, or any decal, stamp, or other device indicating the month or year in which registration expires is prohibited.


Washington

All motor vehicles, except trailers, campers, collector vehicles, and motorcycles, are issued 2 license plates. Trailers, campers, collector vehicles, and motorcycles are issued 1 plate.

If a vehicle is issued 2 plates, 1 plate must be displayed on the front of the vehicle, and 1 plate must be displayed on the rear. If 1 plate is issued, that plate must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle. Each vehicle license plate must be placed or hung in a horizontal position at a distance of not less than 1 foot or more than 4 feet from the ground and must be kept clean so as to be plainly seen and read at all times. Any holders, frames, or any materials that in any manner change, alter, or make the vehicle license plate illegible are prohibited.

Current registration tabs are affixed to the rear license plate as indicated on the license plate to identify the registration expiration month or year for a specific vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is red and blue on white.

Numerous specialty license plates are available.

Disabled license plates or placards are available by application to the DOL or authorized agents located throughout the state. Proof of disability must be provided by the DOL and signed by both the disabled person and his or her physician.


West Virginia

The DMV shall issue to the owner 1 registration plate for a motorcycle, trailer, semitrailer, or other motor vehicle upon registration.

Registration plates must be of a reflective material and display the registration number for the vehicle, the state (which may be abbreviated), and the year when the plate expires.

The registration plate must be legible from a distance of 150 feet during daylight.

The registration number for plates shall begin with the number 2.

Registration plates must be attached to the rear of the vehicle, except for truck tractors and road tractors designed and constructed to pull trailer and semitrailers when plates on the rear would not be visible. In that case, plates must be on the front.

The registration plate must be securely fastened in a horizontal position and must be at a height of not less than 12 inches from the ground.

Disabled license plates and placards are available by application to DMV, accompanied by statement of disability from physician or prescribed form.

The color scheme for license plates is blue and gold on white.


Wisconsin

The DOT issues 2 plates, both of which must be displayed.

The plates must be attached to the front and rear.

License plates are validated by stickers sold by the DOT or other authorized providers.

Special plates are issued for persons with disabilities, veterans, amateur radio station licensees, and various special groups.

Personalized plates may also be issued upon application.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white, red on white, and black on white.


Wyoming

Upon receipt of an approved application and payment of fees the county treasurer will issue to the applicant 1 reflectorized license plate or validation sticker for motorcycles, and trailers, including house trailers, and 2 reflectorized license plates or proper validation stickers for any other vehicle.

License plates must be conspicuously displayed and securely fastened to be plainly visible, secured to prevent swinging, attached in a horizontal position no less than 12 inches from the ground, and maintained free from foreign materials and in a condition to be clearly legible. Motorcycles and trailers must display 1 license plate on the rear of the vehicle, and all other vehicles must display 1 license plate on the front of the vehicle and 1 license plate on the rear of the vehicle.

License plates and stickers may be delivered by mail if the applicant so desires, but the mailing cost may be required to be paid by the applicant.

Any person who registers 2 or more vehicles may select 1 currently existing registration month for all of those vehicles.

The color scheme for license plates is dark blue on light blue with a graphic background. License plates are also available for amateur radio operators, antique motor vehicles, disabled veterans, former prisoners of war, Pearl Harbor survivors, National Guard members, and Purple Heart recipients.

Applications for a specific license plate number must be made to the county treasurer by the last day of the annual registration month.

WYDOT will issue a special tamper-resistant removable windshield placard to an applicant submitting a letter from his or her physician stating that the applicant has a disability that is expected to last a minimum of 12 months that limits or impairs the ability to walk. The placard is also available to any person responsible for the transportation of eligible persons. An eligible person may also apply for special license plates.


Puerto Rico

License plates are issued by TPW only after vehicle is recorded in motor vehicle registry.

New plates are required when use of vehicle chanes and different identification number is required or when individual acquiring vehicle does not possess plates.

Plates must be displayed with illuminated light at night.


Alberta

Upon the issuance of a certificate of registration, the Registrar shall issue vehicle license plates in the number and design specified by the Registrar.

The Registrar may authorize the use of a license plate for more than 1 year if validated by an appropriate tab.

License plates may be issued prior to the expiration date specified.

A license plate with a validation tab is valid for so long as the respective certificate of registration is valid.

A personalized license plate (also known as vanity plates) can have up to 7 characters, either letters or numbers. Personalized plates can be issued for almost every registration class except Dealer, Antique, or Disabled. Alberta Government Registries reserves the right to reject requests for personalized plates for any reason, which includes ethnic slurs, religious slurs, or foul language.


British Columbia

Front and rear license plates must be displayed on all BC licensed passenger vehicles except motorcycles and trailers, which require a rear plate only. BC utilizes an expiration decal that includes the month, year, and date of expiration of the vehicle license and insurance. A decal is applied to the rear plate for passenger cars and trailers (front for commercial trucks and buses over 5,500 kg GVW) indicating expiration of license and insurance. Vehicle licenses are issued for periods ranging from 3 months to 12 months.


Manitoba

When issuing a registration card for a vehicle, the registrar shall issue a vehicle plate or plates, and a registration card with the appropriate validation sticker or registration class sticker.

Validation stickers are to be affixed to the license plate as evidence of a valid registration.

A plate remains the property of the Crown.

It is not permissible to operate a vehicle on the highway unless the number plate or plates are clearly visible and legible.


New Brunswick

Upon registering a vehicle, the registrar shall issue to the owner 1 reflectorized registration plate for a motorcycle, trailer, or semitrailer, or 2 reflectorized registration plates for every other motor vehicle.

A registration plate must display the registration number assigned; the name or abbreviation of the province; the number of the issuance year; and any other information required by the Minister of Public Safety. The letters and numbers on the registration plate must be visible from a distance of 30 meters in the daylight.

The registration plates issued remain at all times the property of the Crown.

When 2 registration plates are issued for a motor vehicle, except for a motorcycle, 1 must be displayed on the front and 1 on the rear. When only 1 registration plate is issued for a motorcycle or other vehicle required to be registered, the plate must be displayed on the rear except for a truck tractor, which must display the plate on the front.

The Registrar may issue, in lieu of registration plate or plates for 1 year, a device or sticker that may be attached to the registration plate, windshield, or other parts of the vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is maroon and green on white.

The Registrar may issue to disabled persons identification plates, permits, or placards to be displayed on or in vehicles used for the transportation of disabled persons.


Newfoundland and Labrador

A driver or owner of a vehicle must ensure that the license plates are securely fastened to the vehicle at least 30 centimeters from the ground in a position that, in the case of a motorcycle, is clearly visible from the rear; a trailer, the plate is clearly visible from the rear; and all other motor vehicles, the front plate is clearly visible from the front, and the rear plate is clearly visible from the rear.

Passenger vehicles are issued two plates that are validated by stickers.

The color scheme for license plates is red on white.


Northwest Territories

The license plate must be attached to the rear bumper of a motor vehicle, to the rear fender of a motorcycle, or to the back of a trailer at a position not lower than the rear axle.

Commercial vehicles having a gross weight over 4500 kg must have the licence plate attached to the front bumper.

Personalized license plates are available.

Validation stickers (registration stickers) are no longer required.


Nova Scotia

When a vehicle is registered, the Department must assign the vehicle number license plates. Two plates will be issued to a camper, farm truck, commercial fisherman, truck, service truck, self-powered miscellaneous equipment, a vehicle to bear firefighter plates, personalized plates, and antique plates. All other motor vehicles will be issued 1 number license plate.


Nunavut

No person shall operate or park a motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, trailer or a prescribed class of motor vehicle, on a highway unless a license plate is securely attached to the rear bumper of the vehicle.

License plates are validated by stickers.

Where a validation sticker or license plate is lost, stolen, destroyed or becomes illegible, the person to whom the license plate or validation sticker was issued may apply for a new license plate or validation sticker.


Ontario

No number other than that on the number plate furnished by the MTO may be exposed on any part of a motor vehicle or trailer in such a position or manner as to confuse the identity of the number plate.

The reflectorized license plates for a motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle or motor-assisted bicycle, must be attached to and exposed in a conspicuous position on the front and rear of the motor vehicle.

The license plates for a motorcycle, motor-assisted bicycle, or trailer must be attached to and exposed in a conspicuous position at the rear of the vehicle.

A current validation sticker must be affixed to the upper right-hand corner of the rear plate.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white.

Renewal applications are mailed to the owner approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the validation sticker. The expiration date is usually the owner’s birthday.

The number plates must not be obstructed by any device that prevents the entire plate from being accurately photographed by a photo-radar or red light camera system or from being identified by an electronic toll system.

Personalized plates and over 40 different graphic plates are available.

Disabled person parking permit is issued by the Ministry of Transportation. Application must be completed and signed by medical practitioner.


Prince Edward Island

One reflectorized license plate will be disbursed for all vehicles. The license plates for motor vehicles must be attached to the front. A license plate for a truck must be attached to the rear of the truck.

The color scheme for license plates is green on white.

License plates are validated with stickers.


Quebec

Vehicle owners are issued 1 reflectorized registration plate. When the plate is issued, the owner must firmly attach the plate to the rear of the vehicle.

The color scheme for license plates is blue on white.

Where a vehicle is essentially designed to tow a trailer, the license plate must be affixed to the front of the vehicle.

No registration plate may bear any inscription other than those determined by the SAAQ. The registration plate must be free of any object or matter that could impair its legibility. If the plate is attached to the rear of the vehicle, it must be sufficiently lighted.

No plate that may be confused with a registration plate issued by the SAAQ or by any other competent administrative authority may be attached to a road vehicle or affixed to a plate, except in the case of a plate required by another law in force in Québec.

The owner of a road vehicle must place the temporary registration certificate issued to him or her in the upper left-hand part of the rear window of the vehicle.

Where it is impossible to affix a temporary registration certificate in the upper left portion of a vehicle’s rear window, the temporary registration must be affixed in the upper left portion of the windshield.


Saskatchewan

When a vehicle is registered, 1 reflectorized license plate is provided to the vehicle’s owner, for motor vehicles.

The color scheme for regular numbered series license plates is green on white.  Some specialty plates are color-schemed white on green.

 


Yukon

License plates are issued by the CTS at the same time the certificate of registration is issued.

No person may attach to a motor vehicle or trailer or operate a motor vehicle or trailer to which is attached a license plate other than a license plate authorized for use on that motor vehicle or trailer.

No person may operate or park a motor vehicle or trailer unless each license plate required is attached to the vehicle in the proper location and manner.

The operator of a motor vehicle or trailer must at all times keep any license plate required to be attached to the vehicle secured in a manner and maintained in a condition so as to be clearly visible and readable and un-obscured.

Only 1 license plate is issued per vehicle, except that 2 personalized plates may be issued.

Except for truck tractors and dump trucks, the plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle so that the bottom of the plate is at least as high off the ground as the rear axle. A second plate may be attached to the front of the vehicle so that the bottom of the plate is at least as high off the ground as the front axle.