Drivers License Renewal (Click here for Canada)

United States

Alabama

Renewal license issued after the expiration of original license does not require examination if renewed within 3 years of expiration.

After original license expires, subsequent renewals are required 4 years from the expiration date of the original license, regardless of when the preceding license is issued. Exception: CDL permits are not renewable.

Renewal notice mailed to each licensee 30 days after expiration date of license, if not yet renewed.

Grace period of 60 days granted after the expiration of license for purpose of renewal, and license is valid during this period.

Renewal of license may occur from 60 days prior to expiration to 3 years after date; afterwards, applicant required to take and pass examination.

Any valid driver license in the possession of a person on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces, their dependents, or any person temporarily out of Alabama at time of license renewal may be eligible to renew by mail, but must have a photo on file taken within the last 8 years. Military personnel may renew up to 60 days prior to the license expiration date. Upon return to the state, the licensee should apply for a duplicate license with photo at the office of the license commissioner.

A valid home state license of military personnel and their dependents is honored while based in state.

Alaska

Renewal by mail is not allowed for persons age 69 and older or for drivers whose previous renewal was by mail.

Non-commercial driver’s licenses for military personnel are valid for 90 days after discharge or return to the State of Alaska, whichever occurs first. License remains valid as long as resident remains on active duty.

Arizona

Upon issuance, a driver’s license is valid until the applicant’s 65th birthday and is renewable thereafter for successive 5-year periods.

Any valid driver’s license issued to a person on active duty is effective without requirement for renewal until 6 months after the date of the person’s discharge from the service.

Persons 70 and older may not renew by mail. Persons 65 or older renewing by mail must submit a vision test verification form, or a verification of an eyesight examination conducted not more than 3 months before.

Arkansas

Licenses are valid for 4 years, expire on the licensee’s date of birth, and are obtainable only at County Revenue Offices.

Military personnel on active duty out of the state and their dependents may renew their driver’s licenses by mail.

Military personnel on active duty may be granted an extension of expiration for a driver’s license not to exceed 30 days after the applicant’s first tour of duty, or release from active duty, whichever occurs first.

California

All original licenses expire on the 5th birthday of the applicant following the date of the application for license and are renewable for successive 5-year periods.

License renewal may be done by mail if licensee is not probationary and the licensee’s records for the 2 years preceding renewal show no violation of specified traffic laws, a point count of not more than 1, no refusal to submit to a chemical test, and no suspension of the license. No more than 2 sequential mail renewals are permitted.

At age 70, mail renewal is prohibited.

Spouse and/or dependents of military personnel may apply for a renewal of their license by calling DMV or requesting a no-fee 1-year extension by writing to the DMV.

Licenses of out-of-state active military personnel are valid beyond their normal expiration date. Active military personnel with expired licenses must carry a DL 236 card with their licenses. Extended licenses are good for 30 days after return to California.

Colorado

Driver’s license expires every 5 years on date of birth.

Eye test required on renewal.

A driver’s license is eligible for renewal by mail or electronically every other renewal period to those drivers at least 21 years and under 66 years of age, if the applicant can attest to having an eye exam within 6 months of the application.

If license has been suspended during the period of that license, written test is also required.

Military personnel and their dependents are entitled to one 3-year extension. This extension is free of charge.

Connecticut

Driver’s licenses are valid for 5 1/2 or 7 years (at driver’s option) and expire on the driver’s birthday.

A personal appearance at renewal generally is required.

Vision screenings are required at the first renewal, and not at further renewals.

A licensed driver age 65 and over has the option to renew a license every 2 years.

Military personnel and residents of the state temporarily living outside of the state may renew a license by mail.

Delaware

Driver’s licenses are in effect for a period of 8 years.

When an application for a license renewal is made, the driver must surrender the expired license, fill out an application, and pass a vision test.

Military personnel, their dependents, and students may renew licenses by calling (302) 744-2506 or by mail.

Military personnel and their dependents are not required to acquire Delaware driver licenses and vehicle registrations until 60 days after separation from the service.

District of Columbia

Driver’s licenses shall expire on the licensee’s birth date occurring in the 8th year of the license term.

Any subsequent renewals may be renewed for up to an 8-year period ending on the licensee’s birth date.

For every other renewal, an applicant may renew by mail, so long as he or she certifies that he or she meets the visual requirements, and that there has been no change in his or her physical condition.

Licensees who have reached the age of 70 have the following renewal requirements: at age 70 or the nearest renewal date thereafter, the applicant shall complete the eye test and may be required to pass the reaction test, and must show a physician’s certification that the applicant is physically and mentally competent to operate a motor vehicle.

Each person applying for a renewal must pass a vision test.

Florida

Driver’s licenses are valid for a period of 8 years and expire at midnight on the licensee’s birthday, which next occurs on or after the 8th anniversary of the date of issue.

An applicant applying for a renewal issuance or renewal extension shall be issued a driver’s license or renewal extension sticker which is valid for 4 years except that a driver whose driving record reflects no convictions for the preceding 3 years shall be issued a license renewal extension sticker which is valid for 8 years.

Drivers who have not had any moving violation convictions for the last 3 years preceding renewal and whose driving privilege in Florida has not been revoked, disqualified, or suspended at any time during the 7 years preceding renewal, are only required to have tested their eyesight and hearing upon renewal. Those drivers who have had moving violation convictions in the last 3 years or who have had their license suspended during the 7 years preceding renewal are required to, in addition to the eyesight and hearing tests, pass a test of their ability to read and under-stand highway signs.

Drivers age 80 and older are issued licenses for 6 years and must pass a vision test administered at any driver’s license office. If applying for an extension by mail, such drivers must submit proof that they have passed a vision test administered by a licensed physician or optometrist.

Only one electronic or mail-in renewal may be made between in-person renewals, regardless of age.

Active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces and their dependents (spouses, children, and step-children under 21 living in the same household) stationed out of state may request a license extension. The license extension card keeps class D and E licenses valid until 90 days after discharge from military service. Extension card must be kept with driver’s license and presented with your military ID. The extension card is only available to military personnel who are stationed outside Florida and have a license which expired after July 1, 1995. Members of the military may renew their motor vehicle or motor home registration without penalty, if the service member was on active duty more than 35 miles away from home.

Georgia

Every driver’s license will expire on the licensee’s birthday in the 5th year, or 8th year at the option of licensee, following the issuance of such license, until age 60. From age 60 and older, the license always expires on the licensee’s birthday in the 5th year. Every person age 65 and older applying for a renewal in person must successfully complete an eyesight exam.  Driver’s licenses may be issued to non-citizens for their authorized period of lawful presence, up to a maximum of 5 years.

Licenses are renewable 150 days prior to expiration.

Active-duty military and full-time students (or dependent of same) living out-of¬ state may obtain a non-photo renewal of their Georgia driver’s license by mail.

Hawaii

Licenses expire on the first birthday of the licensee not less than 8 years after the license was issued. If the licensee is 24 years old or younger, the license will expire on the first birthday of the licensee not less than 4 years after the license was issued. If the licensee is 72 years old or older the license expires 2 years after the date of issuance. An application for renewal may not be made more than 6 months prior to expiration of a license, and an application for renewal that is made more than 90 days after expiration of an old license will be treated as an application for a new license and the applicant will be examined as such.

A license holder seeking renewal must apply in person before the examiner of drivers but is not required to undergo re-examination of the person’s driving skills.

No driver’s license will be renewed until the applicant has passed the vision test.

Application for renewal may be made by mail if the licensee holds a category (1), (2), or (3) license and is temporarily absent from the state when the license expires. The licensee must submit a statement from a licensed physician not more than 6 months prior to the date of expiration of the license indicating the applicant meets the necessary physical requirements to operate a vehicle and the licensee must also include a notarized statement certifying he or she is a resident of the state and does not hold a valid license from any other jurisdiction.

Active duty military personnel and their accompanying dependents are exempt from renewal requirements if their drivers license expires while they are deployed outside of the United States until 30 days after return to the U.S.

Idaho

All driver’s licenses for persons 21 years of age and over are renewable on or before expiration with application, payment of fee, and satisfactory completion of the required eye examination.

For persons 21 and over, the license shall expire on the licensee’s birthday 4 years after issuance. A person between the ages of 21 and 62 may opt to have their license expire on their birthday 4 or 8 years after issuance.

For persons under 18 years of age, the license shall expire 5 days after the licensee’s 18th birthday.

For persons between the ages of 18 and 21 years, the license shall expire 5 days after the licensee’s 21st birthday.

Vision will be checked at each renewal in person, and if the examiner thinks it is necessary, a skills test, visual examination and/or medical examination may be requested.

Drivers age 63 and older will have licenses expire on their birthday every 4 years.

Drivers age 70 and older must renew their license in person.

For foreign nationals without permanent resident status, licenses expire at the end of legal stay in the U.S.

Active duty or a dependent of military personnel in the U.S. Armed Forces may apply for a license extension of up to 4 years. The extension will expire 60 days from the date of discharge from active military duty or the expiration date on the extension card, whichever comes first.

After this time, military personnel or their accompanying dependents are not required to take the written examination and skills tests for renewal of an Idaho driver’s license if the Idaho driver’s license has expired while on active duty.

Illinois

For new applicants aged 21 to 80, the expiration date is 4 years from the applicant’s next day of birth. For renewal applicants, the expiration date is 4 years from the present expiration date. Driver’s between the ages of 81 to 86 will be issued a 2-year license and drivers aged 87 and older will be issued a 1-year license.

The Secretary of State’s office mails a renewal letter to driver’s license holders 60 to 90 days prior to the expiration of your license. The letter is mailed to the address in the office’s driving record file. The letter contains the information needed to renew a license.

Each original or renewal driver’s license issued to a licensee under 21 years of age shall expire 3 months after the licensee’s 21st birthday.

Renewal applicants 75 and older must take a road test.

Members of the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty outside Illinois, as well as their spouses and children, may drive with an expired license for up to 90 days after their return to the state. A Military Deferral Certificate(s) must be carried with an expired Illinois driver’s license. Certificates are available at no charge and may be mailed to an out-of-state address.

Indiana

The application for renewal may be filed up to 1 year prior to the license’s expiration date.

All individuals must provide verification of social security number and 2 proof of residency documents upon application for renewal.

An individual who applies for a license renewal must pass an eye exam.

If an applicant is under 21 years of age and has 6 active points on his or her license, he or she must also pass a written examination.

License expires after 4, 5, or 6 years on date of birth for people 18-74; 3 years on date of birth for people 75-84; 2 years on date of birth for people 85 and older.

Drivers under age 75 may renew licenses by mail or over the internet. Mail and electronic option available only every other renewal and only if the name and address have remained the same and the license holder does not require testing.

If an active military person has an Indiana driver’s license, it does not expire until 90 days after his/her discharge from the military. As far as their family is concerned, their licenses do expire.  (Effective July 1, 2013, military family members’ licenses will be valid for 90 days after discharge)  They can renew by mail with a “photo exempt” license. Military families are the only Indiana motorists who have the privilege of renewing by mail

Iowa

Except as otherwise provided, a driver’s license will have a random expiration date of 5, 6, 7 or 8 years from the issue date and expires on the licensee’s 74th birthday. If the licensee is under the age of 17 years 11 months, the license expires 2 years from the licensee’s birthday in the year of issuance. If the licensee is 72 years of age or older, the license expires 2 years from the licensee’s birthday in the year of issuance.

A person has 60 days to renew his or her license after the expiration date.  Electronic renewal is permitted every other renewal.

Applicants with vision or other physical restrictions may be required to renew their license every 2 years.

A vision test or vision report signed by a licensed vision specialist is required.

The expiration date for persons who enter military service while holding a valid Iowa driver’s license is 6 months after separation from active duty.

The licenses of active duty military personnel may be extended until 6 months after separation from the military. Active duty military personnel must obtain a military service extension. A 5-year extension is available for military personnel and their families.

Kansas

Licenses issued to persons less than 21 years of age or more than 65 years of age shall expire on the 4th anniversary of the license that is nearest the date of application. Licenses that expire on the 21st birthday of the holder must be renewed within 45 days of the date of expiration.

Commercial driver’s licenses shall expire on the 4th anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee nearest the date of application.

Every license shall be renewable on or before its expiration upon application and payment of the required fee and successful completion of required examinations.

Prior to renewal, the applicant shall pass a vision test. In lieu of this provision, the applicant can submit a vision test from a licensed physician or optometrist taken within 3 months of the application, and can complete the examination furnished with the notice of expiration of license and submit it with the application.

For licenses that expire while the holder is outside the country, a renewal will be provided by mail.

For military personnel, the Kansas DMV will renew their driver’s licenses regardless of whether their license is currently expired (no time limitation). For military dependents, license is renewed only if it has been expired for less than 1 year. Licensure terms are the same for military persons as the general public. If they are stationed out of state and their license expires, they must contact the Kansas DMV, fax a copy of their driver’s license and military id, give their current mailing address, and the test and booklet will be mailed to them to complete and return. Dependents use the same process. Their previous photo will be used from the DMV’s files to produce the new license.

Licenses issued to persons between the ages of 21 and 65 expire on the 6th anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee that is nearest the date of application.

Kentucky

An application for renewal must be made every 4 years within 30 days after the birth date of the applicant.

An applicant under the age of 21 will be issued a license that is valid until the applicant attains the age of 21 and the applicant must apply for a renewal within 30 days of his or her 21st birthday.

Military personnel on active duty out of the state and their dependents may renew their driver’s licenses by mail.

Louisiana

All motor vehicle driver’s licenses expire on the anniversary of the birthday of the applicant which is closest to a period of 4 years (effective January 1, 2015, 6 years) subsequent to the issuing of the license, unless this license has been suspended, revoked, or cancelled prior to that time.

Mail renewal is not available to drivers age 70 and older and drivers whose previous renewal was by mail.

Louisiana driver’s license of members of the U.S. Armed Forces/Peace Corps and their dependents who serve outside of Louisiana shall remain valid for 60 days after discharge, provided license was valid upon entrance to service and not expired, suspended, or revoked. The driver’s license will be expired/delinquent on the 61st day after discharge. Last license issued and proof of discharge shall be accepted to renew license. This applies to class “E” operator’s license only.

A resident dependent of any person on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces and stationed within Louisiana, but who is domiciled in another state and has in his immediate possession both a valid license issued to him by his home state and a current military dependent identification card, shall be exempt from obtaining a Louisiana driver’s license during the period of residency with the supporting member of the U.S. Armed Forces while stationed in Louisiana. Dependents must comply with normal renewal procedure of their home state.

Maine

Prior to expiration of a license, the Secretary of State will send the license holder a renewal application.

A driver’s license issued to a person under 65 expires at midnight on the license holder’s 6th birthday following the date of issuance. Until June 30, 2014 for the equalization of 6 year cycles for drivers that have chosen an 8-year renewal period, a 2 year license may have been issued.

A driver’s license issued to a person 65 or older expires at midnight on the license holder’s 4th birthday following the date of issuance.

Vision tests are required at the first renewal after the driver’s 40th birthday and at every second renewal until age 62; thereafter, at every renewal.

Any valid driver’s license issued to a person on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forces, or the person’s spouse, is effective without requirement for renewal until 180 days after the date of the person’s discharge from the service.

Maryland

A license issued to a driver at least 21 years of age shall expire on the birth date of the licensee in the 8th year following the issuance of the license (as Maryland converts licenses from a 5-to-8-year period of validity, a license issued to a driver at least 21 years of age shall expire on the birth date of the licensee during this timeframe).

A license issued to a driver under the age of 21 shall expire 60 days after the driver’s 21st birthday.

The MVA may renew a license within 1 year after the expiration date without requiring a driving test.

Individuals between 21 and 40 years old are required to complete a vision test every other time their license is renewed. The MVA shall require every individual age 40 and older applying for renewal of a license to pass a vision test. The vision test may be waived if the applicant has passed an acceptable vision examination within the last 12 months.

Applicants age 70 and older must provide proof of previous satisfactory operation of a vehicle or physician’s certificate of fitness.

People out of state during the renewal process may renew by mail. A valid non-photo license is issued to people who renew by mail. The license must be exchanged for a photo license within 15 days after returning to the state.

A license held by active military personnel or a dependent outside of the state is valid for 30 days after re-entering the state. The license can also be renewed by mail.

Massachusetts

An operator’s license is valid for 5 years and expires on the holder’s birthday.

Renewal of license may be done up to 1 year prior to the expiration date.

Application for renewal includes: social security number, date of birth, license number, full name, mailing address, and residential address of the applicant.

Vision testing required for each in-person renewal.

Applicants age 75 and older must apply in-person.

Active duty military personnel may drive on an expired license for up to 60 days after honorable discharge from military service or return to Massachusetts. Active duty military personnel may be issued renewed non-photo driver’s license if stationed outside Massachusetts.

Michigan

A driver’s license expires on the birthday of the driver on the 4th year following issuance unless suspended or revoked.

A first operator’s license will expire on the driver’s 21st birthday. Under 21 licenses are vertical; over 21 licenses are horizontal.

A person holding a license at any time within 45 days before the expiration of his or her license may make application for a new license. However, if the licensee will be out of the state during the 45 days immediately preceding expiration of the license or for other good cause shown cannot apply for a license within the 45-day period, application for a new license may be made not more than 6 months before expiration of the license.

A person who will be out-of-state for more than 90 days beyond the expiration date of his or her operator’s license may apply for a 2-year extension of his or her driving privileges.

A member of the U.S. Armed Forces, while on active duty, may use an expired Michigan driver’s license in conjunction with his/her military papers for a period not to exceed:

  • 30 days from the person’s first leave of absence following the expiration of his/her license (the leave does not have to be to Michigan; this refers to any leave of absence), or
  • 30 days from the date of the person’s discharge following the expiration of his/her license.

Spouses and dependents of active military personnel are not granted the same extension allowed for military personnel. A spouse or dependent’s driver’s license expires on his/her birthday in the expiration year. The license may be renewed through the mail.

Minnesota

The license expiration date for drivers under the age of 21 is the 21st birthday of the licensee.

The license expiration date for drivers over the age of 21 is the birthday of the driver in the 4th year following the date of issuance of the license.

Mississippi

A driver’s license may be renewed electronically according to rules set by the Commissioner of Public Safety.

All licenses of persons 18 years of age or older shall be issued for a 4-year or 8-year period and may be renewed any time within 6 months before the expiration, which is midnight on the licensee’s birthday.

All licenses of persons under 18 years of age shall be issued for a 1-year period and may be renewed any time within 2 months before the expiration, which is midnight on the licensee’s birthday.

An expired license may be renewed any time within 12 months (effective October 1, 2014, 18 months) after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and payment of a delinquent fee in lieu of a driver examination, unless an examination is required.

Any person in the U.S. Armed Forces and their dependents who are out of state due to military service at the time of expiration may renew the license any time within 90 days after being discharged from such military service or upon returning to the state.

Any person holding a valid license who is going overseas for 2 to 4 years and whose license is going to expire during the overseas stay, may renew the license for 4 years (or, effective October 1, 2014, 8 years) prior to leaving with proper proof of such overseas travel.

Any person in the U.S. Armed Forces and their dependents who are out of state due to military service at the time of expiration may renew the license any time within 90 days after being discharged from military service or upon returning to the state.

Missouri

Renewal drivers ages 18-20: 3-year driver license issued that will expire on the applicant’s date of birth in the 3rd year after date of issuance. 21-69: applicants get a 6-year license. 70 and over: driver license will expire on the applicant’s date of birth in the 3rd year after date of issuance.

All persons renewing their license must pass a vision test and a sign recognition test.

Military personnel and their dependents out of state when their licenses expire may renew their driver’s license by mail.

Applicants that are not U.S. citizens may receive an expiration date less than the terms above based on the expiration date of the documents submitted.

Montana

When a person applies for renewal of a driver’s license, the MVD will conduct a records check through the national driver register and test the applicant’s eyesight. The MVD may also require a knowledge and skills test if (1) the applicant has a mental or physical disability that may impair the applicant’s ability to operate a vehicle; (2) the expired or expiring license does not include adaptive equipment or operational restrictions appropriate to the applicant’s functional abilities; or (3) the applicant wants to remove or modify the restrictions stated on the expired or expiring license.

A person can apply to renew his or her driver’s license within 6 months before or 3 months after the expiration of the person’s license.

A person may renew a driver’s license by mail if the person is temporarily out-of-state and submits an approved vision examination and medical evaluation from a licensed physician. The terms of a license renewed by mail is 4 years, and a person may not renew by mail for consecutive terms.

Except for a license renewed by mail, a license expires on the anniversary of the licensee’s birthday 8 years or less after the date of issue or on the licensee’s 67th birthday, whichever occurs first.

A license issued to a person who is 68 – 74 years old expires on the anniversary of the licensee’s birthday 6 years or less after the date of issue. All drivers 75 and older receive 4-year licenses.

A license issued to a person who is under 21 years of age expires on the licensee’s 21st birthday.

Any person who has a valid Montana driver’s license at the time of entering active duty with the Armed Forces may apply for a military renewal. The military renewal is valid so long as the person is assigned to active duty not to exceed 30 days following the date of release from active duty.

Nebraska

An operator’s license issued to a person 21 years of age or older expires on the licensee’s birthday in the 5th year after issuance.

An operator’s license issued to a person under the age of 21 expires on that person’s 21st birthday.

Upon renewal, a vision test is required. The written and driving tests may be waived by the DMV.   Licensees under age 72 may apply to renew or obtain duplicates of their license electronically.

Operator’s licenses issued to persons required to use bioptic or telescoptic lenses shall expire annually on the licensee’s birthday. License duration may be extended for up to two years based upon required review by an optometrist or ophthalmologist.

A 30 day temporary license is issued to the applicant upon successful completion of tests and payment of fees. The permanent license is sent to the applicant via U.S. mail within 20 days.

Nevada

Every driver’s license expires on the 4th anniversary of the licensee’s birthday nearest the date of issuance or renewal.

The DMV may require an applicant for a renewal license to pass a vision test.

Every license is renewable at any time before its expiration upon application and payment of the required fee.

No later than 30 days before the expiration of a licensee’s license, the DMV shall mail an expiration notice.

The DMV shall allow for renewal of a license by mail, in exchange for an additional fee. The licensee shall provide a vision report with the application from an ophthalmologist, optometrist, or agency of the state taken within 90 days of the application.

All persons who renew a license after it has expired may be required to complete all portions of the original license examination.

New Hampshire

All licenses shall expire on the 5th anniversary of the license holder’s date of birth following the date of issuance.

The DMV shall notify each holder of a license by mail addressed to the holder’s last known address, 30 days prior to the expiration date of a place and time where he or she shall appear for the issuance of a new license.

An applicant for a renewal driver’s license shall complete the vision screening examination. The DMV may require applicants for a license renewal to complete a road performance evaluation.

Any person who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and who, at the time of induction, call to active duty, or enlistment into the U.S. Armed Forces for 2 or more years, was a resident of New Hampshire and was a holder of a valid New Hampshire license to drive a motor vehicle in New Hampshire, is entitled to renewal of such license without cost. The spouse of any resident of New Hampshire on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces is able to renew his or her driver’s license through the mail; however, the fee is not waived.

New Jersey

Application for renewal of a passenger automobile or motorcycle Driver’s license may be directly made to any agent of the MVC.

A licensed driver has 1 week to notify the MVC of change of residence.

A driver’s license is issued for a 4-year period.

Active military personnel on duty outside of New Jersey can call the MVC 60 days before the expiration date on the license and request a renewal application be sent to their current address.

New Mexico

All driver’s licenses are issued for a period of 4 years unless the applicant elects to have an 8-year issuance period, and each license shall expire 30 days after the applicant’s birthday in the 4th or 8th year after the effective date of the license. Each license is renewable within 90 days prior to its expiration or at an earlier date approved by the MVD. The MVD may require an examination upon renewal.

Licenses issued to drivers under age 21 will have the license expire 30 days after the driver’s 21st birthday and may be renewed for a period of up to five years.

Military personnel out of the state should request a non-photo renewal via mail 60 days prior to the expiration of their current license. Requests should be mailed to: Driver Services, P.O. Box 1028, Santa Fe, NM 87504.

Every renewal requires an eyesight test unless done over the phone or internet.

All licenses expire 30 days after a driver’s 75th birthday. Drivers over 75 must renew licenses annually but the license fee is waived.

New York

A valid driver’s license may be renewed if the applicant is qualified for a renewal of the license by making an application on a form provided by the DMV 6 months prior to 2 years after the date of expiration, paying the appropriate fees, passing a vision test, and having his or her photo image taken.

Driver’s licenses are valid for a period of 8 years.

A valid driver’s license is automatically extended when a person is out of state on active military duty. The driver’s license of active duty military personnel is also extended for a maximum of 6 months after discharge or return to the state. Active duty military personnel must file form MV-75 (Military Service Notification).

North Carolina

Applicants for renewal prior to the license expiring may not be required to take a written or road test unless the applicant has been convicted of a traffic violation since the person’s license was last issued or the applicant suffers from a mental or physical condition that impairs the person’s ability to drive a vehicle.

A current or expired license is required at renewal. In the absence of a license, an applicant for renewal must present two documents of identification.

A driver’s license issued to a person at least 18 years old but less than 66 years old expires eight years after the date it was issued. A driver’s license issued to a person at least 66 years old expires five years after the date it was issued.  Licenses may be renewed remotely every other renewal.

The first license the DMV issues to a person expires on the person’s 4th or subsequent birthday that occurs after the license is issued and on which the individual’s age is evenly divisible by 5.

Before a license expires, the DMV mails a reminder card explaining the number of years it will be valid. The reminder card is not required in order to renew. If DMV does not have your social security number on file, you must present your social security card at the time of issuance. If you are not eligible for a social security card, you must present documentation issued by the US Government indicating legal presence. If you do not have your current or expired license at renewal, you will be required to show the examiner two required documents of identification.

Resident on active duty or their dependents may renew their driver’s license by mail no more than two times during a license holder’s lifetime. A driver’s license with a military designation on it issued to a person on active duty may be renewed up to 1 year prior to its expiration upon presentation of military or Department of Defense credentials.

North Dakota

A Class D driver’s license expires at midnight on the 6-year anniversary of the licensee’s birthday or the “duration of stay” date if an immigration document is presented for proof of identity. The licenses of drivers age 78 and older expire at midnight on the 4-year anniversary of the licensee’s birthday.

All applications for renewal of a driver’s license must be accompanied by a certificate from either the driver licensing or examining authorities or a physician or optometrist stating the corrected and uncorrected vision of the applicant.

A North Dakota licensed driver who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and stationed out of state may continue to use his or her non-commercial North Dakota driver license until 30 days after separation without renewing, provided the license is accompanied by military identification and has not been suspended, revoked, or cancelled. Upon return to state, leave or separation papers and the North Dakota license must be presented to obtain new license.  North Dakota military spouses may renew by mail.

Ohio

Every non-CDL driver’s license expires on the birthday of the applicant in the 4th year after the date it is issued, but for applicants over 16, the license expires on their 21st birthday. The exception being the non-renewable/non-transferable license which should never exceed 4 years.

The Registrar of Motor Vehicles shall notify each person 40 days prior to expiration of their driver’s license and those whose driver’s license has expired within 45 days after the date of expiration.

Every driver’s license is renewable within 90 days prior to its expiration upon payment of fees.

Licenses of active duty military personnel, Peace Corps volunteers, foreign service employees and their dependents are valid for up to 6 months after their date of discharge or separation.

Oklahoma

A licensee may renew a license by application, furnishing 2 forms of identification, and payment of the required fee.

License fees are reduced for drivers age 62-64 and waived for drivers age 65 and over.

Licensees applying for renewal may be required to take an examination if they have proven accident records or apparent physical defects.

Renewal by mail is only permitted for every other renewal.

In the event a license is lost or destroyed, a replacement may be obtained by paying the required fee and furnishing 2 forms of identification.

Any person or spouse of a person on active duty or civilian contractor with the U.S. Armed Forces living outside of Oklahoma having a valid driver’s license issued by the State of Oklahoma for the operation of motor vehicles upon the highways of the state shall have, without additional charge, a valid license for the duration of such service or employment and for a period of 60 days from and after the return of the person or spouse of the person to Oklahoma from such service or employment. Does not confer driving privileges in any jurisdictions other than Oklahoma.

Oregon

A first license, or renewal of expired license within 1 year, is valid for 8 years.  A limited term license is valid for the licensee’s authorized length of stay in the United States as verified using the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) program.

The DMV is required to provide reasonable notice of pending expiration by mail, unless the person’s license has been suspended, cancelled, or revoked, or the person has failed to notify the DMV of a change of address.  In addition, DMV is not required to notify the holder of a limited-term license of an approaching expiration date if the limited-term license was issued for a period of less than one year.

An application for renewal of an expired license must be completed within 1 year of expiration otherwise the licensee does not qualify for renewal and must apply as for an original license.

Drivers age 50 and over are subject to a vision screening at renewal.

Pennsylvania

U.S. citizens’ and permanent residents’ driver’s license expire on the day after the licensee’s birthday at intervals of 4 years or less, as determined by the Department. Driver’s 65 and older may choose a 2-year or 4-year renewal cycle.  Other non-U.S. citizens’ license expire on the same day as their immigration documents expire.

Licenses of active duty military personnel, their spouses, and children outside of the state are valid for the length of their active duty, 45 days after returning to the state, or 45 days after seperation from the Armed Services. Service assignments must be carried with expired licenses.

Rhode Island

Every operator’s first license is issued as a temporary license valid from the date of issuance until the licensee’s birthday in the second year following the issuance of the temporary license. Every operator’s license after the temporary license shall expire on the birthday of the licensee 5 years after issuance, with the exception of any person 75 years of age or older whose license shall expire on the birthday 2 years after issuance.

New license will not be issued during any period of suspension.

Driver’s licenses for active duty military personnel are valid for 30 days after discharge or return to the state of Rhode Island, whichever occurs first.

Any person serving in the U.S. Armed Forces may apply for a special license that is valid until 30 days after discharge.

South Carolina

Every license expires on the licensee’s birth date on the 10th year after the year in which the license was issued. Persons who are 65 years of age or older must renew every 5 years. Every license is renewable on or before its expiration date by filling out an application and the payment of the required fee.

The Department requires all applicants to take a vision test. The vision examination can be waived if the license holder submits a certificate from a person authorized by law to examine eyes.

The Department may renew a driver’s license of a resident by mail upon payment of the required fee, if the renewal is a digitized license.

Any person licensed to drive a motor vehicle in this state who is involved in 4 accidents in any 24-month period, may, at the discretion of the Department, be required to take any portion of the driver’s license examination. Any person who has had 4 accidents and fails to submit to such test within 30 days after having been notified by the Department will have his or her driver’s license suspended until he or she takes and passes the examination.

Any valid driver’s license issued to a person on active duty out of the state, or the person’s spouse, is effective without requirement for renewal until 90 days after the date of the person’s discharge from the service, or if the licensee has applied for an extension 90 days after the date the person returns to the state.

South Dakota

Each operator’s license, motorcycle operator’s license, restricted minor’s permit, or motorcycle restricted minor’s permit expires on the licensee’s birthday in the 5th year following the date the license was issued, or on the same date as the expiration date on the valid documents authorizing the applicant’s presence in the United States, whichever occurs first.

Any license issued to a person under 21 expires 30 days after the person’s 21st birthday.

Each operator’s license, motorcycle operator’s license, restricted minor’s permit, or motorcycle restricted minor’s permit is renewable 180 days before its expiration.

The Department will waive the knowledge and driving tests for renewal, if the licensee applies and makes payment of the required fee within 30 days following the license expiration date.

If the licensee applies and makes payment of the required fees 31 or more days after the expiration date of the license, the licensee must take the knowledge test.

For renewal of an operator’s license, motorcycle operator’s license, restricted minor’s permit, and motorcycle restricted minor’s permit, the Department requires an eye examination.

Effective July 1, 2014, drivers can renew their licenses by mail or electronically every other renewal.  Drivers age 65 and older must submit a vision statement signed by a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist that supplies proof that the applicant has adequate eyesight.

The licenses of active duty military personnel remain valid for the length of their service outside the state and 30 days following the date on which the holder of such license is honorably separated from such service or returns to this state, unless revoked for cause as provided by law. The license is valid only when in the immediate possession of the licensee while driving; and if the licensee has been discharged, his separation papers must also be in his immediate possession. This extension does not apply to military dependents.

Tennessee

Every driver’s license is valid for 5 years and expires on the licensee’s birthday, excluding Class P licenses which expire 1 year from the date of issuance.

If a licensee is under the age of 18, the license expires on the licensee’s 21st birthday.

Licenses are renewable on or before their expiration date upon application and payment of the appropriate fee.

An application for renewal that is filed more than 30 days carries a late renewal fee and if a license is expired for more than 5 years, the license holder must apply as for an original license.

Licenses may be renewed up to 12 months before the expiration date.

Licenses issued to people age 65 and older do not expire. Fees are reduced for drivers age 60 and older.

A driver’s license issued to someone who is on active military duty and stationed outside of Tennessee does not expire “so long as such person’s service continues and such person is stationed outside this state.” Military personnel (not military dependents) may have a “Code 30” added to their license which will give it a non-expiring status.

Texas

A driver’s license expires on the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the 6th anniversary of the date of the application. A provisional license expires the earlier of the 18th birthday of the license holder or the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the date of the application. An instruction permit expires on the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the date of the application.

The driver’s licenses of drivers 85 or older expire on the license holder’s second birthday after the date of issuance. Mail or electronic renewal not available to drivers 79 and older. Drivers 85 years of age and older must pass a vision and driving test.

Utah

A renewal or extension of a license expires on the birth date of the licensee in the 5th year following the year the license was issued or the date of expiration of the applicant’s foreign visa or permit. The license may be renewed at any time within 6 months before the license expires. The vision test is required once every 10 years, and the DLD may require the applicant for renewal to take a written examination. Vision tests are required for every renewal by drivers age 65 and older.

Drivers may renew by mail or internet every other renewal if they have a good driving records.

Drivers will be contacted by the DLD approximately 90 days prior to the expiration of their driver’s license.

Military personnel, civilian employees of the U.S. Department of State and U.S. Department of Defense, and their immediate family members and dependents, who had a valid Utah license at the time of entry into the service may continue to use that license up to 90 days after discharge if stationed outside of Utah.

Vermont

Operators have the option to renew their operator’s license after 2 or 4 years. At least 30 days before a license expires, the DMV shall mail an application for license renewal.

A person may not operate a motor vehicle if their license has expired.

Virginia

Every driver’s license expires on the last day of the birth month of the applicant every 8 years, or (effective Jan. 1, 2015) every 5 years for drivers age 75 and older.

Any driver’s license may be renewed by application, which must include the applicant’s certification of Virginia residency, after the applicant has taken and successfully completed all required examinations.

Applications for license renewal may be submitted online, by phone, or by mail every other time, except (effective Jan. 1, 2015) for drivers age 75 and older which must renew in person. All licenses will be issued by mail.

Applicants 80 (75, effective Jan. 1, 2015) years of age or older must undergo vision examinations either in person or provide a report of the examination to renew a driver’s license.

Out-of-state military personnel can apply for a license extension in the mail. Licenses must be renewed within 60 days of returning to the Commonwealth. The validity of driver’s licenses can be extended for persons serving outside Virginia in the U.S. Armed Forces or the diplomatic service as well as for the spouses and dependents accompanying them. The license shall be valid during the period the person is outside of the Commonwealth and 60 days thereafter, but no extension can be for more than 3 years after date of expiration shown on the license.

Washington

A person’s 1st Washington driver’s license expires on the person’s 6th birthday after it was issued.  (recently changed from five years, while the Department of Licensing phases in the six year driver’s license expiration, shorter renewal cycles will occur for some individuals in order to equally spread expiration dates over a period of years)

A license may be renewed at any Licensing Services Office (LSO). The applicant must appear in person and pass a vision test. If the license has a corrective lens restriction, and the applicant would like to have it removed, he or she may request that his or her vision be tested without corrective lenses.

A license may be renewed as much as 1 year ahead of its expiration date.

An application for driver’s license renewal may be submitted by means of personal appearance before the department or via mail or online if permitted by department rule and the applicant did not renew his or her license by mail or online when it last expired. If a qualified person submits an application by mail or online, he or she is not required to pass an examination nor provide an updated photograph.

No online renewals permitted after age 70. No online renewal permitted if a medical condition exists that requires monitoring.

A Washington driver’s license issued to a service member, or the spouse or dependent child living with the service member, remains in effect while the person is serving in the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty.

  • The license is valid until 90 days after the honorable discharge from service duty, unless it is suspended, cancelled, or revoked for cause as provided by law. If separation from the service is other than honorable, the military expiration is immediately void and you must apply for a renewal license. A license with a military expiration issued to a reservist who has been called to active duty, or the spouse or dependent child of the reservist, only remains in effect while the person remains on active duty.

West Virginia

A driver’s license is valid for a period of 5 years.

The DMV shall notify each person who holds a valid driver’s license 90 days before the license expires and shall include in the notice a renewal application form.

A Level 1 Instruction Permit is not renewable.

  • An instruction permit (age 18 or over) is valid for 90 days and may be renewed one time prior to expiration, however, if expired a driver must retest, taking both the vision and written tests to obtain another instruction Permit valid for 90 days.

The driver’s license of any person in the U.S. Armed Forces is extended for a period of 6 months from the date the person is discharged under honorable circumstances from active duty.

Wisconsin

All original licenses, reinstated licenses, and probationary licenses expire 2 years from the date of the applicant’s next birthday. All other licenses and license endorsements expire 8 years after the date of issuance.

A renewal photograph must also be taken every 8 years.

The DOT is responsible for mailing an notice of expiration at least 30 days in advance to the licensee’s last known address.

Upon change of address or name, a licensee must apply for a duplicate license within 10 days of the change.

Any license issued to a person on active military duty does not expire. Active duty military licenses expire 30 days after return to Wisconsin or 90 days after discharge from active duty, whichever is earlier. This extension does not apply to military dependents.

Wyoming

Every driver’s license will expire on the licensee’s birthday in the 4th year following the issuance of the license. Every driver’s license is renewable within 120 days before its expiration. An applicant may renew his or her license more than 120 days before its expiration if the applicant states in writing that he or she will not be in the state during the 120 days before the license expires.

Every person applying for renewal of a driver’s license must take and successfully complete an eyesight test.

The state is prohibited from issuing a license to a person whose physician or optometrist has concluded he or she is not capable of safely operating a motor vehicle.

The driver’s license of any person who had not attained his or her 21st birthday may be renewed within 30 days prior to the date of his or her 21st birthday.

Resident military personnel and their dependents temporarily out of state may obtain an extension on their license, extending it for 4 years from the date of expiration. The fee is $15. Nonresident military personnel may use home state driver’s license.

Puerto Rico

After expiration of license but before 2 years and 1 month from expiration date, license may be renewed without examination provided fees are paid. After that period a written test is required.


Canada

Alberta

Renewal notices for operator’s licenses are generally mailed to drivers 4 to 6 weeks before the expiration date. Renewal application must be done in person at any registry agent office. Only residents of Alberta are eligible to renew. Anyone 75 years or older is required to submit a medical report and have their vision screened. Medical reports are also required for holders of class 1, 2, and 4 licenses and for all licenses with a condition code “C” or “D”.

British Columbia

License renewal is generally every 5 years from the birthday of the applicant nearest the date the license was issued. A new photo is taken and an interim license issued to use until new photo license is received by mail.

Manitoba

Manitoba has a 2-part driver’s license consisting of a paper license certificate (part 1) and a photo identification card (part 2). The license certificate expires 4 months after the date of birth, minus 1 day; renewed annually. The photo ID card is renewed every 4 years. Both the license certificate and photocard must be carried together to be valid.

New Brunswick

License expires on the licensee’s birthday in the year of expiration.

Newfoundland and Labrador

A driver must renew a driver’s license every 5 years on or before his or her birthday.

If a driver’s license has expired or lapsed in less than 5 years, it can be renewed without taking a written, vision, or road test by filling out a questionnaire and paying all applicable fees.

Medical tests for age 75: First medical exam required for class 5 or 6 license.

Medical tests for age 80: Second medical exam required.

Medical tests for age 82+: Every 2 years thereafter.

Northwest Territories

A person who (1) has a valid driver’s license, (2) a valid driver’s license that has expired for a period of less than 2 years, or (3) a driver’s license that has been cancelled for certain reasons for less than 1 year may apply to the RLSD for a new driver’s license of the same class as the person previously held or for a class with fewer privileges.  Individuals that have drivers licences that have been expired or cancelled for over two years will be required to retest.

The RLSD will not issue a driver’s license to a person named on a valid driver’s license if there is more than 1 year before the date of expiration unless the RLSD is satisfied that there are circumstances that justify issuing a license earlier than 1 year before the expiration date.

Driver’s licenses are issued for a 1-year, 3-year, or 5-year term.

Nova Scotia

A driver’s license must be renewed every 5 years.

Nunavut

A driver’s license expires on the birthday of the license holder in the fifth calendar year after the end of the calendar year in which the license is issued.

Ontario

An applicant for a Class D, G, or M license is not required to take the knowledge, driving skills, and vision examinations if he or she held an Ontario driver’s license that expired within 1 year of making the application.

An applicant for a Class D, G, or M license is not required to take the knowledge and driving skills examinations if he or she held an Ontario driver’s license that expired between 1 and 3 years of making the application.

A driver 80 years of age and over must pass a vision and knowledge test, and the driver must participate in a 90-minute group education session. The counselor at the group education session will determine whether the driver must take a road test. Upon successful completion of the course, the driver’s license will be renewed for 2 years.

Prince Edward Island

Licenses are valid for 3 years and expire on the licensee’s birthday. Regular driver’s license renewal must be done in person.

Quebec

A plastic license is valid from the date on which it is issues until the end of the holder’s birthday occurring during the year determined by add multiples of 4 to the holder’s year of birth.

The holder of a driver’s license must pay annual duties, fees, and an annual automobile insurance contribution during a 3-month period ending with his birthday every year.

Saskatchewan

A graduated driver’s license is valid for 5 years. A new driver, for the purposes of these regulations, is (a) the holder of a class 7 driver’s license; (b) the holder of a class 5 driver’s license with a novice 1 or novice 2 restriction noted on the driver’s license; or (c) the holder of a license issued by another jurisdiction that is equivalent to a driver’s license described above.

Driver’s licenses can be renewed by mail. If the driver’s license of a Saskatchewan resident has lapsed for more than 5 years, then a written, vision, and a driving test are required.

Yukon

A driver’s license is valid, unless otherwise suspended or revoked, for a period of 5 years.

Any license that is not renewed within 6 months from the expiration date will be considered a first application.

A driver’s license may be renewed by mail or in person.

If a person is 70 years of age or older, he or she must file a medical examination certificate signed by a licensed physician and submit to a vision examination.