Texas

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
Driver License Division
5805 W Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX 78752-4422
English (512) 424-2600
Spanish (512) 424 7181 | www.dps.texas.gov  

Highway Patrol Division
5805 N. Lamar Boulevard
Austin, TX 78773
(512) 424-2000 | www.txdps.state.tx.us/HighwayPatrol

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
4800 Jackson Blvd.
Austin, Texas 78777
(877) 366-8887 | www.dmv.tx.gov

Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483
(512) 463-8588 | www.dot.state.tx.us

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Lyndon B. Johnson State Office Bldg.
111 E 17th St.
Austin, TX 78774
(888) 334-4112 | www.window.state.tx.us

Title Application

An applicant for an initial certificate of title must provide the vehicle’s description, odometer reading, previous owner’s name and city and state of residence, name and complete address of the applicant, name and mailing address of any lienholder, if applicable, signature of the seller of the motor vehicle, signature of the applicant, and the applicant’s social security number.

An applicant for a certificate of title on the first sale of a motor vehicle must provide the county assessor-collector with a manufacturer’s certificate showing the applicant as the last transferee.

A person may obtain a “title only” without registering a vehicle or providing proof of insurance, but the applicant must surrender the license plates and window validation stickers issued for that vehicle.

Before a motor vehicle that was last registered or titled in another state or country may be titled in Texas, the applicant must furnish the county assessor-collector with a verification of safety and emissions inspections.

The owner must record the vehicle’s current odometer reading on an application for a certificate of title.

The owner of a motor vehicle must apply for a certificate of title to the county assessor-collector in the county in which the owner lives, the motor vehicle is purchased, or the loan to purchase the motor vehicle is obtained.


Title Transfer of Ownership

The owner of a vehicle must transfer the certificate of title to the new owner at the time of the sale. At the time of transfer there may be no liens on the vehicle except those shown on the certificate of title.

The seller of a motor vehicle must provide the buyer with the vehicle’s odometer reading on a DMV form for that purpose. However, an odometer disclosure statement is not required for the sale of a motor vehicle that is new, is 10 or more years old, is not self-propelled, or has a manufacturer’s rated carrying capacity of more than 2 tons.

A person, whether acting for that person or another, may not sell, trade, or otherwise transfer a used vehicle required to be registered under the law of Texas unless at the time of delivery the vehicle is registered in the state.

The buyer or transferee of a vehicle must file the certificate of title with the county assessor-collector within 30 days of taking delivery of the vehicle and the documents.

The period for active duty military or members of the reserves is 60 days.


Titles for Mobile Homes

Manufactured housing is not defined as a vehicle under Texas law.

Registration Application

The owner of a motor vehicle or trailer must apply for the registration of the vehicle for each registration year in which the vehicle is used or to be used on a public highway. The application must be made to the DMV through the county assessor-collector of the county in which the owner resides.

Military personnel, who are residents of Texas, were stationed in another nation, and own a vehicle that was either registered by a branch of the U.S. Armed Forces or in the nation where the person was stationed, have 90 days to register the vehicle upon their return to Texas.

An application for a vehicle registration must contain the full name and address of the owner of the vehicle, a brief description of the vehicle, and be signed by the owner.

An application for registration of a new motor vehicle must include information required by DMV rule, such as the vehicle’s trade name; year model; style and type of body; weight, if the vehicle is a passenger car; net carrying capacity and gross weight, if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle; vehicle identification number; and date of sale by the manufacturer or dealer to the applicant.

An applicant for registration of a commercial motor vehicle or trailer must submit an affidavit showing the weight of the vehicle, the maximum load to be carried on the vehicle, and the gross weight for the vehicle which is to be registered.

The DMV will not register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle for which a certificate of title is required unless the owner obtains a title or presents satisfactory evidence that a title was previously issued to the owner by the Texas DMV or another jurisdiction.

The owner of a motor vehicle must present proof of insurance or other evidence of financial responsibility before a vehicle will be registered.

An application for registration must be made during the 2 months preceding the date on which the registration expires.

A county assessor-collector or the DMV may refuse to register a motor vehicle if the assessor-collector or the DMV receive information that the owner of the vehicle owes the county money for a fine, fee, or tax that is past due.

There is a 5 working day period of grace for late registration.


Registration for Non-Residents

A non-resident owner of a privately owned vehicle that is not registered in the state may not make more than 5 occasional trips in any calendar month in the state using the vehicle. Each occasional trip into the state may not exceed 5 days.

A non-resident owner of a privately owned passenger car that is not registered in the state or country in which the person resides and that is not operated for compensation may operate the car in this state for the period in which the car’s license plates are valid.

Exempt from this are active-duty members of the US Armed Forces and full-time students from another state attending a Texas college or university.

A resident of an adjoining state or country may operate a privately owned and registered vehicle to go to and from the person’s place of regular employment and to make trips to purchase merchandise if the vehicle is not operated for compensation.

Military personnel on active duty in Texas may maintain home state vehicle registration as long as the plates are current.


Registration Type

Vehicle registration is annual, based on weight and applicable county and local fees.


Emissions Inspection

Designated vehicles registered in designated counties must pass an emissions inspection prior to registration. The emissions inspection is required annually, in conjunction with a safety inspection.

Designated counties include: Brazoria, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, El Paso, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, and Williamson.

Designated vehicles are vehicles capable of being powered by gasoline, from 2 through 24 years old, and registered in or required to be registered and primarily operated in a designated county.

A vehicle is eligible for a waiver if it failed both its initial emissions inspection and re-test, and the owner incurred emission-related repair expenses of at least $450.

Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety for more information on emissions inspections in the state.

OBD is utilized as part of the state emissions inspection process.


Safety Inspection

An annual safety inspection is required as a prerequisite to registering a vehicle. Valid out-of-state safety inspection certificates will not be honored on vehicles that are required to be registered. Every motor vehicle, trailer, pole trailer, or mobile home registered in the state must be inspected at an inspection station or by an inspector annually.

The initial safety inspection period for new passenger cars and light trucks is 2 years.

A trailer or travel trailer with a gross weight of 4,500 pounds or less is exempt from the safety inspection requirement.

The DMV may refuse to register a motor vehicle and may revoke a registration if the DMV determines that the vehicle is unsafe, improperly equipped, or otherwise unfit to be operated on a public highway.

Proof of insurance or financial responsibility is required before an inspection certificate will be issued.

A vehicle that is inspected and is subsequently involved in an accident affecting the safe operation of an item of inspection must be reinspected following repair. The reinspection must be at an inspection station and must be treated and charged as an initial inspection.


Title and Registration Fees

AUTOMOBILE

Title Fee: 6.25% sales tax on purchase price or presumptive value.

Registration Fee: For vehicles under 6,000 lbs. $50.75 + local and county fees.

MOTORCYCLE

Title Fee: 6.25% sales tax on purchase price or presumptive value.

Registration Fee: $30.00 plus local and county fees.

DUPLICATES

Plate Fee: $9.00

Registration Fee: $3.00

Driver’s License Fee: $11.00

Title Fee: $2.00

Special Plates: $30.00–$795.00

Plate Disbursement

Two license plates are issued for a 5-year period. Validation stickers are issued each year after the 1st year when a license plate or set of plates was issued.

The validation stickers must be attached to the inside of the vehicle’s windshield within 6 inches of the place where the motor vehicle inspection sticker is required to be placed. If the vehicle does not have a windshield, the DMV will issue a sticker for attachment to the rear license plate.

Numerous specialty license plates are available.

Permanently disabled drivers have the option of applying for specially designated plates or placards designed to hang from the rearview mirror. An applicant may receive 2 disabled person plates or 1 placard and/or 1 set of plates. An additional set of plates may be obtained for specially equipped vehicles for persons who have lost the use of 1 or both legs.

The license plate color scheme is red and blue on white.

Transfer of Plates

License plates may not be transferred to another owner.

Driver's License Examination

Unless otherwise exempt, an applicant for a driver’s license must pass a vision test (20/40 vision acuity required), a sign recognition test, a knowledge test, and a driving skills test.

A licensed driver education school may administer the vision, sign recognition, and knowledge tests.

A facility authorized and certified by the Department of Public Safety may administer the behind the wheel driving test. These facilities include military, educational institution, or driver education and training service providers.

Knowledge and skills tests are waived for persons holding a valid out-of-state license when applying for a Texas license of the same or lower type.


Graduated Driver's Licensing

Texas has a system of graduated licensing for novice drivers.

At age 15, individuals enrolled in driver education and have passed vision, sign recognition, and knowledge tests are eligible for a learner’s permit.

  • A permit holder may only operate a vehicle when supervised by a person occupying the seat next to the operator who holds a license that qualifies the operator to operate that type of vehicle, is 21 years old, and has at least 1 year of driving experience.
  • Permit holders must accumulate 30 hours (with 10 hours at night) of behind the wheel practice, supervised by an adult over the age of 21.

At age 16, drivers who have held a learner’s permit for at least 6 months are eligible for an intermediate license.

  • Intermediate license holders may not drive unsupervised between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. (secondarily enforced).
  • Intermediate license holders may not transport more than 1 passenger under age 21, except family (secondarily enforced), and are prohibited from using a cell phone.

At age 18, drivers who have successfully completed the intermediate license phase are eligible for an unrestricted license.

Driver education is required for all license applicants under age 18.


Driver's License Issuance/Application

An application for an original license must state the applicant’s full name and place and date of birth. This information must be verified by presentation of proof of identity. The application must include the applicant’s thumbprint or index fingerprint and a brief description of the applicant. The applicant must state the applicant’s sex; the applicant’s residence address; whether the applicant has been licensed to drive a motor vehicle before; if previously licensed, when and by what state or country; whether that license has been suspended or revoked or a license application denied; the date and reason for the suspension, revocation, or denial; whether the applicant is a citizen of the United States; and the county of residence of the applicant.

A person who is at least 15 years old but less than 18 years old must be enrolled in school to obtain a learner’s permit.

A person must be at least 18 years old to apply for a commercial driver’s license.

Applicants under age 21 must submit proof of passing an approved driver education and traffic safety course.

If the applicant owns a motor vehicle, he or she must provide proof of insurance or financial responsibility.

The following persons are exempt from holding a Texas driver’s license while operating a vehicle in the state: a person in the military forces operating an official vehicle in the scope of that service; a person operating a non-commercial road machine or piece of farm equipment on a highway; a non-resident on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces who holds a license issued by the person’s state or Canadian province of residence; and a person who is the spouse or dependent child of a nonresident on active military duty who holds a license issued by the person’s state or province.

A person who enters Texas as a new resident may operate a motor vehicle in the state for no more than 90 days after the date on which the person enters the state if the person is at least 16 years of age and has in his possession a driver’s license issued to him by his state or country of previous residence.

A non-resident who is at least 18 years old and who has in his possession a license issued to him by his state or country of residence that is recognized by the DPS that is similar to a Class A or Class B driver’s license issued by the state of Texas is not required to hold a Class A or Class B driver’s license if that state or country of residence recognizes a Class A or Class B license issued by the state of Texas and exempts the holder from securing a license issued by the state or foreign country.

A non-resident who is at least 16 years old and who holds a driver’s license issued by the person’s state or Canadian province of residence may operate a type of motor vehicle that is permitted to be operated with a Class C or Class M driver’s license in Texas if the license held by the non-resident permits operation of that type of vehicle in the person’s state or province of residence.

All original applicants for driver’s licenses must present proof of identity satisfactory to the DPS including a valid or expired Texas driver’s license or identification with photo; a U.S. passport; a U.S. citizenship certificate with identifiable photo; an INS document with verified data and identifiable photo; a valid photo driver’s license or identification issued by another U.S. state, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province; or a U.S. military ID card with an identifiable photo.

A person must notify the DPS of a change of address or change of name within 30 days.

License normally includes a photograph.

License does not include a social security or social insurance number.


Driver’s License Renewal

A driver’s license expires on the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the 6th anniversary of the date of the application. A provisional license expires the earlier of the 18th birthday of the license holder or the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the date of the application. An instruction permit expires on the 1st birthday of the license holder occurring after the date of the application.

The driver’s licenses of drivers 85 or older expire on the license holder’s second birthday after the date of issuance. Mail or electronic renewal not available to drivers 79 and older. Drivers 85 years of age and older must pass a vision test.


Types of Driver's Licenses

A Class A driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 lbs. or more.

A Class B driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a vehicle with a GVWR of more than 26,000 lbs. or a bus with a seating capacity of 24 passengers or more. The vehicle may tow a trailer with a GVWR of not more than 10,000 lbs. or a farm trailer of not more than 20,000 lbs.

A Class C driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a GVWR not in excess of 26,000 lbs., a bus with a seating capacity of 23 passengers or less, and tow a farm trailer with a GVWR of not more than 20,000 lbs.

A Class M driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a motorcycle or moped.  Special licensing and training is required for three-wheel motorcycles. A restricted Class M license will be issued upon completion of a required driver training course.

A provisional license is issued to anyone under 18 years old.

Distracted Driving

The use of a wireless communication device while driving in a school zone is prohibited unless the device is hands free. Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using a wireless communication device. Passenger bus drivers transporting minor passengers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving.

Texting while driving is prohibited in Arlington, Canyon City, Denton, Edinburg, Farmer’s Branch, Galveston, Grand Prairie, Magnolia, McAllen, Missouri City, Nacogdoches, and Pecos. Texting and handheld cell phone use while driving is prohibited in Amarillo, Austin, Corpus Christi, El Paso, San Antonio, and Stephenville.


Emergency Radio/Cellular

Citizen band radio is not monitored for emergency calls. Emergency number is 800-525-5555 and 911.


Headsets

No prohibition on wearing of headsets while driving.


Impaired Driving

All 50 states and the District of Columbia prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating beverages, with the illegal per se limit set at 0.08 percent blood alcohol content (.08 BAC).  All 50 states and the District of Columbia set the legal drinking age at 21.

Every state’s chemical test law has ‘‘an implied consent’’ provision providing that any person operating a motor vehicle on a public highway, who is suspected of driving while intoxicated, consents to a chemical test to determine if he or she is inebriated. Failure to submit or pass such a test may cause the driver’s license to be suspended or revoked regardless of any court action finding the person innocent of the charge.

The most comprehensive resource on U.S. impaired driving laws is the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s Digest of Impaired Driving and Selected Beverage Control Laws.  NHTSA’s Digest is updated annually.

Texas requires the use of ignition interlocks for all impaired driving offenders.


Move Over Law

State law requires drivers approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, including a tow truck and TX DMV vehicles and workers, using approved visual signals, and traveling in the same direction, to reduce speed (not to exceed 20 mph less than a posted speed limit of 25 mph or more, or not more than five mpg when the posted speed limit under 25 mph) and vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicles.


Seat Belts

Seat belts are required for drivers and all passengers ages 17 and older.

Violation of the seat belt law is a standard offense.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for persons under age 18. Riding is permitted in vehicles that are the only vehicles owned by members of the household; other exceptions apply.


Child Passenger Safety

Children ages 8 until 17 or at least 57 inches must be secured by a safety belt provided that the child is occupying a seat equipped with a safety belt.

Children under age 8 and less than 57 inches must be secured in a child passenger safety seat system in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.

Violation of the child restraint law is a standard offense.


Railroad Crossing

A driver approaching a railroad crossing must stop not closer than 15 feet or farther than 50 feet from the nearest rail if: (1) a clearly visible railroad signal warns of the approach of a railroad train; (2) a crossing gate is lowered, or a flagger warns of an approach; (3) a railroad engine approaching within approximately 1,500 feet of the highway crossing emits a signal audible from that distance and the engine is an immediate hazard because of its speed or proximity to the crossing; (4) an approaching railroad train is plainly visible and is in hazardous proximity to the crossing; or (5) the driver is required to stop by a traffic-control device or signal. A driver must remain stopped until permitted to proceed and it is safe to proceed.

The driver of a vehicle who approaches a railroad crossing equipped with railroad crossbuck signs without automatic, electric, or mechanical signal devices, crossing gates, or a flagger warning of the approach or passage of a train must yield the right-of-way to a train in hazardous proximity to the crossing, and proceed at a speed that is reasonable for the existing conditions. If required for safety, the driver must stop at a clearly marked stop line before the grade crossing or, if no stop line exists, not closer than 15 feet or farther than 50 feet from the nearest rail.


School Buses

A driver, when approaching from either direction a school bus stopped on the highway to receive or discharge a student, must stop before reaching the school bus when the bus is operating a stop signal. The driver may not proceed until the school bus resumes motion, the driver is signaled by the bus driver to proceed, or the visual signal is no longer activated.

A driver on a highway with separate roadways is not required to stop for a school bus that is on a different roadway. A driver on a controlled-access highway is not required to stop for a school bus that is in a loading zone that is a part of or adjacent to the highway and where pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway.

Bumper Height

A person may not operate on a public roadway a passenger or commercial vehicle that has been modified from its original design or weighted so that the clearance between any part of the vehicle other than the wheels and the surface of the level roadway is less than the clearance between the roadway and the lowest part of the rim of any wheel in contact with the roadway.


Headlight Use

Headlights must be used at nighttime and when visibility is less than 1000 feet.


Hazard Light Use

Hazard light use is permitted while driving.


Tire Chains

Tire chains usage is permitted for hazardous weather or other related incidents only, but many not damage the highway surface.


Studded Tires

Studded tires are permitted, as long as the studs do not damage highway and are rubber.


Glass/Window Tinting

A windshield sunscreening device that has a light transmission of less than 25% or more, a luminous reflectance of less than 25%, that is blue, red, or amber, or extends downward beyond the AS-1 line or more than 5 inches from the top of the windshield is prohibited.

A sunscreening device in the front side wing vent or window, a side window to the rear of the vehicle operator, or a rear window is prohibited if it has a light transmission of less than 35% or a luminous reflectance of more than 35%.


Telematics

A motor vehicle may be equipped with video receiving equipment, including a television or similar equipment, only if the equipment is located so that the video display is not visible from the operator’s seat. Equipment used exclusively for receiving digital information for commercial purposes is permitted, as is a monitoring device that produces an electronic display used exclusively in conjunction with a mobile navigation system installed in the vehicle.


Radar Detectors

Radar detectors are permitted for passenger vehicles but prohibited for use by commercial vehicles.


Windshield Stickers

A person may not place on or attach to the windshield or side or rear window an object or material that obstructs or reduces the driver’s clear view.


Other Equipment Rules

N/A.

Motorcycle Equipment

The DMV may refuse to register a motorcycle and may suspend or revoke the registration if the DMV determines that the motorcycle’s braking system does not comply with safety requirements.

An operator of a motorcycle must ride on the permanent and regular seat attached to the motorcycle.

A passenger may ride only on the permanent and regular seat, if designed for 2 persons, or on another seat firmly attached to the motorcycle behind or to the side of the operator. No passengers under age 5 permitted.

A motorcycle, including a motor-driven cycle, must be equipped with not more than 2 headlamps, at least 1 tail lamp, a separate rear license plate lamp, at least 1 stop lamp, and at least 1 rear red reflector.

A motorcycle, other than a motor-driven cycle, must be equipped with multiple-beam headlamps.

A motorcycle may not be operated at any time unless at least 1 headlamp is illuminated.

The operator and any passenger on a motorcycle or moped are required to wear an approved helmet. However, a person is exempt from wearing a helmet if the person is at least 21 years old, and has successfully completed a motorcycle operator and training safety course or is covered by at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of an accident while operating or riding on a motorcycle.


Motorcycle Licenses

A Class M driver’s license authorizes the holder to operate a motorcycle or moped.

An applicant required to take a motorcycle road test must provide a passenger vehicle and licensed driver to convey the license examiner during the road test.  Operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle requires completion of a training course and a restricted Class M license.


Motorcycle Noise Limits

A motor vehicle must be equipped with a muffler in good working condition that continually operates to prevent excessive or unusual noise. A person may not use a muffler cutout, bypass, or similar device on a motor vehicle.

Texas law defines a “motor-driven cycle” as a motorcycle equipped with a motor that has an engine piston displacement of 250 cubic centimeters or less.

A motor-driven cycle may not drive at a speed of more than 35 mph during nighttime or periods of poor visibility unless the cycle is equipped with a headlamp or lamps that reveal a person or vehicle 300 feet ahead.

A motor-driven cycle must be equipped with either multiple-beam headlamps or single beam headlamps sufficient to reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of 100 feet when the cycle is operated at a speed of less than 25 mph, at a distance of at least 200 feet when the cycle is operated at a speed of 25 mph or more, and at a distance of at least 300 feet when the cycle is operated at a speed of 35 mph or more.


Mopeds & Other

Texas law defines a moped as a motor-driven cycle that cannot attain a speed in 1 mile of more than 30 mph and the engine of which: (1) cannot produce more than 2-brake horsepower; and (2) if an internal combustion engine, has a piston displacement of 50 cc or less and connects to a power drive system that does not require the operator to shift gears.

For the purpose of registration, mopeds are treated as motorcycles.

A person may not operate a moped unless the person holds a driver’s license. An applicant for a moped license must be 15 years of age or older.

Trailer Dimensions

Total length: 65 feet; trailer length: 28 feet 6 inches; width: 8 feet; height: 14 feet.


Trailer Brakes

A trailer or pole trailer is required to have brakes if its gross weight exceeds 4,500 lbs. A trailer with a gross weight between 4,500 lbs. and 15,000 lbs. is not required to have brakes if it is towed at a speed of not more than 30 mph.


Trailer Hitch/Signals

The drawbar or other connection between a vehicle towing another vehicle and the towed vehicle must be strong enough to pull all weight towed and may not exceed 15 feet between the vehicles except for the connection between 2 vehicles transporting poles, pipe, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot be readily dismembered.

A driver towing another vehicle and using a chain, rope, or cable to connect the vehicles must display on the connection a white flag or cloth not less than 12 inches square.

A driver of a passenger car or light truck may not tow a trailer, semitrailer, house trailer, or another motor vehicle unless safety chains of a type approved by the DPS are attached in an approved manner from the trailer, semitrailer, house trailer, or towed motor vehicle to the towing vehicle.


Trailer Lighting

A trailer, pole trailer, or vehicle that is towed at the end of a combination of vehicles must be equipped with at least 2 tail lamps, at least 2 stop lamps, electric turn signal lamps, and at least 2 red reflectors.

A trailer that is at least 80 inches wide must be equipped with 2 front clearance lamps, 1 on each side; 2 rear clearance lamps, 1 on each side; 4 side marker lamps, 1 on each side at or near the front and 1 on each side at or near the rear; 4 reflectors, 1 on each side at or near the front and 1 on each side at or near the rear; and hazard lamps.

A trailer that is at least 30 feet long must be equipped with 2 side marker lamps, 1 centrally mounted on each side; 2 reflectors, 1 centrally mounted on each side; and hazard lamps.

A pole trailer must be equipped with 2 side marker lamps, 1 at each side at or near the front of the load; 1 reflector at or near the front of the load; and 1 combination marker lamp that emits an amber light to the front and a red light to the rear and side and is mounted on the rearmost support for the load to indicate the maximum width of the trailer.


Trailer Mirrors

A motor vehicle, including a motor vehicle used to tow another vehicle, must be equipped with a mirror located to reflect to the driver a view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet from the rear of the vehicle.


Trailer Speed Limits

Same as for passenger cars.


Trailer Towing

N/A.


Trailer Other Provisions

Riding is permitted in towed pickup campers.

Accident Reporting

Crashes are required to be immediately reported in case of death or injury.

Crashes resulting in death, injury, or property damage in excess of $1000.00 are required to be reported in writing within 10 days.


Bail Bonds

State has mandatory recognition of AAA arrest bond certificates up to $200 with specified exceptions.


Liability Laws

The minimum amounts of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required are $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of 1 person in 1 accident, $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in 1 accident, and $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of another in 1 accident.

Has future-proof-type law applicable in event of accident causing property damage of $1,000 or more to any vehicle or personal injury or death. Must show financial responsibility if in accident with more than $1,000 property damage and there is a reasonable probability of judgment against the driver. Uninsured motorist coverage at least equal to minimum financial responsibility limits issued on all insurance policies unless insured rejects coverage. Liability insurance mandatory. Current proof of liability insurance required upon request of law enforcement officer and to receive or renew motor vehicle registration or vehicle safety inspection. Proof of liability insurance required only of original drivers license applicants.


Weigh Stations

All commercial vehicles must stop when directed by sign or police officer.


Bicycles

There is no law for bicycles helmets.  However, the following localities have helmet requirements:

  • Riders of all ages: Dallas
  • Riders under age 18: Arlington, Austin, Fort Worth, Houston
  • Riders under age 17: Benbrook
  • Riders under age 16: Bedford
  • Riders under age 15: Coppell, Southlake

Drivers passing a bicycle rider traveling in the same direction must pass on the left at a safe distance.


Other

Texas is party to the Non-resident Violator Compact.

On demand of a peace officer within 250 feet of the Mexican border at a checkpoint, the driver of a vehicle must produce a driver’s license and proof of insurance.