Driver's License Examination
Every applicant for an original Class A, B, C, or D license must pass a vision test (20/60 visual acuity required for Class D; 20/40 required for Class A, B, or C), a written test concerning the applicant’s ability to read and understand highway signs and his or her knowledge of the traffic laws of the state, and a road test.
The DPS may waive any portion of the test for applicants with a valid out-of-state license.
Holders of Class A, B, or C licenses are eligible for a Class D license without taking another test.
Graduated Driver’s Licensing
Oklahoma has a system of graduated licensing for novice drivers.
At age 15 ½, if receiving instruction in an approved driver education course, or through an approved parent-taught driver education course, and individual may apply for a learner’s permit. The written test for a permit may be waived if the individual has completed driver education. Individuals who do not take driver education must wait until age 16 to receive a learner’s permit.
- Drivers must hold the permit for 6 months and certify that they have received 50 hours (10 at night) of practice driving.
- They may only practice between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m.
- Permit holders must be supervised at all times by a licensed driver at least 21.
At age 16, drivers are eligible for an intermediate license.
- Intermediate license holders may not drive unsupervised between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- Intermediate license holders are also prohibited from transporting more than 1 passenger unless supervised (family members, guardians, and licensed drivers over 21 are exempted).
At age 16 ½, after holding the intermediate license for at least 6 months, drivers are eligible for an unrestricted license. Individuals who don’t complete an approved driver education course must hold the intermediate license for 1 year before being eligible for an unrestricted license.
At age 18, an individual is eligible for a restricted commercial license who has passed all portions of the commercial driver license examination other than the driving test. The licensee may drive a commercial vehicle only when accompanied by a licensed commercial driver who is at least 21 years of age.
Driver’s License Renewal
A licensee may renew a license by application, furnishing 2 forms of identification, and payment of the required fee.
License fees for non-commercial licenses are reduced for drivers age 62-64 and waived for drivers age 65 and over.
Licensees applying for renewal may be required to take an examination if they have proven accident records or apparent physical defects.
Renewal by mail is only permitted for every other renewal though the OK DPS has authority to develop a procedure for online renewal.
In the event a license is lost or destroyed, a replacement may be obtained by paying the required fee and furnishing 2 forms of identification.
Any person or spouse of a person on active duty or civilian contractor with the U.S. Armed Forces living outside of Oklahoma having a valid driver’s license issued by the State of Oklahoma for the operation of motor vehicles upon the highways of the state shall have, without additional charge, a valid license for the duration of such service or employment and for a period of 60 days from and after the return of the person or spouse of the person to Oklahoma from such service or employment. Does not confer driving privileges in any jurisdictions other than Oklahoma.
Effective November 1, 2016, any person or the spouse or dependent of a person who is on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or who is currently employed as a civilian contractor with the Armed Forces of the United States living outside of Oklahoma and who has a valid Class D driver license and does not require any material changes may apply for up to 3 consecutive renewals or replacements by mail or online.
Types of Driver's Licenses
- Class A: must be 18 years of age. The holder of a Class A license may drive any vehicle in Classes A, B, C, or D. A Class A motor vehicle includes any combination of vehicles not listed as a Class D vehicle with a GVWR of at least 26,001 lbs., provided that the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 lbs.
- Class B: must be 18 years of age. The holder of a Class B license may drive any vehicle in Classes B, C, or D. A Class B motor vehicle includes any single vehicle not listed as a Class D vehicle with a GVWR of at least 26,001 lbs., or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less. This class also applies to a bus with a GVWR of at least 26,001 lbs. and designed to transport 16 or more persons.
- Class C: must be 18 years of age. The holder of a Class C license may drive any vehicle in Classes C or D. A Class C motor vehicle includes any single or combination of vehicles not listed as a Class D vehicle, other than a Class A or B vehicle, that is either required to be placarded for hazardous materials or designed to transport 16 or more persons.
No person may drive a hazardous vehicle unless that person is at least 21 years of age and holds a Class A, B, or C license with a hazardous material endorsement.
Non-Commercial License: A Class D license is given to persons at least 16 years of age who are eligible to drive a Class D non-commercial motor vehicle. Class D vehicles include any vehicle marked and used as a firefighting or law enforcement vehicle; designed and used solely as a recreational vehicle; is a single or combination vehicle with a GVWR of 26,000 lbs. or less; or is a single or combination vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or more, and is used for agricultural purposes.
In order to operate a motorcycle, licensees must obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their regular license.