Accident Reporting (Click here for Canada)

United States

Alabama

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $250.00.

The deadline to file a (safety responsibility) report is 30 days.

Alaska

Crashes must be reported when property damage exceeds $501.00. The deadline to issue a report is 10 days.

Arizona

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $300.00, results in bodily injury to or death of a person, or if the settlement of the crash has not been reached within 6 months of the crash

Arkansas

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00. The deadline to file a report is 30 days.

California

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $750.00. Reports must be filed within 10 days.

Colorado

An accident report is required in any crash resulting in any property damage.

The report must be filed within 10 days.

Connecticut

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.

Delaware

Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

District of Columbia

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $250.00.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.

Florida

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Georgia

Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

Hawaii

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $3000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 1 day.

Idaho

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of $1,500.00 are required to be immediately reported.

Illinois

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1,500.00, or $500 if any vehicle involved in the crash is uninsured.

The deadline to file a report with the Department of Transportation is 10 days.

Indiana

Crashes are required to be reported if they result in property damage exceeding $750.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Iowa

Drivers are not required to fill out a DOT report for an accident resulting in personal injury, death, or damage of $1,500 or more if the accident is investigated by a law enforcement agency.

If required to submit an accident report, the deadline is 3 days.

Kansas

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 1 day.

Kentucky

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Louisiana

Crashes must be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00. The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Massachusetts

Crashes are required to be reported if property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.

Michigan

Crashes are required to be reported if property damage exceeds $1000.00. The deadline to file a report is 1 day.

Minnesota

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Mississippi

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Missouri

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.

Maine

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

Crashes are required to be immediately reported.

Maryland

Crashes are only required to be reported when physical injury results.

Montana

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 1 day.

Nebraska

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Nevada

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $750.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

New Hampshire

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 15 days.

New Jersey

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

New Mexico

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.

The deadline to file a report is 5 days.

New York

Crashes must be reported if property damage exceeds $1,000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

North Carolina

Crashes are required to be reported if property damage exceeds $1000.00 and must be reported within one day.

North Dakota

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1,000.00.  Crashes resulting in property damage only with an undomesticated animal are exempt from reporting.

Reports must be filed immediately.

Ohio

Crashes must be reported if property damage exceeds $1,000.

The deadline to file a report is 30 days.

Oklahoma

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 30 days after the crash.

Oregon

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1500.00.

The deadline to file a report is 72 hours.

Pennsylvania

All crashes must be reported within 5 days.

Rhode Island

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage is in excess of $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 21 days.

South Carolina

Crashes are required to be reported when damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to report a crash is 15 days.

South Dakota

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 1 day.

Tennessee

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $400.00.

The deadline to file a report is 20 days.

Texas

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Utah

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Vermont

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage is in excess of $3000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 3 days.

Virginia

Crashes are required to be reported when damage exceeds $1500.00.

The deadline to report a crash is 1 day.

Washington

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $700.00.

The deadline to file a report is 4 days.

West Virginia

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of $1000.00 must be immediately reported.

Wisconsin

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is one day.

Wyoming

Crashes are required to be reported when property damage exceeds $1000.00.

The deadline to file a report is 10 days.

Puerto Rico

Crashes are required to be reported within 4 hours when they result in property damage in excess of $100.00.


Canada

Alberta

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of C$2,000 are required to be immediately reported.

British Columbia

Crashes with property damage only are not required to be reported to law enforcement.

Manitoba

Crashes are required to be reported within 7 days when property damage exceeds C$1,000.

New Brunswick

Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds C$1,000.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds C$1,000.

Northwest Territories

Crashes resulting in injury, death, or damages to all property involved being more than C$2,000 are required to be immediately reported.

Nova Scotia

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of C$1,000 must be reported within 1 day.

Nunavut

Crashes must be reported immediately.

Ontario

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of C$1,000 are required to be immediately reported.

Prince Edward Island

Crashes resulting in property damage greater than C$1,000 must be reported immediately.

Quebec

Accident resulting in injury must be reported immediately to the police.  Accidents resulting in property damage are not required to be directly reported to the SAAQ except that a driver involved in an accident involving an animal weighing over 25 kg, an unattended road vehicle or any other inanimate object, must, if the owner of the damaged property or a person representing him cannot be found at the scene of the accident or nearby, communicate immediately with the nearest police station to report the accident.

Saskatchewan

Crashes resulting in property damage in excess of C$1000 are required to be reported immediately, as are crashes involving hit and run, an impaired driver, a vehicle that must be towed, an out-of-province vehicle, or if there is an injury.

Yukon

Crashes must be reported immediately when property damage exceeds C$1,000.