Motorcycle Licenses (Click here for Canada)

United States

Alabama

A driver’s license issued pursuant to state law suffices to operate a motor-driven cycle.

A person 14 years of age or older may obtain an operator’s license for motor-driven cycle and must register with the Director of Public Safety.

Alaska

Licenses are required for operators at least 16 years old.

Learner’s permits are available for those age 14, but they must ride under the supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator at least 19 years old.

Operators under age 18 are required to have a 6-month instruction permit.

A license is required for mopeds. Driver’s must be 14 years old, and the bikes can have a maximum engine size of 50 cc.

Arizona

Operators age 15 and 6 months and older may be issued a motorcycle instruction permit. First time drivers must pass both a driver license and a motorcycle operator written test. Current instruction permit or license holders need only take the motorcycle operator written test.

Applicants must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a motorcycle license or endorsement.

An applicant must also have satisfactorily completed a motorcycle driver education program that is approved by MVD, or the parent or guardian must certify in writing that the applicant has completed at least 30 hours of motorcycle riding practice.

Arkansas

Licenses are required for motorcycles:

  • Minimum age is 16.
  • Certificate is issued by state police.
  • Title and registration are required.
  • Written and road tests are required.

Ages 14 and older may use motor-driven cycle (engine between 50 cc and 250 cc) or motor-driven bicycle (engine up to 50 cc).

Ages 10 and older may use a motorized bicycle but only on private property and within a municipality with a population of ten thousand (10,000) or more.

California

Motorcycles may be operated by holders of instruction permits who are at least 15 years and 6 months old and have completed both an approved driver education course and a driver training course, or by holders of instruction permits who are at least 17 years and 6 months old. Motorcycles may not be operated by either instruction permit holder after dark or on freeways and may not carry passengers. Class M1 or M2 licenses shall not be issued to persons under 21 unless they provide evidence of completion of an approved motorcycle safety training program.

Colorado

Any operator of a motorized bicycle shall possess a valid Driver’s license.

Connecticut

Applicants are eligible for a learner’s permit at age 16, after passing a vision test and written test.

Applicants for motorcycle licenses between the ages of 16 and 18 must have the notarized consent of a parent, guardian, or spouse, proof that they have completed a novice motorcycle training course.

All applicants who want to obtain a motorcycle endorsement also must satisfactorily complete a novice motorcycle training course.

Classes are offered through the CT Department of Transportation’s Connecticut Rider Education Program (ConRep) at certain locations throughout the state.  A list of locations may be found at the Connecticut DMV.

All applicants who have not had a Connecticut driver’s license in the previous 2 years must pass a vision test, written test, and an on-the-road examination.

Learner’s permit and provisional license holders under age 18 may not transport any passenger on a motorcycle for six months after the issuance of a motorcycle endorsement.  Permit holders age 18 and older may not transport passengers for 90 days after the permit expires.

Delaware

No person shall operate a motorcycle without being properly licensed, having passed an examination testing the person’s ability to operate such a vehicle safely, or without completing the Motorcycle Rider Education Program as implemented by the DOT.

Riders who take an endorsement skills test on a three-wheeled motorcycle will have a three-wheeled motorcycle restriction, in addition to the motorcycle endorsement, limiting their operation to three-wheeled motorcycles only.

District of Columbia

Applicants for a motorcycle license must fulfill the same requirements as applicants for motor vehicles.

The types of licenses are Class M: Motorcycle; Class N: Moped.

Motorcycle operators are not subject to the minimum insurance liability requirements.

Florida

The examination for a motorcycle license endorsement tests the applicant’s knowledge of the operation of a motorcycle and of any traffic laws specifically relating to motorcycles. Examination also includes an actual demonstration of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motorcycle.

Every 1st-time applicant for licensure to operate a motorcycle who is under 21 years of age must provide proof of completion of a motorcycle safety course.

Georgia

Operators of motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, and 3-wheeled motorcycles must have a Class M driver’s license or a Class MP instruction permit.

A person must be at least 16 to receive a Class M license.

Motorcycle license applicants who have successfully completed an approved rider education course will be required to pass an eye examination to obtain a Class M license.

Hawaii

A temporary instruction permit may be obtained at age 15 1/2 but holders of temporary permits may not operate a motorcycle or motor scooter during the hours of darkness or carry any passengers.

The temporary instruction permit for a motorcycle may not be renewed more than once.

The roadside examination for a motorcycle license may be waived if the applicant has completed the approved motorcycle education course.

Idaho

No person under 21 years of age may apply for or obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license without successful completion of an approved motorcycle rider training course.

Any person who applies for a motorcycle endorsement may be required to pass the motorcycle skills test.

Illinois

Licenses will not be issued to any person under the age of 18 as an operator of a motorcycle unless the person has completed a motorcycle training course approved by IDOT and the required Secretary of State’s motorcycle driver’s examination.

A 12-month instruction permit for a motor-driven cycle or motorcycle may be issued to a person 18 years of age or more, which entitles the holder to drive upon the highways during daylight under the direct supervision of a licensed motor-driven cycle operator or motorcycle operator with the same or greater classification, who is 21 years of age or older and who has at least 1 year of driving experience.

Indiana

The operator of a motorcycle may have either a motorcycle learner’s permit or a commercial or a regular driver’s license, chauffeur’s license, or public passenger chauffeur’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.

A temporary motorcycle learner’s permit can be issued to a person who holds a valid operator, chauffer or public passenger chauffer base license and passes a vision screening and motorcycle knowledge test. A learner’s permit allows the driver to drive on the highway for a period of 1 year as long as the driver wears a helmet, does not carry passengers, and only operates the motorcycle during daylight hours.

A motorcycle license endorsement may be issued if the operator passes a motorcycle skills test or provides proof of completing the Motorcycle Operator’s Safety Education Training course as well as a vision screening or has a current motorcycle operator endorsement or license from any other jurisdiction and successfully completes the written test.

A motorcycle learner’s permit cannot be issued to a person younger than 16 and 180 days of age.

Iowa

Class M driver’s or Endorsement L licenses are issued for the operation of a motorcycle.

Applicants under the age of 18 for a motorcycle driver’s license must successfully complete a motorcycle education course.

Kansas

Operators of motorcycles must obtain a Class M license.

Applicants for a motorcycle license must fulfill the same requirements as applicants for motor vehicles, except that applicants for class M licenses who have completed prior approved motorcycle safety training are not required to complete further written and driving testing.

Kentucky

Any person who already possesses a valid intermediate driver’s license, or who is at least 18 years old, may apply for an instruction permit to operate a motorcycle.  A motorcycle instruction permit is valid for 1 year.

An applicant for a motorcycle license must pass a roadside demonstration test.

Motorcycle rider training courses are provided free of charge to applicants under 18 years of age.

Successful completion of an approved rider training course, which includes a minimum of 8 hours of hands-on instruction, permits exemption from the licensing skill test for motorcycle license applicants.

Louisiana

There is no separate class of driver’s license for motorcycle riders.

To operate a motorcycle, a person must obtain an endorsement to his or her regular driver’s license. An endorsement can be obtained by passing an operation skills test and a knowledge test. An operation skills test does not have to be taken if the applicant successfully completed the Department-approved Motorcycle Safety, Awareness, and Operation Training Program.

Children: No operator shall carry or transport a child on a motorcycle who is required to be restrained in a rear-facing or forward-facing child safety seat. Children may be a passenger on a motorcycle only if he or she is over the age of 5 and is wearing a safety helmet.

Maine

Operation of a motorcycle, motor-drive cycle, or moped requires a special endorsement on a license.

A person must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit.

An instruction permit applicant must pass a vision test and a knowledge test related specifically to the safe operation of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped. An applicant must complete a motorcycle driver education program.

An instruction permit holder may operate a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped only during daylight hours and they must wear a helmet. The permit does not allow the holder to carry a passenger or ride out of state.  Effective September 17, 2013, the restriction on nighttime driving by instruction permit holders is repealed.

Maryland

A Class M license authorizes the licensee to drive motorcycles, but an applicant must be age 16 years 3 months before obtaining a provisional license. The same application procedures for a motor vehicle apply to a motorcycle application.

An applicant under the age of 18 must complete a driver education and a motorcycle safety course.

Massachusetts

Class M: A motorcycle or any other motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the rider and designed to travel with no more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground.

Michigan

A person, before operating a motorcycle upon a public street or highway in this state, must procure a motorcycle endorsement on the operator’s or chauffeur’s license.

Before a person who is less than 18 years of age is issued an original motorcycle endorsement on an operator’s or chauffeur’s license, the person must pass an examination and a motorcycle safety course.

A person, before operating a moped upon a highway, must procure a special restricted license to operate a moped unless the person has a valid operator’s or chauffeur’s license. A special restricted license to operate a moped may be issued to a person 15 years of age or older if the person satisfies the Secretary of State that he is competent to operate a moped with safety.

Minnesota

A person operating a motorcycle upon a roadway must be granted the rights and is subject to the duties applicable to a motor vehicle as provided by law.

No person can operate a motorcycle or motor scooter on any street or highway without having a valid standard driver’s license with a 2-wheeled endorsement.

A 2-wheeled endorsement will be issued if the applicant has a valid 2-wheeled vehicle instruction permit and has passed a written examination and road test administered by the Department.

If the applicant is under age 18, he or she must also successfully complete an approved 2-wheeled vehicle driver safety course.

The Department can issue a 2-wheeled vehicle instruction permit to any person over 16 years of age who is in possession of a valid driver’s license, is enrolled in an approved 2-wheeled vehicle driver’s safety course (if under age 18), has passed a written examination for the permit, and has paid all necessary fees.

A person who has an instruction permit cannot carry any passengers while operating the motorcycle, cannot drive the motorcycle at night, and cannot drive the motorcycle on any interstate highway.

Mississippi

A restricted motorcycle license can be issued to any applicant who fulfills all the requirements necessary to obtain such a license. The license allows the person to operate a motorcycle and no other motor vehicle.

A motorcycle endorsement may be issued to any person who holds a valid Mississippi driver’s license and meets the requirements for endorsement.

Missouri

It is unlawful to operate a motorcycle or motor-tricycle unless the operator has a valid license that shows the operator has successfully passed an examination for the operation of the vehicle.  Active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces may waive the driving skills portion of the examination by submitting a proof of completion card from a military Motorcycle Rider Training Course.

Any person at least 15 1/2 years of age who, except for age or lack of instruction in operating a motor vehicle, would otherwise be qualified to obtain a motorcycle or motor-tricycle license or endorsement, may apply, with the written consent of the parent or guardian of such person, for a temporary motorcycle instruction permit to operate a motorcycle or motor-tricycle.

Montana

A license is not valid for the operation of a motorcycle or quadricycle unless the holder of the license has successfully completed a road or skills test for a motorcycle or quadricycle and the license has been clearly marked with a motorcycle endorsement.

Nebraska

Learner’s Permit (LPE or LPD): The applicant must pass a vision test before obtaining either permit and must also pass a written test for an LPD. The permit authorizes the holder to operate a motorcycle if he or she is within visible contact and is under the supervision of a person who is age 21 or older and a licensed motorcycle operator.

Class M: Applicant must pass a vision and written test. Applicant must also successfully complete a drive test. This examination may be waived if the applicant presents proof of successful completion of a DMV-approved motorcycle safety course within the immediately preceding 48 months.

Nevada

A person may not apply for a motorcycle license unless he or she is 16 years of age, has successfully completed any examinations issued by the DMV, and has completed a course of motorcycle safety.

The other requirements are the same as for a regular license.

New Hampshire

Motorcycle Learner’s Permit: Upon application, the DMV shall issue a motorcycle learner’s permit to a person age 18 or older or to a person who is 16 or 17 and has successfully completed an approved driver education course. Applicants for such permit shall furnish proof of their fitness to drive a motorcycle, including either passing a of a written basic motorcycle knowledge test or successful completion of the motorcycle rider education program.

A motorcycle learner’s permit shall permit the holder of such permit to drive a motorcycle on any road after sunrise and before sunset. Passengers are prohibited. The permit shall be valid for 45 days from the date of issuance or until the holder of the permit obtains a special license to drive motorcycles.

Class D: Non-Commercial Operator’s License. May also be “moped only,” “motorcycle only” or “motorcycle also.”

New Jersey

A person who successfully completes a road test for a motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement when operating a motorcycle or motorized scooter with an engine displacement of less than 231 cubic centimeters shall be issued a motorcycle license or endorsement restricting the person’s operation of such vehicles to any motorcycle with an engine displacement of 500 cubic centimeters or less. A person who successfully completes a road test for a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement when operating a motorcycle with an engine displacement of 231 or more cubic centimeters, or successfully completes an approved motorcycle safety education course, shall be issued a motorcycle license or endorsement without any restriction as to engine displacement.

The director of the MVC may waive the road test portion of the examinations required for a motorcycle license or endorsement if the applicant has successfully completed a motorcycle safety education course.

All applicants for a motorcycle license who have never previously held such license shall be on probation for a period of 2 years following the issuance of their initial license.

A motorized bicycle license may be issued to any person 15 years of age or older upon proof of identity, date of birth, and passage of a driving examination.

New Mexico

First-time applicants for a motorcycle license or an endorsement on their New Mexico driver’s license may be required to complete a motorcycle driver education program as prescribed by the rules and regulations of the bureau.

A restricted motorcycle license may be issued to any person 13 years of age or older who passes an examination prescribed by the MVD.

A Class M license allows the holder to operate a 2- or 3-wheeled motorcycle. It carries 1 of 3 endorsements:

  • W: any 2- or 3-wheeled motorcycle with an engine displacement of more than 100 cc (minimum 15 years of age with the successful completion of an approved driver education course).
  • Y: any 2- or 3-wheeled motorcycle with an engine displacement between 50 and 100 cc (minimum of 13 years of age).
  • Z: any 2- or 3-wheeled motorcycle with an engine displacement below 50 cc (minimum 13 years of age).

New York

Class M or MJ license is required.

Class MJ: The holder shall be at least 16 years of age and may operate any motorcycle. The holder may not drive in the city of New York. Such license will automatically become a class M license when the holder turns 18.

Class M: The holder may operate a motorcycle, or a motorcycle towing a trailer. The holder shall be at least 18 years of age, or 17 years of age if they have successfully completed a driver’s education course.

A 4-hour motorcycle training class required.

North Carolina

To drive a motorcycle, a person shall have a full provisional license with a motorcycle learner’s permit, a regular driver’s license with a motorcycle learner’s permit, a full provisional license with a motorcycle endorsement, or a regular driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.

To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, an applicant must pass a knowledge test concerning motorcycles, pay the fee, and either pass a road test or provide proof of successful completion of the North Carolina motorcycle safety education program basic rider course or experienced rider course, or any other approved course for this purpose.

An applicant must pass a vision test, road sign test, and written test to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit.

Motorcycle Learner’s Permit: A person who is 16 or 17 years old and has a full provisional license, or a person who is at least 18 years old and has a valid license, is eligible for a motorcycle learner’s permit.

A motorcycle learner’s permit is valid for 12 months after it is issued, and may be renewed for one additional 6-month period.

North Dakota

A person holding an instruction permit for the operation of a motorcycle may operate the motorcycle only during the hours when use of headlights is not required.

An applicant 16 years of age and older who does not hold a current valid driver’s license, may be issued a Class M learner’s permit after successful completion of a written examination. The Class M license will be issued after successful completion of a driver’s examination or completion of an approved motorcycle safety course.

Applicants 14 or 15 years of age may be issued a motorcycle learner’s permit if enrolled in or have completed an approved motorcycle safety course. The learner’s permit must be held for at least 2 months prior to applying for a Class M driver’s license, and the permit holder must have completed the safety course and hold a valid motorcycle learner’s permit at the time of application. A driver under 16 years of age is restricted to driving a motorcycle with an engine of 250 cubic centimeters, or less, displacement.

Ohio

The same age requirements apply to motorcycle licenses as driver’s licenses.

An applicant for a motorcycle operator’s endorsement or a restricted license that permits only the operation of a motorcycle shall give an actual demonstration of the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motorcycle by driving the same under the supervision of an examining officer unless the applicant can show proof of successful completion within the preceding 60 days of a course of basic instruction provided by the motorcycle safety and education program approved by the director.

Oklahoma

All motorcycle operators are required to obtain a Class A-D motor vehicle license, with a motorcycle endorsement added. There is no separate license for a motorcycle operator.

Any new applicant for such a license must complete a written exam, vision exam, and driving examination for a motorcycle to be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement. The driving and written tests may be waived upon proof of completion of a certified Motorcycle Safety Foundation rider course.

Oregon

A motorcycle endorsement may be issued to the holder of a valid license provided any tests and demonstrations are successfully completed.

Completion of an approved motorcycle rider education course may be required to obtain a motorcycle endorsement depending on date of application and age: January 1, 2013 – anyone under 51; January 1, 2014 – anyone under 61; January 1, 2015 – any age.

A motorcycle instruction permit may be issued only to persons who are at least 16 years old and is valid for 1 year. The holder of a motorcycle instruction permit may only operate a motorcycle during daylight hours, may not carry any passengers, and must wear an approved helmet.

Pennsylvania

A motorcycle learner’s permit entitles the person to whom it is issued to operate a motorcycle between sunrise and sunset, and unless already licensed while under the instruction and immediate supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator. Motorcycle learner’s permit holder must not carry any passenger other than an instructor properly licensed to operate the motorcycle.

If an applicant has successfully completed an approved motorcycle safety course that meets the requirements of the motorcycle operator’s license examination administered by the Department, then the examination is waived.

Rhode Island

No person shall be licensed to operate a motorcycle or motor scooter unless he or she is at least 16 years of age, or unless the person previously has been issued a full operator’s license and a motorcycle learner’s permit or is already licensed under a prior act of this state.

All applicants for a motorcycle or motor scooter license must successfully complete a motorcycle rider safety class, and  pass written, vision, road sign, and road tests.

A motorcycle learner’s permit may be issued to a person who is at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old and has a limited provisional or full operator’s license or is at least 18 years old and has a license. If the holder of the permit has a limited provisional license, the motorcycle may be driven only at times when the holder could drive a motor vehicle without supervision. The permit expires 18 months after issuance.

South Carolina

A motorcycle vehicle examination will be provided where the knowledge and skills examination for a commercial driver’s license is offered.

South Dakota

A person may not operate a motorcycle, except a moped, without a motor vehicle driver’s license or permit upon which a state testing officer has certified that such person is qualified to operate the motorcycle. However, the operator of a moped must have a valid motor vehicle operator’s license or permit.

The Department may waive the motorcycle testing requirements upon completion of an approved motorcycle safety course.

Any minor who has successfully completed the Department approved motorcycle safety education courses, and a driver education course of another state that the Secretary of Public Safety has determined is acceptable, can qualify for a restricted minor’s permit in 30 days.

A motorcycle restricted minor’s permit may be issued, upon application and payment of the proper fee, to a minor who is at least 14 years of age but less than 18 years of age. The applicant must have successfully passed all applicable tests and completed the requirements of an instruction permit and must have not been convicted of any traffic violation during the previous 6 months.

A motorcycle restricted minor’s permit entitles the holder to operate a motorcycle during the hours of 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. if the motorcycle is being operated with the permission of the holder’s parents or guardian.

Tennessee

A person who is at least 16 years of age and a legal resident of Tennessee may apply for a motorcycle license.

Minors who are 15 years of age and legal residents of Tennessee may apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit. Permit holders may only operate during daylight hours, are limited to a 20 mile radius of the permit holder’s home, may not operate a motorcycle on the Interstate system, may not operate a motorcycle with an engine size greater than 650cc, and may not carry any passengers.

Applicants who have successfully completed a motorcycle rider training course may be exempted from taking the licensing skills test and/or the knowledge test.

Texas

A Class M driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a motorcycle or moped.

An applicant required to take a motorcycle road test must provide a passenger vehicle and licensed driver to convey the license examiner during the road test.  Operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle requires completion of a training course and a restricted Class M license.

Utah

A person who has been issued a motorcycle learner’s permit may drive a motorcycle only during daylight hours and only without passengers.

A motorcycle endorsement is required on all classes of license or a motorcycle-only license is required. An endorsement is valid for 5 years and expires on licensee’s birthday in the 5th year.

Vermont

Any applicant for a permit or an operator’s license valid for operating a motorcycle, except a renewal applicant or an applicant who surrenders a valid motorcycle license issued by another state, shall successfully complete the rider training course or the department’s motorcycle examination.

Virginia

Applicants must pass a special examination including a written examination and a road test before being issued a license.

A motorcycle written or road test may be waived for licensed members, spouses of a member, or dependents of a member of the United States Armed Services who has successfully completed a basic motorcycle rider course approved by the United States Armed Services.

Washington

No person may drive a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle unless such person has a valid driver’s license specially endorsed by the DOL to authorize the holder to drive such vehicles.

A person holding a valid driver’s license who wishes to learn to ride a motorcycle may apply for a motorcycle instruction permit. The DOL will issue an instruction permit after the applicant has passed all parts of the motorcycle examination other than the driving test.

A person holding a motorcycle instruction permit may drive a motorcycle on the public highways if the person has immediate possession of the permit and a driver’s license. A permit holder may not carry passengers and may not operate a motorcycle during hours of darkness. A motorcycle instruction permit is valid for 90 days.

The DOL may waive all or part of the motorcycle endorsement examination for persons who satisfactorily complete the voluntary motorcycle operator training and education program.

West Virginia

A separate motorcycle examination is required to obtain a license that authorizes the operation of a motorcycle. The examination tests the applicant’s knowledge of the operation of a motorcycle, any traffic laws relating to the operation of a motorcycle, and includes an actual demonstration of the ability to drive a motorcycle.

Upon successful completion of an examination and paying the required fees, the DMV shall include a motorcycle endorsement on the license of the applicant or shall issue a special motorcycle-only license if the applicant does not possess a license.

Wisconsin

Persons under the age of 18 will not be issued a Class M license unless the person has successfully completed an approved basic rider course.

Failure of the driving skills test on 2 previous occasions necessitates successful completion of an approved rider course before a license will be issued.

Motorcycle permits are available and are valid for 6 months. A permit holder may only transport passengers who hold a license endorsed for operation of a motorcycle and have at least 2 years of driving experience. A permit holder may operate a motorcycle during the hours of darkness only when accompanied by such a passenger who is at least 25 years old.

The driving skills test may be waived by persons who hold a motorcycle permit and have completed an approved basic driver course.

Wyoming

Class M licenses are issued for motorcycles. The designation may be added to a license valid for any other class or may be issued as the only class on a license if the applicant is not licensed for any other classification.

Puerto Rico

Motorcycle driver’s license authorizes operation of motorcycles, motor-driven bicycles, or motor scooters.


Canada

Alberta

Driver’s license required; minimum age 16; Class 6; valid for 5 years; expires on operator’s birth date.

License plates required; the duration and expiration are the same as regular motor vehicle registration.

British Columbia

A Class 6 Learner’s License is valid for 12 months (Class 8 Graduated Licensing Program Learner’s License is valid for 24 months) and permits the holder to ride under the following conditions: must ride within sight of a qualified supervisor 19 or older who holds a valid Class 6 license (25 or older for Class 8 Learner’s License); must not carry a passenger; must not exceed 60 km/h; permitted to ride only during daylight hours, that is, between sunrise and sunset. A Class 8 motorcycle learner’s license also requires the holder to maintain zero blood alcohol content and display a Learner Driver (L) sign to the rear of the motorcycle.

After passing the motorcycle skills test, the supervision and speed restrictions are removed.

After passing the motorcycle road test, a Class 6 or 8 driver’s license is issued.

If the test is taken using a motorcycle with an engine displacement of 200cc or less, the license issued does not permit carrying a passenger on the motorcycle; if the test is taken on a motor scooter, the license is restricted to motor scooters only; if the test is taken on a motorcycle with sidecar or a trike, the license is restricted to 3-wheeled motorcycles only.

A Class 8 driver’s license also requires the holder to observe zero blood alcohol content and display a New Driver (N) sign to the rear of the motorcycle.

Manitoba

A person must hold a valid motorcycle license (class 6 learner, intermediate, or full stage license) prior to operating a motorcycle on the highways.

New Brunswick

It is not permissible to drive a motorcycle on the highway unless the person possesses an endorsed license that is either

Newfoundland and Labrador

A Class 6, Level I is a learner’s permit for a motorcycle rider. A holder of this license must keep it for 12 months. If an approved motorcycle course is completed, the time requirement is reduced to 8 months. A Class 6, Level I learner’s permit allows the holder to operate a motorcycle under the following conditions: (1) accompanied by a licensed driver with 4 years of motorcycle driving experience; (2) the novice driver must have a BAC of zero and an accompanying driver cannot have a blood alcohol level exceeding .05%; (3) no passengers can ride on the motorcycle; (4) cannot upgrade to a commercial class of license; (5) not permitted to drive 30 minutes before sunset and 30 minutes after sunrise; (6) not permitted on highways where the posted speed limit exceeds 80 km/h; and (7) must pass a road test to exit this level. A Class 6, Level II novice driver permits the holder to operate a motorcycle under the following conditions: (1) must spend 12 months at Level II; (2) no driving between midnight and 5 a.m.; and (3) novice driver must have a BAC of zero.

Northwest Territories

A Class 6 license permits the operation of a motorcycle. Any other class of license may be used with supervision while learning to operate.

A person learning to operate a motorcycle may be unaccompanied if an instructor with a minimum of two years of experience operating a motorcycle, follows the person in or on another vehicle, and keeps the person in view.

No motorcycle with an engine displacement of 90cc or less is permitted on a highway outside of a municipality or with a speed limit of 50 km/h or more.

A person learning to operate a motorcycle may not operate a motorcycle between 11:00 pm and 6:00 am or in a speed zone of 70 km/h or greater.

Nova Scotia

Anyone who resides in Nova Scotia and wants to operate a motorcycle must obtain a separate motorcycle driver’s license, or an endorsement to his or her regular license.

A person that wants to obtain a separate motorcycle driver’s license must go through Nova Scotia’s graduated license program: a learner motorcycle driver’s license, a newly licensed motorcycle driver’s license, and an unrestricted motorcycle driver’s license. To obtain a learner’s license, the applicant must pass a vision test and a knowledge test (this test has a special section on motorcycles). To obtain a newly licensed license, the applicant must have a learner motorcycle license, and pass an advanced skills test. This test may be taken after 6 months, or after 3 months if the driver has passed an approved motorcycle driver training course. To obtain an unrestricted motorcycle driver’s license, the applicant must have a newly licensed motorcycle driver’s license, complete a waiting period of at least 2 years, and pass an approved motorcycle driver improvement program.

To obtain a regular motorcycle endorsement, the applicant must: (1) apply for and receive a learner’s motorcycle license; (2) wait for a period of 3 months (which may be reduced to 1 month if the applicant passes an approved motorcycle training course); and (3) pass an advanced skills test. If the applicant passes an approved motorcycle training course, he or she will not have to take the road test.

Nunavut

A person learning to operate a motorcycle may be unaccompanied if the instructor has a minimum of two years experience operating a motorcycle, follows the person in or on another vehicle, and keeps the person in view.

A person learning to operate a motorcycle shall not operate a motorcycle after sunset or in a speed zone of 70 km/h or greater.

Ontario

The holder of a Class M1 license must ride under the following conditions: (1) with a BAC of zero; (2) only during daylight hours; (3) not on highways with speed limits of more than 80 km/h except for specified highways; and (4) not carrying passengers.

Applicants for a Class M1 license must pass a knowledge test. The license is valid for 60 to 90 days. An M1 licensee who successfully completes an approved motorcycle safety course can skip the MTO’s M1 road test and move to a Class M2 license after 60 days. The M2 licensee can obtain a Class M license after 22 months. That time is reduced to 18 months if the licensee completed a safety course while they held either an M1 or M2 license.

The holder of a Class M2 license must have a BAC of zero while operating the motorcycle.

Prince Edward Island

Class 6 motorcycle license required.

Quebec

Motorcycle: New drivers are eligible for a learner’s permit from the age of 16. All prospective motorcycle operators must first pass a visual test and a knowledge test in order to get a class 6R learner’s license, valid for use only within a driving school’s course and for the SAAQ’s test on a closed circuit. After having held a class 6R license for at least 1 month, learners must successfully complete a driving school’s course for operating a motorcycle and a closed circuit test. Only then are prospective motorcycle operators issued a class 6A learner’s license, which must be held for at least 11 months.

The holder of a learner’s license must, when driving a motorcycle, be accompanied by a person on a separate motorcycle who has held, for at least 2 years, a valid driver’s license authorizing the driving of a motorcycle of the appropriate class (6A, 6B, or 6C) and who is able to provide assistance and advice. No passengers are permitted on motorcycles operated by learner’s license holders.

The last step is a road test, which prospective operators must pass in order to obtain a probationary or regular license for a motorcycle.

A person who has already held a driver’s license may obtain a class 6A, 6B, or 6C license after passing the road test.

Saskatchewan

Anyone wishing to obtain a motorcycle licence will be required to complete written and vision tests to become a Learner motorcycle driver (Endorsement 6). It is strongly recommended that they successfully complete an SGI-approved motorcycle training course prior to operating a motorcycle as a learner. A holder of a motorcycle endorsement will precede through the Motorcycle Graduated Driver’s Licensing program: Learner, Novice 1 and Novice 2. Drivers in the motorcycle GDL program may not tow a vehicle or use a sidecar.

The Endorsement 6—Learner License has a duration of at least 1 year to a maximum of 2 years (730 days), excluding interruptions (non-renewal, refusal, or license suspension). Learner License holders must pass written and vision tests, and be a minimum of 16 years of age, with written parental consent if under 18. Learners may not transport passengers or ride at night ( ½ hour after sunset to ½ before sunrise).

Drivers must pass a motorcycle road test and have at least 12 months without any at-fault collisions, suspensions or convictions (any of the mentioned would cause the rider to restart the Novice 1 stage) to earn an Endorsement M – Novice 1 License, which has a duration of at least 1 year, excluding interruptions (non-renewal, refusal, license suspension). Novice 1 License holders may not transport passengers and may not ride between midnight and 5 a.m.

Drivers must have 12 months without any at-fault collisions, suspensions or convictions (any of the mentioned would cause the rider to restart the Novice 2 stage) to earn an Endorsement M—Novice 2 License, which has a duration of at least 1 year, excluding interruptions (non-renewal, refusal, or license suspension).

Yukon

The holder of any class of driver’s license is not entitled to operate a motorcycle, except for the purpose of learning, unless the operator has successfully passed the applicable examination.

A person who is operating a motorcycle, moped, or snowmobile on a highway must ride as near as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway and must not operate the vehicle on a roadway where signs prohibit its use.