Bicycles (Click here for Canada)

United States

Alabama

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

Alaska

Operators of bicycles must obey the motor vehicle laws.

Cyclists must ride with traffic.

There is no helmet requirement for cyclists.

Arizona

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Arkansas

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

California

Operators and passengers under 18 of bicycles, non-motorized scooters, skateboards, and in-line skates must wear helmets.

Colorado

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Connecticut

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Delaware

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle, or if impossible to do so, reduce to a speed no more than 10 mph beneath the posted speed limit.

District of Columbia

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Florida

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Bicyclists must remain in a bicycle lane if a lane is provided. If a bicycle lane is not provided, bicyclists must stay as close as practicable to the right.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Georgia

Bicycle helmets are required for riders age 15 and under.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Hawaii

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a safe distance.

Idaho

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a distance of at least 3 feet.

Illinois

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Indiana

Bicycle helmets are not required.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Iowa

Bicycle helmets are not required.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Kansas

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

The driver of a motorcycle or a person riding a bicycle facing any steady red signal, which fails to change to a green light within a reasonable period of time because of a signal malfunction or because the signal has failed to detect the arrival of the motorcycle or bicycle because of its size or weight, shall have the right to proceed after stopping, yielding the right-of-way to any vehicle in, near, or approaching the intersection; to pedestrians lawfully crossing the intersection within an adjacent crosswalk; and to any other traffic lawfully using the intersection.

Kentucky

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a safe distance.

Louisiana

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 12.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Bicycles used in nighttime must be equipped with a front white light and a rear red light, both visible from a distance of 500 feet, as well as rear and side red reflectors visible from 100-600 feet with car headlights.

Mississippi

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Bicycles used at night must be equipped with a front white lamp and a rear reflex reflector or red lamp, both visible from a distance of 500 feet.

Missouri

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a safe distance.

Maine

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Maryland

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Massachusetts

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 17.

Prohibits transportation of children under age 1 on a bicycle.

Michigan

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a safe distance.

Minnesota

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Montana

Bicycle helmets are not required.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Nebraska

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Nevada

Bicycle helmets are not required.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

New Hampshire

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

New Jersey

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders under age 17.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

New Mexico

Bicycle helmets are requires for riders under 18.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

New York

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 14 and it is prohibited to transport children under 1 on a bicycle.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass at a safe distance.

North Carolina

Helmets must be worn by riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass with at least 2 feet of space.

North Dakota

There is no statewide bicycle helmet law.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Ohio

There is no statewide law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

Oklahoma

There is no statewide law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Oregon

Bicycle helmets must be worn by riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance, leaving enough room to avoid contact if the rider should fall into the driver’s lane.

Pennsylvania

Bicycle helmets must be worn for riders under age 12.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider must pass with a space of 4 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.  Drivers may cross the center line if safe to do so.

Rhode Island

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under 16 years of age.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a distance sufficient to prevent contact with the bicycle rider if the person were to fall into the driver’s lane of traffic.

South Carolina

There is no statewide law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

South Dakota

There is no statewide law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

Tennessee

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 16.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Texas

There is no law for bicycles helmets.  However, the following localities have helmet requirements:

  • Riders of all ages: Dallas
  • Riders under age 18: Arlington, Austin, Fort Worth, Houston
  • Riders under age 17: Benbrook
  • Riders under age 16: Bedford
  • Riders under age 15: Coppell, Southlake

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

Utah

Bicycle helmets are not required.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Vermont

There is no law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must exercise due care, which includes increasing clearance, to pass the vulnerable user safely, and shall cross the center of the highway only if the way ahead is clear of approaching traffic.

Virginia

Virginia has no statewide bicycle helmet requirement.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 2 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Washington

There is no statewide bicycle helmet requirement.

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.

West Virginia

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under 15 years old.

Wisconsin

There is no law for bicycle helmets.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.

Wyoming

Bicycle helmets are not required.

There is no law for the safe passage of bicycles by motor vehicles.

Puerto Rico

Bicycle helmets are required when riding along public thoroughfares or recreational centers.

Drivers passing a bicycle must pass with a space of 3 feet between the motor vehicle and the bicycle.


Canada

Alberta

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.

British Columbia

All bicycle riders are required to wear helmets.

Manitoba

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.

New Brunswick

All riders must wear bicycle helmets.

Newfoundland and Labrador

No province-wide helmet law requirement.

Northwest Territories

No territory-wide bicycle helmet law requirement.

Nova Scotia

Bicycle helmets are required for all riders.

Nunavut

No province-wide bicycle helmet law requirement.

Ontario

Bicycle helmets are required for riders under age 18.

Prince Edward Island

All riders must wear bicycle helmets.

Quebec

No province-wide helmet law requirement.

Saskatchewan

No province-wide helmet law requirement.

Yukon

The city of Whitehorse has an ordinance requiring all bicycle riders to wear a helmet.